Search all record types where
- keyword(s): George Washington
Showing Results: 51 - 70 of 70
William Ordway Partridge Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 01075
Scope and Contents
Letters, 1894-1905, of the sculptor William Ordway Partridge to [?] Allen, [?] Hardy, Edward W. Bok, and the Society of American Sculptors. Letters discuss his book, desire to write an article for Ladies Home Journal on the history of women's clothing, attending social gatherings, and Society of American Sculptors affairs.
4 items.
Dates:
1894-1905
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Dandridge Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 D19
Scope and Contents
Papers; 1767-1825; of John Dandridge and John Hopkins. Include letters of Dandridge to Hopkins concerning his law practice; courtship; financial matters; a trip to the Sweet Springs (Monroe County, Va.) for his health; and "Providence Forge," New Kent County, Va. Includes papers (legal documents and accounts) concerning John Dandridge, Bartholomew Dandridge, John Armistead, William Armistead and John Hopkins.
Dates:
1767-1825
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Craig Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00292
Scope and Contents
Collection consists mostly of letters from Albert Clifton Craig to his parents, Robert and Sarah Craig in Canton, Illinois, while a private in the 2nd Illinois Light Artillery during the Civil War. The company is composed of men from the area of Canton and Peoria, Illinois, including Albert’s uncle, William J. Gardner. Albert is a postilion and takes care of the horses. The company travels from Peoria, Illinois through Missouri to Pea Ridge, Arkansas, where Albert is injured in battle....
Dates:
1860-1906; Majority of material found in 1860-1880
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Violet McDougall Pollard Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 74 P76
Scope and Contents
This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. The papers primarily focus on Violet McDougall Pollard’s activities in politics and art. They also cover her many civic activities, and correspondence with family and friends. Information on her political activities is found in the files she kept on National Politics, documenting her activities as an official in the Democratic Party; her files...
Dates:
1907-1976; Majority of material found within 1933-1968
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Henry James Brown Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B845
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1830-1921, of the Henry James Brown family. There is a biographical sketch of Henry James Brown an artist and Methodist clergyman, as well as sketches drawn by him and sermons written by him. The papers also are of other members of his family. Includes a cut-out valentine and a fold-out book of poems illustrated in water color both made by Mary A. Brown, sister of Henry James Brown; cut-out valentines and a bookmark made by Salina Brown Worsham; and correspondence between Salina...
Dates:
1830-1921
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Powell Family papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 P875
Scope and Contents
Letters and papers of Charles Leven Powell, his wife Selina (Lloyd) Powell and children of Loudoun County, Virginia; Henry, Illinois; Winchester, Virginia; and Alexandria, Virginia.There are also included papers of Charles Leven Powell's father, Cuthbert Powell. Prominent correspondents include Johns Hopkins, Eleanor Agnes Lee, Fitzhugh Lee, George Washington Custis Lee, Mary Anna Randolph (Custis) Lee, Hunter Holmes McGuire and James Monroe.Letters concern Robert Young...
Dates:
1775-1929
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Charles Edward Gary, Jr. Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00017
Scope and Contents
These papers contain correspondence, photographs, business papers, artifacts, certificates, and other materials related to Charles Edward Gary, Jr. Mr. Gary was a prominent African American business owner in Williamsburg, operating for decades the West End Valet Shop off Prince George Street. The collection comprises business ledgers and other West End Valet Shop records over several years, as well as legal documents pertaining to the Valet Shop and Gary family estates such as leases and...
Dates:
circa 1870s-2000s; Majority of material found in 1940-1980
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Page Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 00923
Scope and Contents
Letter, 14 September 1804, of John Page to [Bishop James?] Madison. Congratulates the recipient for the "happy state of affairs"under his administration.
What muse can dictate or what works express. A handwritten poem by John Page. Undated.
Copy of letter written to "Gentlemen" which concerns military commissions for Thomas Tavener and John Badgley.
Dates:
1804, undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Pulaski Club Records
Collection
Identifier: MS 00097
Content Description
Records of the Pulaski Club of Williamsburg, a men's social club, named in honor of Count Pulaski of American Revolutionary War fame. Includes minutes, correspondence, photographs, poetry, stationery and clippings. Two letters by John D. Rockefeller are included.
Dates:
1877-2014
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Meade Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 74 M46
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, 1807-1861, of the Right Reverend William Meade who was a minister of the Protestant Episcopal Church and third Bishop of the Church in Virginia. The early correspondence pertains to his studies at Princeton and his decision to enter the ministry. Subsequent correspondence deals with religious controversy, particularly after his election as Assistant Bishop of Virginia in 1829. The discipline of clergy and laity and disagreement over doctrinal issues form an important part of...
