Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 326 - 350 of 4976

Ivan M. Baxter Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00838
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1914 of Ivan M. Baxter (b. 1896) of Smithville, Chenango County, New York. He appears to live on a farm where his family raises cattle and farms wheat and corn. Baxter, who was 17 at the time he wrote in this diary, describes daily work (e.g. helping with cattle, splitting wood, farming), weather and leisure activities such as church, dating, sleigh riding, cattle drives, automobile racing and dances. His daily income is recorded in the back of the diary.

Dates: 1914

Baylor Pictures print of Wren Building

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01618
Scope and Contents

One color print of the Wren Building at the College of William and Mary created by Baylor Pictures, Norfolk, Va.

Dates: 1961

Baytop Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00470
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1838 August - September 6, of Lucy T. Baytop and her son Thomas C. Baytop to James Baytop, Gloucester Court House, Va. and including a letter, 1838, of Thomas C. Baytop to Jefferson W. Stubbs. The letters are written from Richmond, Va., Staunton, Va. and Lewisburg, Va. [now W. Va.] and concern a trip to Lewisburg.

Dates: 1838

Baytop-Fitzhugh Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00111
Scope and Contents The inventory includes letters, 1851-1861, and accounts, 1840-1866, of Rufus King Fitzhugh and his wife Henrietta Ellen (Baytop) Fitzhugh of Stanardsville, Greene County, Virginia. Most letters to Henrietta are from her mother Lucy Taliaferro (Catlett) Baytop, and her sisters Rowena, Lucy Ann, and Eugenia, all of Springfield, Gloucester County, Virginia. The collection also includes letters from her sister-in-law Mary F. Fitzhugh of Fredericksburg, Virginia. The letters relate...
Dates: 1840-1866

Joseph Beale Letter to his Wife

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01173
Scope and Contents

Letter written April 27, 1854 from Joseph Beale, U.S. Germantown, Montevideo, South America, to his wife, in care of Col. Blow, Norfolk, concerning his fondness for his wife and child and his wish to leave the Navy as a doctor and enter into private practice. ALS

Dates: 1854 April 27

Samuel Beale Letter to Nicholas Law

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00715
Scope and Contents

Letter, 6 August 1785, written by Samuel Beale of Williamsburg, Virginia. In the letter, Beale asks Nicholas Low, a merchant from New York City, New York, for assistance in releasing Neil Jameison from military duty.

Dates: 1785 August 6

Walter Randolph Beales III Term Paper

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.117
Scope and Contents

Copy of a term paper written by Walter Randolph Beales III and titled "Mr. Munford of Mecklenburg: The Political Biography of a Colonial Virginia Burgess." The paper was written for Professor Thaddeus Tate's History 403 course in January 1965.

Dates: 1965 January 8

John L. Beard Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01335
Scope and Contents

Daybook entries for furniture and buying lumber (chair plank), 1842-1854, of John L. Beard. approximately 64 leaves. : bound volume ; 16 cm.

Dates: 1842-1854

John L. Beard Daybook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ac1
Scope and Contents

Daybook of John L. Beard, cabinetmaker of Middlebrook, Augusta Co., Va. 107 p. : bound volume ; 31 cm.

See also John L. Beard Ledger (Mss. MsV Ac2).

Dates: 1845-1850

John L. Beard Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ac2
Scope and Contents

Ledger of John L. Beard, cabinetmaker of Middlebrook, Augusta Co., Va. which includes formulas and directions for the making of glue and wood finishes; and contains measurements for certain pieces of furniture. Beard also made coffins. The volume contains minutes of the Nestorian Debating Society. 71 p. : bound volume ; 31 cm.

See also John L. Beard Daybook (Mss. MsV Ac1).

Dates: 1863-1865

Beard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 B38
Scope and Contents

Papers (including correspondence) of Eva V. Beard, Nannie S. Beard, and John Link Beard of Augusta County, Virginia. Includes letter, 1843, of J. E. Carnes describing a trip by land and river boat from Augusta County, Virginiaa. to Licking County, Ohio (describing Virginia, West Virginia, and Ohio, particularly Cincinnati); a portion of John L. Beard's account book, 1834-1865, listing coffins made; and an order for exchange of Civil War prisoners at Richmond.

Dates: 1834-1906

Beatrice E. Smither Diary

 Collection — Box: Small Collections Box 119
Identifier: SC 01735
Content Description

A 271 page dairy written by Beatrice E. Smither, a young woman working at the law firm Williams and Mullen in Richmond, VA. Over the year of 1925, Smither writes about a variety of topics including work, civic and church clubs, politics, family, friends, as well as her romances with two separate men, Cy and George.

A large majority of the diary is written in longhand, but there are some passages in shorthand as well.

Content warning for mentions of alcholism.

