Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 26 - 31 of 31

S. Cole Bradley Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00024
Scope and Contents

The collection consists of letters, ephemera, and original art work created by S. Cole Bradley while stationed in the Philippines as a staff sergeant in the United States Air Force during World War II. The bulk of the letters are addressed to Eudora Lampman, whom he would later marry. The sketches are done in pencil as well as pen and ink with watercolors. The drawings depict everyday military life in the Philippines including ships, landscapes, and servicemen at work and leisure.

Dates: circa 1941-1945, 1991-1994

Ed Sanderbeck Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00236
Content Description Mostly envelopes of letters Ed Sanderbeck sent to his wife Fay Weekley from 1941- 1945 while he served in the United States Air Force during World War II. The envelopes have notes written to Fay, but the letters have been removed and are not with the envelopes. Notes discuss his life in the military as he was stationed in Australia, New Guinea, the Philippines, and Korea, and his unit's success at shooting down Japanese planes. Almost 350 envelopes in total, includes some Vmail and some...
Dates: 1941-1945

John Edward Siddall, Jr. Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00962
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1944-1945, written to John Edward Siddall, Jr. Includes six letters sent by his parents, who lived in Horsham, Pennsylvania, and also includes six letters sent by his sister and brother-in-law, Emma and Albert Steever.  For more detailed description provided by the seller, click on the Finding Aid link below.

Dates: 1944-1945

Tom Sunkiskis World War II Collection

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00109
Scope and Contents This artificial collection of World War II era correspondence spans 1935 and 1939-1945. The letters are primarily from soldiers serving in the US Armed Forces, but there are also a few letters written by American civilians living in the USA during this period. One folder contains 33 letters from various German soldiers, written to Marie Luise Matsko of Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany (written in German). Collected by Tom Sunkiskis, this two-box collection contains correspondence from a variety of...
Dates: 1935-1945

Valentino P. Vozza Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.36
Scope and Contents Letters from Valentino Vozza to his girlfriend, then wife, Lee Perley, while he served in the Navy during World War II. He was part of the Ninth fleet while in California, and the Third fleet, on the ship U.S.S. Mundo, and stationed in San Diego, California, San Francisco, California, Bremerton, Washington and the Pacific Front in and near Guam, Pearl Harbor and Japan. His wife was in or near Los Angeles, California and Ocean Park, California. Valentino Vozza moved up...
Dates: 1942-1945

L. J. Wolfgram Letters to Hazel Tavares Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00061
Scope and Contents

Letters from L.J. Wolfgram to Hazel Tavares from 1943-1945.  Wolfgram served in World War II with the United States Marines, Medical Field Service, Headquarters Company, 3rd Battalion, 3rd Marines.  The 3rd Battalion of the 3rd Marines formed in New River (Camp Lejeune), North Carolina and participated in the Battle of Bougainville and also saw heavy fighting on Guam.

