Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results
New Search
Search all record types where
  • keyword(s): virginia women writers archive

Showing Results: 1 - 5 of 5

Margaret L. Templeton letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01838
Scope and Contents

This collection contains 26 letters and one pamphlet received by Margaret L. Templeton in 1931. The letters range from business correspondence to personal correspondence and the pamphlet documents updates to the National Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs of which Templeton was a member.

Dates: 1931
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Willa Cather letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01738
Content Description

A signed, one page letter from Willa Cather to Doctor Garbat, dated 22 October, no year given. Mentions a confidential visit to occur in November.

Dates: [No Year] October 22
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Charlotte Ursula Zolotow papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00348
Content Description

The Charlotte Ursula Zolotow papers contains professional and personal correspondence, manuscripts, publisher galleys, photographs, slides, and artworks from illustrators. The materials document the personal and professional life of children's book author and editor Charlotte Ursula Zolotow.

Dates: Circa 1930-2013
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Rosalie White Irwin Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00342
Content Description A collection of two hundred and twenty-one letters sent to Rosalie White Irwin, a resident of Richmond, Virginia, dated from 1937 to 1950. Most of the letters included are from a variety of male admirers or boyfriends, including her future husband, Ted. The men are all serving in the army at the end of World War II and in the years following. Their letters provide descriptions of army and camp life both at home and abroad in India, the Philippines, Australia, Japan, and the South Pacific....
Dates: 1937 - 1950
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Cordie Meanley Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00139
Content Description Cordelia (Cordie) Meanley’s diary consists of two bound books. The smaller one consists of 184 pages, covering the period from August 1862 to November 1863 (Book 1). The larger one has about 220 pages, running from November 1863 to November 1871 (Book 2). In both books, there are some gaps between dates, despite Cordie Meanley’s declared intent on the first page “to keep a diary of my life.” Some pages reflect subsequent revisions or deletions. Generally, her diary...
Dates: 1862-1871
Found in: Special Collections Research Center