Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 9 of 9

Cyril Buzek, Sr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00077
Scope and Contents 154 letters, 2 postcards, and a photograph, 1945–1946.  The letters are from Cyril Buzek to his parents and sisters in Lane City, Texas.  Buzek came to Camp Peary, near Williamsburg, Virginia, in January 1945 for basic training in the Navy.  After short stints in Norfolk and Newport News, he was sent to Panama in July 1945, where he was posted at various sites.  The nearly continuous stream of letters ended in late December 1945, but there were two additional ones from Panama written in May...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John Lesslie Hall, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 H14
Scope and Contents Papers, 1937-1973, of Admiral John Lesslie Hall, Jr. of Williamsburg and Alexandria, Va. and while stationed at Pearl Harbor, San Francisco and Norfolk, Va. The papers are both personal and professional. The collection contains material concerning World War II Operations TORCH (North Africa), BIGOT-HUSKY, AVALANCHE (Salerno), NEPTUNE-OVERLORD, and as well as the Army-Navy joint agreement on Normandy. Also includes material pertaining to his work with the USO, the Naval War College, Army War...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Edmund S. Keiter Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00049
Content Description The collection contains several black and white photographs belonging to W&M Class of 1938 alumnus Edmund S. Keiter, while serving in the U. S. Navy on the U. S. S. Walter S. Brown in 1943-1944. Subjects of the photographs include life on-board ship (including a boxing match and sunbathing), medical surgery, African-American (presumably) men, a wrecked German plane, a German tank, various unidentified foreign locations (including the ruins of a bombed town), native peoples (Morocco?),...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Norman E. Lau Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2015.076
Scope and Contents The bulk of this collection consists of letters to and from Norman E. Lau, who served as an aviation metalsmith for the U.S. Navy during World War II, and his family. The correspondence was written before and after the war, and concern Lau's search for a job in Chicago during the Depression, his training, his time spent overseas during the war stationed in the Philippines, and his life after the war in California. Many of the letters were written to or by his wife, "Kitty." Correspondence...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Paul A. Carpenter Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00228
Content Description The Paul A. Carpenter Letters consists of incoming correspondence and Vmail from family and friends. The letters date from 1942-1945, with the bulk written in 1945. Much of the content discusses the home front: the change of seasons, canning berries and peas, poetry, movies, and new novels such as “Forever Amber”. Paul Carpenter’s parents, J.E. and Albina Carpenter, sent local newspaper clippings with their letters, sharing news of other Kenton, Ohio soldiers and sailors and announcements...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Rathbun Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00020
Scope and Contents The collection consists mostly of love letters between Ella-May Abbott of New Orleans, Louisiana and Walter James Rathbun who is based in ship ports in the United States, Europe, Nicaragua and the Panama Canal Zone.  Letters from Walter Rathbun’s Mother, Mrs. J. Baird of Floral Park, New Jersey and other family members are included. Ella-May and Walter begin a correspondence courtship in 1916, then breakup in 1919. They begin writing to each other again in 1926 and finally marry...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Ridell Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.022
Scope and Contents

The Ridell Family papers is primarily correspondence between Robert Calvin Ridell and his parents in Kerny, Nebraska. There is also correspondence from other family members, friends, and others. Ridell is nearly always addressed as Calvin. Ridell was a member of the United States Navy and correspondence dates from his time in training and while he was deployed at sea during World War II. Much of the correspondence and other printed material in the collection is from 1943-1946.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

U.S.S. Attala Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00796
Scope and Contents

Papers of "U.S.S. Attala" with W.S.G. Davis the Commanding Officer. Appear to be stationed in or near Pearl Harbor. Contains memos with commands, usually signed by N. M. Brown, Lieutenant of the United States Navy Reserve, newsletter entitled "The Attala X-Ray," and "Plan of the Day" for days in 1945-1946. Includes typed carbon copy of August 11, 1945 notice received from WVTK Armed Services Radio Station Leyte, Philippines about the terms of the Japanese surrender proposal.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

H.T. Wilbur Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00839
Scope and Contents Diary of a medical doctor who served in the U.S. Navy beginning July 5, 1942, when he reported for duty at the Navy Yard in Washington, D.C. The name given on the front of the diary is H.T. Wilbur which suggests him as the author. Wilbur was detached for duty to the U.S.M.C. recruiting station, also Washington, D.C.  He writes extensively on medical issues and cases and events encountered during his tour of duty. At the start of his diary he also reflects on his career decision and discusses...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: World War, 1939-1945 X
  • Subject: World War, 1939-1945 X
  • Subject: United States. Navy--History--World War, 1939-1945 X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Letters (correspondence) 4
United States. Navy--History--20th century 3
World War, 1939-1945 3
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 2
World War, 1939-1945--United States 2
∨ more
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Canal Zone 1
Comic strips 1
Correspondence 1
Diaries 1
Kenton (Ohio) 1
Love letters 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Memorandums 1
Merchant marine--United States 1
Military records 1
Newsletters 1
Notebooks 1
Operation Neptune 1
Operation Overlord 1
Operation Torch 1
Oral histories 1
Orders (military records) 1
Pamphlets 1
Panama--Description and travel 1
Photographs 1
Printed ephemera 1
Sailors--United States--Social life and customs 1
Shipping--United States 1
Speeches 1
USS Albermarle (Ship : AV-5) 1
United States--Naval Reserve--Women's Reserve 1
United States. Navy--Medical care 1
Women--Social life and customs. 1
World War, 1914-1918 1
World War, 1939-1945--Aerial operations 1
World War, 1939-1945--England--Plymouth. 1
World War, 1939-1945--European Front 1
World War, 1939-1945--Japan 1
World War, 1939-1945--Medical and sanitary affairs. 1
World War, 1939-1945--South America 1
World War, 1939-1945--Women 1
∧ less
 
Names
Aeschleman, Leonard R. 1
Armstrong, Norm A. 1
Arnett, Frank P. 1
Beck, Frederick D. 1
Burke, Arleigh A., 1901-1996 1
∨ more
Buzek, Cyril, Sr., 1922-1958 1
Cabana, Leonard R. 1
Camp Peary (Va.) 1
Carpenter, Albina 1
Carpenter, Avery 1
Carpenter, Betty 1
Carpenter, Charlotte 1
Carpenter, James E. 1
Carpenter, James Saylor 1
Carpenter, Paul A. 1
Carpenter, Velma 1
Causler, Estelle 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
Creager, Arrah 1
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969 1
Fairbanks, Douglas, 1909- 1
Gary Alonzo Barranger 1
Godson, Susan H. (Godson, Susan Hall), d. 2013 1
Hall, John Lesslie, Jr., 1891-1978 1
John L. Hall (Ship) 1
Keiter, Edmund 1
King, Ernest Joseph, 1878-1956 1
Lau, Norman E., 1915-1999 1
Marshall, George C. (George Catlett), 1880-1959 1
Nimitz, Chester W., 1885-1966 1
Patton, George S. (George Smith), 1885-1945 1
Rathbun family 1
Roosevelt, Franklin D. (Franklin Delano), 1882-1945 1
Truman, Harry S., 1884-1972 1
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 1
United States. Naval Reserve 1
Wilbur, H.T. 1
∧ less