Dates: 1943-1945, and undated

Filtered By

  • Subject: World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
World War, 1939-1945 13
Correspondence 8
Photographs 8
Letters (correspondence) 7
Diaries 4
∨ more
Scrapbooks 3
World War, 1939-1945--European Front 3
World War, 1939-1945--United States--Personal narratives 3
Account books 2
Certificates 2
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 2
Legal documents 2
Poems 2
Printed ephemera 2
Soldiers--United States--Correspondence 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
United States--Women--History 2
United States. Navy 2
United States. Navy--History--World War, 1939-1945 2
World War, 1939-1945--Japan 2
Afghan War, 2001-2021 1
Afghanistan 1
African American women--Education 1
African Americans 1
African Americans--History--20th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Alabama--History--19th century 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
Art (sketches) 1
Australia--Description and travel 1
Battle of Hatcher's Run, Feb. 1865 1
Battleships--United States--History 1
Bombardment--Japan 1
Booklets 1
Camp Shelby (Miss.) 1
Canada--Description and travel 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Censorship--United States--History--20th century 1
Chandler Court (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Chemical warfare--United States--History--20th century. 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 26th 1
Courtship--1940-1950 1
Courtship--United States--History--20th century 1
Engineering--Study and teaching--United States--19th century 1
Financial records 1
Fort Mason (Calif.)--History 1
Genealogy 1
Germany--History--Allied occupation, 1945- 1
India--History--20th century 1
International Military Tribunal for the Far East 1
Kenton (Ohio) 1
King and Queen County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Lecture notes 1
Lithographs 1
Love-letters 1
Maine--Description and travel 1
Maps 1
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Medicine, Military--India. 1
Mexico--History--19th century 1
Midway, Battle of, 1942 1
Military Affairs - United States 1
Mining engineering--History--19th century 1
Newspapers 1
Notebooks 1
Pearl Harbor (Hawaii), Attack on, 1941 1
Pennsylvania--Social life and customs--20th century 1
Philippines--Description and travel 1
Philippines--History 1
Ramapo Mountain people 1
Report cards 1
Rosters 1
Segregation 1
Segregation--United States--1940-1950 1
Siege of Petersburg, Va. (Richmond-Petersburg Campaign), 1864-1865 1
Soldiers' writings, American 1
Soldiers--1940-1950 1
Soldiers--American--1940-1950 1
Soldiers--Recreation 1
Soldiers--Training of--United States--History--20th century 1
Soldiers--United States--Diaries. 1
Soldiers--United States--Social life and customs--20th century 1
Spanish-American War, 1898 1
Tinian (Northern Mariana Islands)--Social conditions 1
Tokyo Trial, Tokyo, Japan, 1946-1948 1
Typescripts 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives 1
United States--Naval Reserve--Women's Reserve 1
United States. Navy--History--20th century 1
United States. Navy. Seabees. 1
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 1
University of Mississippi--History--19th century 1
V-E Day, 1945 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
Dutch; Flemish 1
French 1
German 1
 
Names
Gary Alonzo Barranger 5
Aeschleman, Leonard R. 1
American Chemical Society 1
American Red Cross 1
Armstrong, Norm A. 1
∨ more
Arnett, Frank P. 1
Beck, Frederick D. 1
Bernard Family 1
Blankenship family 1
Blizzard, Arlie Raymond (1909-1966) 1
Blizzard, Arthur Roy (1918-1992) 1
Blizzard, William Russell (1912-2000) 1
Cabana, Leonard R. 1
Carpenter, Albina 1
Carpenter, Avery 1
Carpenter, Betty 1
Carpenter, Charlotte 1
Carpenter, James E. 1
Carpenter, James Saylor 1
Carpenter, Paul A. 1
Carpenter, Velma 1
Causler, Estelle 1
Caywood, James W., 1923-1995 1
Cheesebrew, Fern 1
Clark, Barbara 1
Collins, Benjamin D. 1
Collins, Gertha Sykes 1
Creager, Arrah 1
Dansby, James 1
Education--North Carolina 1
Edward Hanratty 1
Gelbach, Bill 1
Glennan, Edward Keville 1
Granke, Ray 1
Graves, Obelia "Bee" 1
Grew, Joseph Clark, 1880-1965 1
Hipkins family 1
Holmberg, Carl Norman 1
Hull, Cordell, 1871-1955 1
Keenan, Joseph Berry, 1888-1954 1
Kestenholtz, Kenneth James 1
Lampman, Eudora Grace 1
Lau, Norman E., 1915-1999 1
Lindsey, Bernard T, 1922- 1999 1
Lowe, Ottowell Sykes 1
McLeod-Tyler Family 1
Memphis Medical College, Memphis, Tenn 1
Millington family 1
Millington, John, 1779-1868 1
Morgan, Howard Emmons 1
Mullikan, Donald C., 1922-1989 1
Pollard, Joseph Lawrence 1
Pollard, Joseph P. , M.D. 1
Ramey, Howard 1
Richardson, David B., 1916-2005 1
Robb family 1
Robb-Bernard family 1
Sanderbeck, Edward C. 1
Siddall, John Edward, Jr. 1
Stimson, Henry Lewis, 1867-1950 1
Taylor, John, 1753-1824 1
Tompkins, Sally Louisa, 1833-1916 1
Tyler, John G. II, 1919-1990 1
United Nations Food and Agricultural Organization 1
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 1
United States. Army. 1
United States. Army. Composite Unit (Provisional), 5307th 1
United States. Army. Service Command Unit, 1322nd 1
Upton family 1
Vozza, Lee Perley 1
Vozza, Valentino P., 1922-2006 1
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Winston-Salem State University 1
Winston-Salem Teachers College 1
+ ∧ less