Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Great Britain--History

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 5 Collections and/or Records:

Discourse on Anglo-Saxon Ascendency

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01202
Scope and Contents A handwritten discourse on the moral causes of the ascendency of the Anglo Saxon race delivered at Alexandria, Virginia, Lyceum, Dec. 15, 1846, and Jan. 5, 1847. First page: "Ladies and Gentlemen, I shall venture to throw on your indulgence, this evening, some observations on the moral causes o the ascendency of the Anglo-Saxon race.  As most of us here present belong to that branch of the great human family, our interst may be supposed to be peculiar in...

Richard G. Joynt Collection of British Manuscripts

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00032
Scope and Contents

Richard G. Joynt's collection of British manuscripts, from the 15th to the 20th century, of 88 letters and documents, 41 cut signatures, and many book engravings.  The authors and signatures include kings, queens, prime ministers, nobles, military officers, authors, and other dignitaries. Personal matters, military orders and letters, religion, treaties, politics, intrique, and much more are covered in these letters, often interwoven with current events.

King William III and Queen Mary II Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 75s W67
Scope and Contents This collection contains items relating to King William III of England (1650-1702) and his wife Queen Mary II (1662-1694) spanning 1689 to 1710. There is also research material, dated 1986-1988, relating to King William III and Queen Mary II. The collection consists of three letters of appointment to office, a commission (written in Latin), a warrant for payment of services, and a manuscript volume of public revenues and expenditures during the reigns of William III, Mary II, and Queen Anne...

Charles Mills Sheldon Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 S3
Scope and Contents Correspondence, clippings, photographs, and papers of Charles Mills Sheldon (1866-1928), British illustrator and war correspondent. Letters were written primarily to his wife, Grace, of London, and often contain detailed descriptions of his experiences abroad. Some of the topics discussed in his correspondence include the Sudan (1896), Cuba (1898), the Spanish-American War, Egypt during the opening of the Aswan Dam (1902), the Durbar in India (1903), and Spain (1906) during the royal wedding...

Sir Francis Head Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap21
Scope and Contents

Record, 1696-1730, of rents received and due from tenants of Sir Francis Head, Whindhill Manor, [Kent Co. ? Eng.] including home remedies and recipes. Includes an inventory.