Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 6 of 6

Coleman-Wilson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 96 C67
Scope and Contents Letters, chiefly 1919-1964, written by Mary Haldane Begg Coleman (1875-1967) of Williamsburg, Virginia, to Julia Gardiner Tyler Wilson (1881-1965), of Charlottesville, Virginia. Diaries of Mary Haldane Begg Coleman and Isabella Haldane.Other correspondents include Janet Coleman Kimbrough, Mary H.B. Coleman's daughter and Alida Wilson Davidson, the daughter of Julia Gardiner Tyler Wilson.Scrapbooks containing information on John Tyler, Tyler descendants, and the Tucker...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Corie Lynn Dorset Rivers Collection of Ludwell-Lee-Slater Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00298
Scope and Contents The family papers of Corie Lynn Dorset Rivers include over 140 separate letters and other manuscript documents handed down to Rivers by her mother, Corie Lynn Slater Dorset. This collection includes papers written by several generation of Williamsburg, Virginia residents, including Lucy Ludwell Paradise; James and Louisa Bellett Lee and family; and Virginia Lee and Parker Slater and family.Series One consists of the oldest item in this collection, a ledger or commonplace book...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

E. G. G. Letter to Lucy Burwell Page

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00505
Scope and Contents

Letter from E.G.G. to Lucy Burwell Page, [Williamsburg] giving news of the College of William and Mary and Williamsburg, Virginia.  January 16, 1827, January 27, 1827.  The President introduced new William and Mary students to the town people.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Goodrich Durfey Estate Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01063
Scope and Contents

This collection contains a ledger of accounts for the Goodrich Durfey Estate, located in Williamsburg, Virginia. The estate sold flour, corn, feed, livestock, and other supplies to the Williasmburg community. Some of the accounts listed include the Eastern State Asylum, President of William & Mary Benjamin S. Ewell, John Dix, Robert Saunders, John M. Galt, and Richard M. Bucktrout.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Mollie M. Graves Letters (Photostats)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01249
Scope and Contents

Photostatic copies (likely made circa 1965-1970) of letters written to Mollie M. Graves in Charles City Courthouse, who recently left Williamsburg, Virginia, from friends and relatives who reside in Williamsburg.  The letters are addressed in care of Robert W. Graves.

Signatures of letter writers include E.B. Bowman, Martha  and Cousin Sallie.  4 letters.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Henley Jones Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00187
Scope and Contents Contains ledgers, 1857-1901, of Henley T. Jones, Jr., of Williamsburg, Virginia. Henley Jones operated a drug store in Williamsburg, and the ledgers contain the records of his business, including the name of the patron, what the purchased, and the price, from 1873 to 1878. Includes records of Jones' business with Eastern State Hospital, then called Eastern Lunatic Asylum. There is also records of Jones' dealing with African American customers. Also includes the settlement of the estate,...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century X
  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History X
  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Ledgers (Accounting) 2
African Americans--Medical care--Virginia 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg--History 1
Campbell County (Va.)--History 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
∨ more
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 1
Commonplace books 1
Correspondence 1
Diaries 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Farms--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Merchants--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Pharmacists--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Photocopies 1
Printed ephemera 1
Scrapbooks 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
World War, 1914-1918 1
World War, 1939-1945 1
∧ less
 
Names
Begg family 1
Coleman family 1
Coleman, Mary Haldane Begg, 1875-1967 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 1
Davison, Alida Wilson 1
∨ more
Haldane, Isabella 1
Kimbrough, Janet C. (Janet Coleman) 1
Lee, James 1
Lee, Philip Ludwell 1
Ludwell Paradise, Lucy 1
Rivers, William E. 1
Slater, Virginia Helena Lee 1
Tucker 1
Wilson, James Southall 1
Wilson, Julia Gardiner Tyler, 1881-1965 1
Wilson, Woodrow, 1856-1924 1
∧ less