Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Teenagers--Diaries

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 10 Collections and/or Records:

Florence Adams Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01015
Scope and Contents The daily diary of teenager Florence Adams from 1927-1930. She discusses her social and family life throughout. Some sample entries can be found in the folder description below.

Diary has a slight smell of perfume.

Ivan M. Baxter Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00838
Scope and Contents Diary, 1914 of Ivan M. Baxter (b. 1896) of Smithville, Chenango County, New York. He appears to live on a farm where his family raises cattle and farms wheat and corn. Baxter, who was 17 at the time he wrote in this diary, describes daily work (e.g. helping with cattle, splitting wood, farming), weather and leisure activities such as church, dating, sleigh riding, cattle drives, automobile racing and dances. His daily income is recorded in the back of the diary.

Diary (Brooklyn, NY)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00821
Scope and Contents Diary, 1935, of a teenage boy of Brooklyn, New York. Daily diary entries record school and leisure activities, holidays, chores performed and the occasional comment on local or national events. He mentions that his family owned a beauty parlor and observed Jewish holidays. He first attended Ultrecht High School and then transferred to Samuel J. Tilden High School. He seemed to have done well in school and enjoyed playing the violin. He mentions library visits and reading, frequent...

Katherine Hamilton Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00651
Scope and Contents Diary, 1890-1897, of Katherine Hamilton of Shreveport, Louisiana. The first part of the diary details a trip that Hamilton took to Europe aboard the steamship Scythia, from June 1890 to September 1890. The next part of her diary details a trip that Hamilton took to New Orleans in December 1892. The rest of the diary includes very brief entries about particular days, including when she visited Chicago for the World's Fair in 1893.

Paul Eugene Nelson Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00937
Scope and Contents Diary of Paul Eugene Nelson (1929-2003) of Phoenix, Arizona, with entries for the years 1942-1944. Nelson was an 8th grader when he began writing his diary. He records daily activities like school, church and library visits, pep band practice and leisure activities, walks to town, etc. Mentions titles of books and magazines purchased, and movies watched, and also mentions several military parades in town.

Clara Louise Schiefer Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00724
Scope and Contents Diary, 1933,  of Clara Louise Schiefer, Rochester, N.Y. The following description was provided by the seller: "1933 handwritten diary of Clara-Louise Schiefer who had lived on Westland Ave. in Rochester, NY.  Lots of memorabilia stuck in between the pages in regards to that day's entry. Some of the memorabilia items are:  Vintage 1933 Halloween invitation to a party on Grosvenor Rd; School football photo of Brighton High School team; newspaper clippings, etc.  Ms. Schiefer toured Germany and...

Elizabeth P. Stone Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00738
Scope and Contents Diary, 1901 of Elizabeth P. Stone of North Rose, Wayne County, N.Y.  Daily entries describe household chores, social activities, and family life on a farm. The following description was provided by the seller: "Elizabeth lives in good circumstances on a farm with her mother and father and her brother.  They have domestic livestock and land to cultivate.  The diary gives a very full view of what life was like during this period.  She is not a small child.  She has daily or weekly...

Sylvie Diary (New York, NY)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01019
Scope and Contents Diary by Sylvie, written in 1931.  Cover of diary has "S.I.S." embossed on it.  Photograph of Sylvie on first page.  Cards inserted in front of diary mention Lawrence H. Guill, L. Phillips Hunt, Henry Thiel (N.C. State Raleigh) and Joseph A. Kirkman. Sylvie is ill at the beginning of the year.  She dates Joe and other "guys."  She works at Gross on occasion.  She takes a Home Economics course during night school. Diary mainly about her social life including dates, church...

Anna Taylor Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01043
Scope and Contents Diary, 1929, of Anna Bob Taylor, a teenager from Houston, Texas. Includes information about a trip taken to Europe, including stops in England, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Belgium, and the Netherlands from June until August. Also includes information about her day at school, people with whom she meets, activities in which she participates, and her relationship with her mother. Events include dates on which she goes, going to the movies, and taking a trip to Chattanooga with other students. She...

Claire Lillian Wight Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00803
Scope and Contents Two diaries, 1907-1908 kept by Claire Lilian Wight (b. 1894) of  Kalamazoo, Michigan. Claire Wight was 13 years old when she began her first diary in 1907. Claire records daily activities such as school visits, reading, attending concerts, social and family activities, vacations, taking music lessons and playing tennis and going to the YWCA. Also included are two calling cards, one of Claire's and one of her uncle as well as a newspaper clipping for the "Tennessee Colored Jubilee Singers,"...