Search all record types where
- keyword(s): John Marshall
Showing Results: 1 - 4 of 4
John Garland Pollard Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 70 P76
Scope and Contents
Letters, clippings, manuscript volumes, business papers, pamphlets, genealogical material, family papers, reports, memos, campaign literature, photographs of John G. Pollard (1871-1937), lawyer, educator, statesman, humanitarian, and governor of Virginia, 1930-1934. Prominent correspondents include Henry Watkins Anderson, Lady Astor, Frederic W. Boatwright, David K. E. Bruce, John Stewart Bryan, William Jennings Bryan, Harry F. Byrd, James Cannon, J. A. C. Chandler, Calvin Coolidge,...
Dates:
1683-1968; Majority of material found in 1856-1937
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Ambler Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Am1
Scope and Contents
Letter, 20 May 1806, of Anthony Davis, New Kent County, Virginia to John Ambler, Williamsburg, Virginia, concerning horse-breeding; letter, 18 June 1814, of Thomas Chiles to Edward Ambler requesting permission to kill lambs so sick slaves can have fresh meat; promissory note, 27 Jan[uar]y 1815, from J[ohn] Ambler to W[illiam] Marshall; and check, 8 July 1849, signed by Philip St. Geo[rge] Ambler.
Dates:
1806-1836
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tazewell Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 92 T19
Scope and Contents
Papers; 1838-1979. Business records and letters of the Tazewell family of Norfolk, VA, chiefly of Gov. Littleton Waller Tazewell, John Nivison Tazewell, Sally A. Tazewell, Ella Wickham Tazewell and Louisa Nivison Tazewell. Includes are account balances, property inventory lists, stock and bond certificate lists, tax collection receipts, payment receipts and personal correspondence concerning a book about Littleton Waller Tazewell. Also includes are a newspaper article, 1978, about the...
Dates:
1838-1978; Majority of material found in 1860-1870
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Booth Taliaferro Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates:
1811-1954
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center