Dates:
1807-1861
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Farrar Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.71
Scope and Contents
The collection includes letters, contracts, deeds, wills, St. Luke Penny Bank medallions, cemetery plot receipts, plans, blueprints, photographs, birth and death certificates relating to members of the Farrar family of Richmond, Virginia. Daniel James Farrar (1862-1925) had a profound effect on the architecture of the city of Richmond. Daniel followed the example of his father, Joseph who was the son of a free black. Farrar was involved with at least 14 buildings in the 1890’s as designer,...
Dates:
1875-1964
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Schuyler Otis Bland Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B61
Scope and Contents
Chiefly office files and personal correspondence, 1918-1950, of S. O. Bland while serving as member of U. S. Congress from First Virginia District. Collection includes newspaper clippings on topical and geographical areas of interest to Bland, speeches and talks given by Bland as Congressman, and general papers and personal working files he maintained. Included in the general papers is Bland's voting record. As a representative of the First District, Bland focused a significant...
Dates:
1862-1950
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Dade-Hansbrough-Patton Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 01094
Scope and Contents
Letters and poem, 1825-1899, of members of the Dade, Hansbrough, and Patton families. The collection inludes a letter, 1863, from Waller Tazewell Patton (7th Virginia Infantry) concerning his injury received in the Battle of Gettysburg and a letter, 1863, from Isaac W. Smith to John M. Patton telling of the death of Waller Tazewell Patton. The collection also includes a letter from Margaret Slaughter (Dade) Smith to James F. Hansbrough giving her consent to his marriage with Ophelia...
Dates:
1825-1866
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Robert William Hughes Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 H87
Scope and Contents
Papers, mainly 1865-1900, of Robert William Hughes (1821-1901), journalist, Republican politician, and United States District Judge, of Abingdon and Norfolk, Va. Included are family momentoes relating to Hughes' foster father, General Edward C. Carrington (1790-1855), and to Mrs. Hughes' father and brother, Charles C. (1795-1832) and John Preston Johnston (1821?-l847), articles written by Hughes on Virginia politics, newspapers, and horses, a few letters to Mrs. Hughes, and a scrapbook...
Dates:
1818-1900
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Vincent T. DeVita, Jr. Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 84 D49
Scope and Contents
Papers of Doctor Vincent T. DeVita, former director of the National Cancer Institute and chief of surgical oncology at Sloan-Kettering Memorial Medical Center concerning aspects of National Cancer Institute's activities, programs, and agenda. Includes congressional testimony, minutes of meetings, correspondence relating to committees and associations, articles by Dr. DeVita, memoranda, and speeches. Also included are histories of various programs at NCI, correspondence about cancer...
Dates:
1964-1988
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Virginia Counties Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents
Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.
Dates:
1600-2000; Majority of material found in 1730-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Theodore R. Reinhart Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.030
Scope and Contents
This collection includes correspondence, research journals, travel journals, publications, slides, artifacts and other material pertaining to Dr. Theodore R. Reinhart's research and teaching career in the Department of Anthropology at the College of William and Mary and his participation in the Council of Virginia Archaeologists (COVA) and the Department of Historical Resources (DHR). The most recently received material (received April 2008 forward) is not fully...
Dates:
1967-2009
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
James River and Kanawha Company Records
Collection
Identifier: SC 00628
Scope and Contents
The collection relates to the James River Canal and Kanawha Company, which officially gained a charter in 1835. Included are a list of subscriptions sold to private individuals, a letter to the auditors office discussing current and previous subscriptions, a letter from a prospective surveyor and a list of tollage rates along the canal. Individuals mentioned are John Hartwell Cocke, and his son John Hartwell Cocke Jr.
Dates:
1834-1868
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Myers-Burrage-Graham Papers (I) Group A
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 98 M99 Group A
Scope and Contents
Group A; Papers of Moses Myers, and his sons Samuel Myers (1790-1829) lawyer in Norfolk and Pensacola, Fla. and John Myers (1787-1830) merchant of Norfolk. Includes papers of Barton Myers (1853-1927), mayor of Norfolk, Va. and his family.
Dates:
1776-1925
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Carl A. "Pappy" Fehr Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.017
Scope and Contents
The collection contains materials related to Dr. Carl A. Fehr's music professorship as well as his direction of the College of William and Mary's choral program and those of The Common Glory and The Founders summer pageants and the Williamsburg Baptist Church choir. In addition to his reflections on choral direction and discipline, the collection includes extensive materials on Dr. Fehr's professional management of the College's choral program, a series of published choral programs, a...
Dates:
1907-2012; Majority of material found in 1945-1974
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center