Found 724 Results | Special Collections Research Center

John Marshall, Richmond, Virginia, to James Monroe, 1812 June 25

Item — Box 2: Series id159295, Folder: 4

Identifier: id161452

Scope and Contents

Upon his return from the "laborious relaxation" of his farm, he found President Madison's message, the report of the committee of foreign relations, and the declaration of war against Great Britain. Original is located in the Monroe Papers, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.

Dates: 1812 June 25

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, 1810-1818

John Marshall, Washington, D.C., to James Monroe, 1825 March 7

Item — Box 3: Series id159295, Folder: 3

Identifier: id163384

Scope and Contents

Asks him to accept a copy of his colonial history; congratulations him on the successful termination of his political career. Original is located in the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.

Dates: 1825 March 7

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall

John Marshall, Richmond, Virginia, to James Monroe, 1826 July 30

Item — Box 3: Series id159295, Folder: 5

Identifier: id163401

Scope and Contents

Replies to his letter recommending Mr. Randall for the vacant office in the Clerkship of the Supreme Court; discusses his feelings regarding the appointment; has been having trouble with famine and drought. Original is located in the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.

Dates: 1826 July 30

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / John Marshall Papers / Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall, Family Members and Other Individuals / Sub-Series 1: Correspondence and Papers of John Marshall / Correspondence and Papers

James Monroe, Philadelphia, to Mr. Nicholas Lewis , 1791 February 7

Item — Box 1, Folder: 2

Identifier: id301644

Scope and Contents

Family news and news from Congress concerning the excise tax and establishing a National Bank. 2 pages. Autograph Letter Signed. Typewritten Copy included.

Dates: 1791 February 7

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence, 1780-1792

P. DeRieux, Charlottesville, to James Monroe, Philadelphia, 1794 June 17

Item — Box 1, Folder: 5

Identifier: id301654

Scope and Contents

Request for Monroe to deliver a letter to P. DeRieux's aunt in Paris. Would also like to rent Monroe's house while he is away in Paris. In French - translation included. Typewritten Copy included.

Dates: 1794 June 17

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence

James Monroe, Paris, France, to Joseph Jones , 1794 September 4

Item — Box 1, Folder: 5

Identifier: id301656

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Correspondence and other material, 1780-1834, by, to, and concerning James Monroe. See inventory link (below) for folder list.

Dates: 1794 September 4

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence

James Monroe, Albemarle, to John Mason, Georgetown, 1799 January 17

Item — Box 2, Folder: 3

Identifier: id301666

Scope and Contents

Explanation of his inability to pay on a debt to Mr. Skipwith.

Dates: 1799 January 17

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence

James Monroe, Richmond, Virginia, to Thomas Jefferson , 1800 November 3

Item — Box 1, Folder: 5

Identifier: id301670

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Correspondence and other material, 1780-1834, by, to, and concerning James Monroe. See inventory link (below) for folder list.

Dates: 1800 November 3

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence

George W. Erving to James Monroe, Madrid, 1805 January 22

Item — Box 1, Folder: 7

Identifier: id301682

Scope and Contents

Dispatches enclosed, originals sent earlier. Advises Mr. D'Anonaga will leave London in a few days. . Typewritten Copy included.

Dates: 1805 January 22

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence

Christopher Hughes, Jr., Baltimore, to James Monroe, 1814 February 5

Item — Box 1, Folder: 13

Identifier: id301706

Scope and Contents

Acknowledges receipt of letter from Monroe, mentions conversation with Clay re negotiations. He awaits orders from Monroe. 1 page. Autograph Letter Signed. Typewritten Copy included.

Dates: 1814 February 5

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence

Jonathan Russell, New York, to James Monroe, 1814 February 21

Item — Box 1, Folder: 13

Identifier: id301708

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Correspondence and other material, 1780-1834, by, to, and concerning James Monroe. See inventory link (below) for folder list.

Dates: 1814 February 21

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence

James Monroe, Washington, to William H. Crawford?, 1814 July 10

Item — Box 1, Folder: 13

Identifier: id301712

Scope and Contents

News from Washington. Mentions controversy between Mr. Warden - Mr. Lee; Mr. Gallatin added to the mission with Mr. Clay and Mr. Russell. Signed. Typewritten Copy included.

Dates: 1814 July 10

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence

James Monroe, Washington, to George W. Campbell , 1818 April 11

Item — Box 1, Folder: 18

Identifier: id301738

Scope and Contents

Offer of appointment as Minister to Russia replacing Mr. Pinkney who has been recalled. Requests an early reply.

Dates: 1818 April 11

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence

James Monroe, Highland, to [possibly William Benton], 1818 September 14

Item — Box 1, Folder: 18

Identifier: id301740

Scope and Contents

Asks assistance for Mr. Chisholm to join Mr. Skinner and Mr. Moussiau on trip to court in Staunton. Discusses crops. Typewritten Copy included.

Dates: 1818 September 14

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence

Excerpt from The Memoir of James Monroe, 1826 November

Item — Box 1, Folder: 29

Identifier: id301868

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Correspondence and other material, 1780-1834, by, to, and concerning James Monroe. See inventory link (below) for folder list.

Dates: 1826 November

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence

James Monroe, Oak Hill, to Mr. Campbell, 1828 April 11

Item — Box 1, Folder: 30

Identifier: id301874

Scope and Contents

Discusses their friendship after a long period of silence. Send a copy of his memoirs. Mrs. Monroe is ill.

Dates: 1828 April 11

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Jay Johns Collection of James Monroe Papers / Personal Correspondence

Francis Barber Ogden, Liverpool, to James Monroe, 1829 December 15

File — Box 1, Folder: 8

Identifier: id293237

Scope and Contents

Mentions the voyages of several ships including the Florida, John Jay, Caledonia, Canada, and Manchester; mentions the passage of Mrs. Douglas and Miss Margaret and includes rumors that she is marrying; states Mrs. Douglas' condition of health is low but everything possible is being done to make her comfortable.

Dates: 1829 December 15

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Monroe (1799-1870) Family Papers

James Monroe, New York, to William Kane, 1837 April 14

File — Box 1, Folder: 14

Identifier: id293249

Scope and Contents

Discusses a previous situation, and their feelings about it, and their actions toward it.

Dates: 1837 April 14

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Monroe (1799-1870) Family Papers

G. G. W. Duttes to James Monroe, 1860 November 28

File — Box 1, Folder: 30

Identifier: id293281

Scope and Contents Concerns the issue of slavery; refers to Lincoln as "a low, ignorant, and obscure man, known only as a "Rail Splitter," Charles Sumner as a "coward," and William Henry Steward as an "arch-traitor"; believes a civil war is inevitable and refers to the pending difficulties between the North and the South; family news and information about previous travels; mentions that if Mr. John C. Breckinridge had won, Edward would have had a promotion, but the diplomatic career of Edward, the Sec. of...

Dates: 1860 November 28

Found in: Special Collections Research Center / James Monroe (1799-1870) Family Papers