Philippines--History--Philippine American War, 1899-1902
Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings
Found in 5 Collections and/or Records:
Frank D. Baldwin Letter and Biography
Collection
Identifier: SC 00022
Scope and Contents
This collections consists of a letter and biography of Colonel Frank D. Baldwin, one of only 19 servicemen to receive the Medal of Honor twice. The letter describes his role in the recent Battle of Bayan, wherein he led American troops against rebellious Moro forces in the Philippines. With the original letter are copies of official cables following the battle, including one from President Theodore Roosevelt. Extensive background material on the battle, biographical information on Baldwin, a...
Dates:
1902, 2011
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
C. A. Detrick Diary
Collection
Identifier: SC 01134
Scope and Contents
Small leather covered diary, written in pencil by C.A. Detrick between December 17, 1899 and February 2, 1900 while in the Philippines during the time of the Philippine-American War. Detrick was a member of Company D, 28th U.S. Infantry. Detrick writes about the countryside, the local population, the marches and the camps. End of diary includes addresses, expense accounts and equipment inventory.
Dates:
1899-1900
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Goodwin Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G63
Scope and Contents
Letters, memoirs, journals, sermons, monographs, genealogical material concerning the Goodwin, Archer, Silvester, Ballard and Smith families.The bulk of the collection is comprised of the papers of Frederick Deane Goodwin, an Episcopal minister. Bishop William Meade is a correspondent. Correspondence between Frederick Deane Goodwin's immediate family is included and papers of his son, Edward Lewis Goodwin, an Episcopal minister and his granddaughter, Mary Frances Goodwin, a...
Dates:
1826-1959
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Henry Holloway Scrapbook
Collection
Identifier: SC 01590
Scope and Contents
Scrapbook created by William Henry Holloway while he served in the Army as part of the 36th Company, Coast Artillery from 1902-1904. Holloway participated in the United States military involvement in the Philippine insurrection where he served for one year. The scrapbook is comprised of mostly postcards and stock pictures of people and general scenes of the Philippines along with some original photographs of the United States Army while serving in the Philippines. Many of the photographs...
Dates:
1902-1937; Majority of material found within 1902-1903
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Simon Snyder papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00346
Content Description
Family papers of Governor Simon Snyder of Pennsylvania and his grandson, General Simon Snyder, brigadier general in Cuba and the Philippines. 56 items: 13 letters, 7 other manuscripts, 17 photographs, and 19 pieces of ephemera.
Dates:
Majority of material found within 1819-2011
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center