Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Yorktown (Va.)

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 9 Collections and/or Records:

A Map showing points of interest in Jamestown, Williamsburg, and Yorktown in Virginia, 1930

 Item — Box 3: Series id143047, Folder: 14
Identifier: id229790
Scope and Contents

Hugo Stevens - cartographer

in color

1 1/4 mi to 1 in

38 cm x 52 cm

Accession information unavailable

Subject/Index Terms: Jamestown (Va.)--Maps, Yorktown (Va.)--Maps, Williamsburg (Va.)--Maps.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / 01/Mss. 1.06, Map Collection / Undersize maps / Box 3a / North America, United States, Virginia

Historical Pageant of Colonial Jamestown, Williamsburg, Yorktown, Inc. Records

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00624
Scope and Contents

Plans, correspondence, pictures of a proposed historical pageant planned by the "Historical Pageant of Colonial Jamestown, Williamsburg and Yorktown, Inc." in 1939.  The pageant never happened.  Correspondence with Clark Robinson of New York, President  General of the SAR, and others.  Includes prospectus which explains the object of the pageant.  Pageant script called "Symphonic, Out-door Play, Depicting the Colonial Days of Jamestown and Yorktown, Virginia" by John C. Temple.  Copies.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Historical Pageant of Colonial Jamestown, Williamsburg, Yorktown, Inc. Records

James Barron Hope Papers (I)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 H77
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1847-1887, of James Barron Hope. Correspondence includes letters to his mother Jane A. Barron Hope while on a naval cruise to the Caribbean and letters to his wife, Annie Beverley Whiting Hope written during the Civil War. There are letters between Jane A. Barron Hope and her friend, Caroline Matilda Campbell. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Jubal A. Early, Benjamin S. Ewell, Hugh Blair Grigsby, Fitzhugh Lee, W. H. F. Lee, Thomas Nelson Page, John Tyler and...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Barron Hope Papers (I)

Mss. 39.4 V82ci Yorktown, 1824-1983

 Sub-Series
Identifier: id109300
Scope and Contents

Papers, ca. 1824-1983, relating to Yorktown, Va. Includes articles concerning Yorktown; materials relating to the surrender of Cornwallis and to the celebrations [1824, 1881, 1930-1937 and 1981], documents concerning Yorktown National Military Park  [now Colonial National Historical Park] and the Navy Mine Depot [now Naval Weapons Station].

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Mss. 39.4 V82ci, Virginia Cities Collection / Series 35: Yorktown

Estelle and John Pearson Honeymoon Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01456
Content Description Collection of ticket stubs, postcards, and ephemera, related to a honeymoon visit to Williamsburg and surrounding areas from April 28- May 1 of 1959. Ephemera includes restaurant menus and visitor brochures to Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown Festival Park, and the Yorktown Battlefield. Restaurant menus are from Chowning's Tavern, The Williamsburg Inn, The King's Arms Tavern, and Christiana Campbell's Tavern in Williamsburg as well as paper place mats from the Ivy House and Florentine...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Estelle and John Pearson Honeymoon Scrapbook

Tucker-Coleman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 40 T79
Scope and Contents Papers, primarily 1770-1907, of the Tucker and Coleman families of Williamsburg, Winchester, Lexington, Staunton and Richmond, including papers of: St. George Tucker (1752-1827), Nathaniel Beverley Tucker (1784-1851), Henry St. George Tucker (1780-1848), Ann Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter (1779-1813), John Coalter (1769-1838), and John Randolph of Roanoke (commonplace book is in box 64B), as well as other family members. Members of the family were involved in law, politics,...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers

Tucker-Coleman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 40 T79
Scope and Contents Papers, primarily 1770-1907, of the Tucker and Coleman families of Williamsburg, Winchester, Lexington, Staunton and Richmond, including papers of: St. George Tucker (1752-1827), Nathaniel Beverley Tucker (1784-1851), Henry St. George Tucker (1780-1848), Ann Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter (1779-1813), John Coalter (1769-1838), and John Randolph of Roanoke (commonplace book is in box 64B), as well as other family members. Members of the family were involved in law, politics,...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Tucker-Coleman Papers

Williamsburg Historic Records Association Records

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00033
Scope and Contents

Organizational records of the Williamsburg Historic Records Association (W.H.R.A.).  Includes accession record of donations, newspaper articles, press releases, brochures, photographs, resolutions, correspondence, notices of annual meetings, minutes, WHRA constitution and some material on the formation of WHRA. There is also a resolution honoring Janet Coleman Kimbrough.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Williamsburg Historic Records Association Records

Williamsburg (Va.) Area Ephemera Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.09
Scope and Contents This collection covers the Greater Williamsburg Area, including Williamsburg, Yorktown, Jamestown, James City County, York County and other nearby communities. It includes gifts and purchases whose contents are ephemeral in nature and not well-suited as stand-alone collections.  The items are usually transient documents of everyday life and can include menus, flyers, advertisements, and programs but can also be postcards, games, ticket stubs, and the like. The majority of...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Williamsburg (Va.) Area Ephemera Collection