Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Bibles

 Subject
Subject Source: Art & Architecture Thesaurus

Found in 6 Collections and/or Records:

Bryan Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Sm Coll Bryan
Scope and Contents Copy of letter, 1780 June 3, from Jonathan Bryan, Long Island, N. Y. to wife, Mary Bryan, "Brampton Plantation," near Savannah, Ga.; copy of letter, 1825 August 12, from St. George Tucker to his granddaughter, Elizabeth Tucker Coalter; and genealogical data from a Bryan family Bible.

Colvin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 C72
Scope and Contents Papers of the Coleman, Davis and Pannill families of Orange and Culpeper counties, Va. Includes correspondence, 1827-1838, of William Davis with Peter F. Armstead, Linn Banks and William B. Wallace concerning the collection of money owed by Wallace. The papers include Davis's accounts and papers relating to his estate. There are also land records concerning Orange County, Va. and leases from Alexander Spotswood (1676-1740) and Alexander Spotswood (ca. 1746-1818.) Collection includes Sale family...

Philip P. Hines Diary and Bible

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00194
Scope and Contents Diary of Philip P. Hines who had a Quartz claim near New Town, California. Dr. Hines visits Rough and Ready and Nevada, California. During 1851, Hines was too ill with pain and bowel problems to work his claim, so worked for one month as a physician in the hospital. The diary tells of his illness, attempts to get money so he can go home, and feelings about the depravity of the town. Dr. Hines states that he prays to God each day to allow him to see his family before he dies. Includes Hines'...

Pearl H. Jones Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.043
Scope and Contents This collection includes a family Bible, ration books from World War II, correspondence, a diary, stenographers' notebooks, and other personal materials.

Fay Parr Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2008.50
Scope and Contents Family papers and a collection of Williamsburg ephemera and memorabilia of Fay Parr.  Includes family photograph albums, press photographs of Williamsburg residents and buildings, newspaper clippings of events and people in Williamsburg, Virginia and publications from Williamsburg and other places.

Perrin Family Bibles

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 93 P42
Scope and Contents Consists of three Bibles owned by the Perrin family; a 1751, 1819, and 1838 editions that contain family information and genealogy back to the 1740s. The 1751 Bible contains a list of slave children births and ages.