Special Collections Research Center

Scope and Contents

Is honored to be chosen as a corresponding member of the Massachusetts Historical Society; as he will not return to Washington, D.C. until February, perhaps some member of Congress might find room in his baggage for the volume Eliot mentioned. Original is located in the Massachusetts Historical Society, Boston, Massachusetts.

Scope and Contents

Asks him to send the collections of the Society. Original is located in the Massachusetts Historical Society, Boston, Massachusetts.

Scope and Contents

Informs him that his rent for the Campbell land belonging to John Marshall's father's estate is due. Original is located in the Rush Rhees Library, University of Rochester.

Scope and Contents

Must decline his invitation to be his companion on the Potomac because of his ill health; Mr. Sheppherd has given a good account of "our Jacobin Banker's Clerk"; discusses Sheppherd's and the clerk's lives.

Scope and Contents

Has received his letter and is grateful for his kind words; although the still burnt Kentucky Whiskey is nauseous to hispalate, "I can yet enjoy the aroma of an exquisite glass of Madeira, or Paxasete, or Burgundy and I doubt whether my head would have been more affected by a bottle of Clos Von gedt, capped with another of such silvery Champagne, than by your truly kind note."

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Scrapbook, 12" x 10", with newspapers and magazine clippings about John Marshall and his descendants. the scrapbook also includes a pencil sketch of John Marshall and an APVA booklet about his home in Richmond. Many of the materials date from the bicentennial of Marshall's birth. William & Mary marked the 200th anniversary of John Marshall's birth in 1954-1955.

Scope and Contents

Typewritten copy, printed material, and newspaper clipping.

Scope and Contents From the Series:

The publications series includes announcements, newsletters, brochures, faculty meeting minutes, and other material published by the Marshall-Wythe School of Law at the College of William & Mary. [not arranged yet]

Scope and Contents

Discusses the recipient's proposed amendment to a bill before the House of Representatives concerning the U.S. Circuit Court System.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents From the Series:

Acc. 1982.065 contains Chandler's records as President and as Chancellor of William and Mary, 1951-1962.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Papers, 1732-1932, of the Maupin and Washington families. The bulk of the papers, 1850-1870, are letters received by Peter Grayson Washington who served as Assistant Secretary of the U. S. Treasury from 1853- 1857. Most of the letters relate to political patronage, Democratic Party politics and the various responsibilities of the Treasury Department. Later letters relate to Washington's work as a claims agent in Washington, D. C. and to his investments in New York City. The collection also...

Scope and Contents Indian schoolIndian school – Students who served in the RevolutionInformation technologyInstitute for Criminal Justice, 1975Institute for Pilgrimage StudiesInsuranceInternational Relations DepartmentInternational Service TripsJamestown celebrations, 1807, 1822, 1895Jamestown celebrations, 1957Jamestown celebrations, 1959Jamestown celebrations, 2007...

Scope and Contents Encloses a blank power of attorney in order to transfer and draw dividends upon his Pennsylvania Bank Stock which Mr. Pleasant has just remitted him; discusses land sales and the Manor of Leeds; discusses political situation and how the next election will affect their affairs; comments upon domestic unrest in regards to foreign affairs: " I look forward with more apprehension than I have ever done to the future political events of our country;" has just been informed of the total English...

Scope and Contents Encloses a power of attorney authorizing John Marshall to draw what is due Thomas on account of grandfather Colonel Thomas Marshall's halt pay; discusses Congress and the Nullification crisis; mentions Judge Henry Baldwin's misfortune and that Judge Smith Thompson is in town. Power of attorney granting John Marshall the right to draw the money due Thomas A. Marshall as heir to Colonel Thomas Marshall, Revolutionary War veteran entitled to the half pay pension; signed by Justice of the Peace...

Scope and Contents

1200 or 1300 miles east of the Capes of Delaware, Marshall and the crew hailed a ship bound for America; has not been very seasick and has busied himself with reading; has arrived in Holland and sends news of his health and safety on the first America-bound ship.

Scope and Contents

Discusses arrangements to have his father's will proved in the Virginia General Court so they can rule on his Revolutionary War? claim for half pay.

Scope and Contents

Thanks him for an oration which he sent on the death of Alexander Hamilton; hopes that Hamilton's death will cast some odium upon dueling; was not aware that he had played a part in producing the commercial meet in Baltimore; did not know he resigned the emoluments of his military service. Original printed in Dann, Mason Memoirs.

Scope and Contents

Received a copy of his book, Historical Letters, and asks Mr. Pleasant to sign him up as a subscriber; comments favorably upon the work, a comparative history of the nations of the world. Location of original is unknown.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

The Manuscripts Audiovisual Collection includes audiovisual formats from a variety of personal papers and organizational records collections.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Original letters and copies of letters from other repositories, chiefly 1788-1835, of John Marshall's correspondence with his wife, Mary Willis (Ambler) Marshall, other family members, James Monroe, Joseph Story, Bushrod Washington, and others. The correspondence reflects Marshall's wide range in interests including law, Virginia and U. S. politics, international affairs, agriculture and social events. Also included are letters by family members and descendants; a charcoal sketch and copies...

Scope and Contents

Correspondence and papers of John Marshall 1790-1799.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents 87 items.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Original letters and copies of letters from other repositories, chiefly 1788-1835, of John Marshall's correspondence with his wife, Mary Willis (Ambler) Marshall, other family members, James Monroe, Joseph Story, Bushrod Washington, and others. The correspondence reflects Marshall's wide range in interests including law, Virginia and U. S. politics, international affairs, agriculture and social events. Also included are letters by family members and descendants; a charcoal sketch and copies...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Original letters and copies of letters from other repositories, chiefly 1788-1835, of John Marshall's correspondence with his wife, Mary Willis (Ambler) Marshall, other family members, James Monroe, Joseph Story, Bushrod Washington, and others. The correspondence reflects Marshall's wide range in interests including law, Virginia and U. S. politics, international affairs, agriculture and social events. Also included are letters by family members and descendants; a charcoal sketch and copies...