Dates: 1925

Beatrice Livingstone Travel Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01312
Content Description Travel diary along with itinerary, charted courses, pictures, and mementos kept by Beatrice Livingstone, wife of Lieutenant John Livingstone. Contains records of the travels of Beatrice L. Livingstone on Navy ships and cruise liners from 1926-1929. Ships include the USS Chaumont, SS President Madison, SS President Jackson, and SS Malolo. Ephemera includes newspapers, tickets, maps, telegrams, cablegrams, and pamphlets from the Panama Canal Zone, the Pacific coast of the United States,...
Dates: 1926- 1929; Majority of material found in 1926

Beauregard Furnace Journals

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Afu1-MsV Afu2
Scope and Contents

Account books of Beauregard Furnace located in Wythe County, Va. which was under contract to supply pig iron to Tredegar Iron Works during the American Civil War.

Dates: 1861-1865

Frances Beckwith Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00079
Content Description

175 handwritten letters written by Frances Beckwith to her sister Emma Louise, during three trips to Europe between 1926 and 1935, and in New York in 1950. Beckwith was traveling alone after retiring at the age of 45. The letters describe her travels, the people staying in hotels and pensions with her, and the events and locations she visited, especially churches. Beckwith is very critical, and frequently makes racist and anti-Semitic comments and comparisons.

Dates: 1926-1950; Majority of material found in 1926-1935

Bedinger & Forman Journal and Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ami G5
Scope and Contents

Journal and ledger, 1817-1820, of Bedinger & Forman, millers, Berkeley County, Va. [W. Va.] which contains grist mill accounts, 1817-1820, and includes a copy of the constitution, 1850, of the Altonian Debating Society and minutes of the meetings.

Dates: 1817-1850; Majority of material found in 1817-1820

Henry Bedinger Receipt and Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap2
Scope and Contents

Receipt book for accounts paid by Henry Bedinger of Berkeley County, Virginia, 1789-1801.  Also contains accounts of a private school with teachers and pupils, 1848-1849  (5 pages at end of book), farm memoranda and accounts of an unknown person with farm laborers (including a list of negroes hired for manual labor) and household servants, 1856-1873.  182 pages.

Dates: 1789-1873

Henry Ward Beecher Manuscript

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01263
Scope and Contents

Manuscript draft, dated October 30, 1864, written by Henry Ward Beecher comparing Abraham Lincoln to Wendell Phillips, being particularly praiseworthy of Phillips. Typescript included.

Dates: 1864 October 30

Before the Hunt Photograph

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01089
Scope and Contents

Black and white photograph, 8 x 6 [?], of a group of hunters, some mounted on horses, with their dogs.

Dates: circa 1900-1910

Bell and Kincannon Property List

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00363
Scope and Contents

This collection contains a list of lots in the first district of Virginia with their improvements, dwelling houses, and enslaved persons. The lots were owned by Joseph Bell and Andrew Kincannon, Jr. They were located at Cripple Creek, Wythe County, Virginia, on the south side of Lick Mountain and the north side of Iron Mountain. Included in the list are iron furnaces, forges, houses, barns, and fourteen enslaved men valued at $5,600.

Dates: 1815

Charles H. Bell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B41
Scope and Contents The collection includes the correspondence, certificates, photographs, accounts, and journals of Rear Admiral Charles H. Bell. Naval journals cover Bell's service in the Mediterranean Sea from 1855-1858. The photographs are a mix of personal and souvenirs, which largely depict men and women from Peru. There is also material related to his role as executor for the estate of Samuel Swartwout. The collection also includes papers related to the Smith family, particularly Bell's executor and...
Dates: 1772-1929; Majority of material found in 1852-1875

Bell Hospital Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1995.61
Scope and Contents

Business ledgers of receipts and expenditures for Dr. Baxter I. Bell for Bell Hospital in Williamsburg, Virginia and one folder of loose business papers (25 items). 1926 to 1970. (Acc. 1995.61 and 1999.11)

Dates: 1926-1970

John Newton Bell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00345
Content Description

The John Newton Bell papers includes personal and professional correspondence from relatives, business associates and religious figures throughout Virginia and the greater Appalachia. Letters document subject areas including the Civil War, the hospitalization of women in mental health facilities, agricultural issues, and religious matters related to the Presbyterian Church.

Dates: 1841-1882

Ellen Washington Bellamy Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1927.22
Scope and Contents Portrait photographs of members of the Washington Family of Macon, Georgia and places connected with the family:  Ellen Washington Bellamy, Judge Hugh Washington (brother of Ellen Washington Bellamy), Colonel James H.R. Washington with an autograph, home of Colonel H.R. Washington, family lot in Rose Hill Cemetery, and Washington Memorial Library.Newspaper clippings and typed data about Mrs. Mary Hammond Washington, the founder of Georgia's Branch of the Daughters of the American...
Dates: 1860-1904; Majority of material found in Undated.

