Search all record types where
- keyword(s): Personal Papers Faculty Staff
- and keyword(s): *
Showing Results: 1 - 3 of 3
Dew Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 D51
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1794-1895, of the Dew family. Mostly correspondence of Thomas Roderick Dew, faculty member and president of the College of William and Mary and his brother Benjamin Franklin Dew, a lawyer of Newtown, King and Queen County, Va. Correspondents include William Boulware, Edward Everett, and Andrew Stevenson. Includes documents, 1838-1858, relating to Thomas Roderick Dew's estate such as his will, inventories of personal property, court degrees, and accounts....
Dates:
1794-1895
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Charles J. Duke, Jr. Papers
Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.065
Scope and Contents
This collection includes memorabilia, resolutions, early William and Mary campus photographs, clippings, and correspondence of Charles J. Duke, Jr. Correspondence, reports and photographs relate to Charles Duke's position as the Bursar of the College of William and Mary. Of particular importance is the material on the Norfolk and Richmond Divisions which later became Old Dominion University and Virginia Commonwealth University, especially the correspondence of Director William T. Hodges....
Dates:
1919-1958
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Booton-Modesitt Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.570
Scope and Contents
Papers of the Modesitt-Booton families of Luray, Virginia. The bulk of the collection consists of papers relating to Lucy Marye of Luray, Virginia who married James Modesitt in 1815. She was widowed in 1827 and remarried James Booton in 1830. Lucy was born to Peter and Eleanor Marye and was sister to William Staige Marye, who is considered one of the founders of Luray, Virginia Also included are letters by John Booton and others relating to slavery and politics, children's copy books,...
Dates:
circa 1809-1880; Majority of material found in 1820-1850
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center