Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4

Blow Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B63
Scope and Contents Papers, 1770-1875, of the Blow family of "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and of the Waller family. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Philip Barraud, John Hartwell Cocke, Henry Lee and Edmund Ruffin. Most of these accessions were integrated as the collection was partially processed, but some are boxed separately. Includes a Blow family scrapbook containing many manuscript items. Collection includes: correspondence of Richard Blow (1746-1833), merchant, who had...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

G. A. Brown Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Am2
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1861-1866, of Dr. G. A. Brown which includes account book, 1865-1868, of Brown and Crawford, physicians, Strasburg, Shenandoah County, Va. The volume contains a record, 1860-1861, of shipments made by E. M. Armstrong, commission merchants.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Hirshes & Webb Ledgers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame55-57
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1840-1864, of Hirshes & Webb, Mt. Solon, Augusta County, Virginia. One volume (MsV Ame56) contains accounts and a memoranda of James F. Clarke, physician, Mt. Solon, Virginia and a poem concerning the Civil War, "The Soldier's Dream."

Note: MsV Ame57 is filed in Oversize.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William J. Pendleton Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Am11 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1857-1872, of William J. Pendleton, physician, at Cuckoo, Louisa County, Va. Also includes accounts of a merchant, farms and labor accounts, and memoranda of a school operated by the Pendleton family.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X
  • Subject: Medicine--Practice X
  • Subject: Medicine--Practice--Virginia X
  • Subject: Account books X
  • Subject: Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Ledgers (Accounting) 2
Agriculture--Virginia 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Cavalry Regiment, 13th. Company H 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Volunteers, Third Brigade 1
∨ more
Correspondence 1
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Financial records 1
Hampden-Sydney College--History--19th century 1
Indians of North America 1
Louisa County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Merchants--North Carolina--History--18th century 1
Merchants--North Carolina--History--19th century 1
Merchants--Virginia--Augusta County 1
Merchants--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Merchants--Virginia--Shenandoah County 1
Nottaway Indians 1
Physicians--Virginia--Louisa County 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Spanish-American War, 1898 1
Strasburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Tower Hill (Sussex County, Va.) 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
University of Virginia--History--19th century 1
Virginia. Militia. 15th Regiment 1
Virginia. Militia. 4th Regiment 1
∧ less
 
Names
Barraud, Philip, 1758-1830 1
Blow family 1
Cocke, John Hartwell, 1780-1866 1
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 1
Waller family 1