Mae Alvan Belt Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00155
Scope and Contents 3 Diaries, 1933, 1936-1940 and 1941-1943 of Mae Alvan Belt of Rockville, Maryland. The 1933 girl scout diary was written while Mae Belt was a teenager and contains brief entries that mention school, house work, and social life. The 1936-1940 diary contains brief daily entries. Mae Belt seems to live with her parents and mentions going to work, working some evenings, helping with Red Cross work, doing house hold chores, but also comments on her social life and particular her courtship with a...
Dates: 1933-1943

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 948
Account books 511
Photographs 399
College of William and Mary--Students 378
Diaries 333
∨ more
Financial records 284
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 279
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 278
Scrapbooks 257
Letters (correspondence) 227
Legal documents 216
Ledgers (Accounting) 203
Reports 174
Notebooks 164
World War, 1939-1945 155
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 154
Receipts (financial records) 151
Fliers (printed matter) 149
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 143
Minutes 133
Programs 126
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 123
Manuscripts (document genre) 115
Women--Diaries 113
Clippings (information artifacts) 102
Publications 87
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 80
Journals (accounts) 77
Pamphlets 77
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 74
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 71
Newsletters 65
Genealogy 63
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 62
World War, 1914-1918 60
Booklets 59
Printed ephemera 58
Typescripts 58
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 55
Certificates 54
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 52
Poems 52
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 48
Invitations 47
Postcards 47
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 47
College of William and Mary--Students--Social life and customs 46
Virginia--Genealogy 46
Newspapers 45
Women college students 45
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 45
Class materials 42
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 42
Agendas (administrative records) 41
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 41
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 41
Speeches 41
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 41
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 41
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History--19th century 40
Daybooks 39
Speeches, addresses, etc. 39
College of William and Mary--History--21st century 38
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 38
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 37
Women--Travel 37
Invoices 36
Memorandums 36
New York (State)--Social life and customs 36
Photocopies 36
Announcements 35
Autograph albums 35
Minute books 35
United States--Politics and Government 35
American Civil War, 1861-1865 34
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 34
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 34
World War, 1939-1945--United States 34
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 33
American poetry--19th century 32
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 32
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 32
Accounts 31
Maps 31
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 31
Business records 30
Athletics 29
Photostats 27
United States--History--War of 1812 27
Women--History--Virginia 27
Recipes 26
Virginia--History 26
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 26
Women--Societies and clubs 26
World War, 1914-1918--France 26
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 26
Medicine--Formulae, receipts, prescriptions 25
Virginia--Governors 25
Wren Building (Williamsburg, Va.) 25
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 24
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 4891
German 53
French 44
Spanish; Castilian 38
Latin 29
∨ more  
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 246
College of William and Mary. 124
Gary Alonzo Barranger 113
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 102
College of William and Mary 87
∨ more
College of William and Mary--Faculty 36
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 30
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 29
Office of the President 27
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 26
Barranger & Company, Inc. 25
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 24
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 24
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 23
College of William and Mary. School of Education 21
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 21
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 20
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 19
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 18
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 18
Madison, James, 1749-1812 18
College of William and Mary--Sports 17
United States. Army. 17
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 16
William III, King of England, 1650-1702 16
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 15
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 15
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 15
State Male Normal College of Virginia 15
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors. 14
Monroe, James, 1758-1831 14
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 14
United States Congress 14
College of William and Mary. Department of Athletics. 13
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 13
University of Virginia 13
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 12
College of William and Mary. School of Business Administration 12
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 12
Virginia House of Delegates 12
Washington, George, 1732-1799 12
Chandler, J. A. C. (Julian Alvin Carroll), 1872-1934 11
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 11
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 11
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 11
United States. Army 11
Wise, Henry A. (Henry Alexander), 1806-1876 11
Tucker 10
Tyler Family 10
United States Navy 10
Virginia Institute of Marine Science 10
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 9
Choir and Chorus 9
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Chemistry 9
Democratic Party (U.S.) 9
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 9
Mary II, Queen of England, 1662-1694 9
Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs. 9
Student Activities 9
Virginia State Senate 9
Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 9
Camp Peary (Va.) 8
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Anthropology 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Fine Arts 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Physics 8
Democratic Party (Va.) 8
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 8
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 8
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 8
Republican Party (U.S.) 8
Society of the Alumni 8
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia 8
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 7
Cabell, James Branch, 1879-1958 7
Clay, Henry, 1777-1852 7
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Biology 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Mathematics 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Sociology 7
College of William and Mary. University Archives. 7
Galt family 7
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 7
Madison, James, 1751-1836 7
Nichol, Gene R., 1951- 7
Student Life--1990's 7
Swem, E. G. (Earl Gregg), 1870-1965 7
Verkuil, Paul R 7
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 7
Washington family 7
Whig Party (U.S.) 7
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 7
American Red Cross 6
Buchanan, James, 1791-1868 6
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 6
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Government 6
Development Office--Endowment Association 6
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 6
Eastern Lunatic Asylum (Va.) 6
Gloucester County Board of Supervisors 6
+ ∧ less