Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Prisoners and prisons

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 8 Collections and/or Records:

Bradney Griffin Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00031
Scope and Contents The letter from Bradney Griffin, South Mills, N.C., to an unknown recipient is entitled "Escape of 80 Confederate Officers. Their Pursuit by the Mounted Rifles. A Six Day's Scout. Capture of Horses, Mules. Griffin discusses the escape of the soldiers who were being marched to Fort Delaware and describes the recovery efforts over the ensuing days. Negative and positive photostats.

E.B. Ellicott Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00300
Scope and Contents Letter from E.B. Ellicott, Richmond, Va., to Hon. Robert Ould, Commissioner, Va. He asks for the release of William L. Ellicott of the 49th Va., who was wounded at the battle of Seven Pines, discharged for being permanently disabled, then reenrolled by Lt. Graves at Orange Court House, furloughed, then captured near Manassas, Va.

Louis Fortescue Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D30
Scope and Contents Diary written by Louis Fortescue, a Captain of the Signal Corps, while a Union Prisoner of War at the "Asylum Prison" in Columbia, South Carolina up to his arrival in his home state, probably Pennsylvania.  Dates from January 11 - March 12, 1865.  He writes about the prison conditions, food and treatment of prisoners at both the Asylum Prison and the prison in Charlotte, North Carolina.  Beginning February 14, he and 550 officers travel on the top of a train to Charlotte, NC from Columbia, SC....

Henry Alexander Scandrett Civil War Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00144
Scope and Contents Civil War diary of Henry Alexander Scandrett dated 1862. The front of the diary has the entry from January 7, 1862 written through Thursday, January 9, "Monday 5th of May. Was in my first battle today. About 1 o'clock PM our regiment was marched into the field.  We were thrown in advance and through some blunder was not reinforced.  We have lost all our company officers and our field officers are all wounded.  With fifteen others I was taken prisoner and am now in William and Mary College." ...

J.T. Kerby Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00299
Scope and Contents Letter from J.T. Kerby, V. District, Eastern Prison, Cell No. 3, to Brigadier General John Henry Winder, Commanding Departartment, Henrico. He hears that a committee of the House of Representatives is about to look into the prison. He writes to an officer who "entertains a strong prejudice" against him to tell of the unjust and inhumane punishments inflicted upon Southern Soldiers there. He desires an interview with Winder or his adjutant Capt. Pegram.

Archibald A. Livingston letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01625
Scope and Contents Two page letter written from the U.S. Military Prison Camp Chase in which Livingston addresses the sad state of affairs of the Confederacy. He reports of the loss of many acquaintances and devastation throughout the countryside to land and property. He also writes that he is hopeful an exchange will occur soon and that he will be able to go home to continue with his life. Clearly from his sentiment, the war is over and his only wish is to return home.

Parson Covey Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01326
Content Description Three page letter addressed to Cousin from Suffolk, North Carolina, but most likely Suffolk, Virginia as the post cancellation is from Norfolk, Virginia, dated June 1, 1863. Covey writes in reply to his cousin and thanks her for her recent kind letter. He lets her know that he is well even though he faces the enemy often and wishes her and the neighborhood well, too. He reports that John Brink was wounded in the shoulder and is well, but will be mustered out of the Union due to his injury. ...

Robert C. Towles Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D28
Scope and Contents Collection includes a typescript of the diary of Sgt. Robert C. Towles, Company A, 4th Virginia Cavalry, Confederate Army, from 5 August 1863 - 20 June 1864. It was kept while Towles was a prisoner of the Union Army in Warrenton, Virginia and Washington, D.C. The diary also details his escape from Carroll Prision, an annex to the Old Capitol Prison, in Washington D.C.The collection also includes a copy of his furlough, dated 14 November 1863 and signed by Confederate General J. E....