Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 8 of 8

Baird Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B16
Scope and Contents Collection includes papers, 1656-1848, concerning Essex County, Va. including land records and wills, many of which relate to the Rowzee family. Many of the records date from the seventeenth century. The collection also includes correspondence, 1830-1920, of members of the Baird family including letters, 1859-1911, of Edward R. Baird while attending the University of Virginia, serving in Pickett's Division and as superintendent of schools in Essex County. There are...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Wilson Miles Cary Genealogical Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad2
Scope and Contents

Notebook, circa 1900-1914, compiled by Wilson Miles Cary, concerning the Cary Family history  from the 16th century onward. Also covers related branches including the families of Fairfax, Harrison, Randolph, Langhorne, Jefferson and others. Bound Volume. Approximately 379 pages.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Morton Genealogy Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 90 M85 and 82.7
Scope and Contents Genealogy material compiled by Mr. William S. Morton and his wife, Mrs. Margaret H. Morton of Farmville, Virginia which trace the descendants of Joseph Morton of Prince Edward County, Virginia and allied families.  Includes primary source material, such as the 1830 daybook of the J. J. Dupuy Company of Charlotte Court House. Also, contains typescript of Richard Lee Morton's copy of Hugh Blair Grigsby's notes on the Robert Rose Diary  and of William Cryer's transcript of the Charles Campbell...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Morton Genealogy Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss.90.M85 Mss.82.7
Scope and Contents Genealogy material compiled by Mr. William S. Morton and his wife, Mrs. Margaret H. Morton of Farmville, Virginia which trace the descendants of Joseph Morton of Prince Edward County, Virginia and allied families.  Includes primary source material, such as the 1830 daybook of the J. J. Dupuy Company of Charlotte Court House. Also, contains typescript of Richard Lee Morton's copy of Hugh Blair Grigsby's notes on the Robert Rose Diary  and of William Cryer's transcript of the Charles Campbell...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Robertson Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01230
Scope and Contents

Letters and papers; 1730-1950, of the Robertson family. Also includes genealogical material concerning the family of William B. Robertson, Lynchburg, Va. with references to Archibald Robertson, Mary Robertson, Robert S. Robertson, and Wyndham Robertson. Also includes genealogical information on the Waller, Macon, Garland, and Meredith families.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Thomas Jefferson Stubbs Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 St9
Scope and Contents Collection includes a lot of genealogical notes and copies of wills compiled by Thomas Jefferson Stubbs but also report cards, class notes, and letters of different Stubbs family members. An oration delivered by Thomas Jefferson Stubbs, Sr. before the Phoenix Literary Society is also included as well as his application for the professorship at William & Mary. There are letters written William Carter Stubbs while a student at William & Mary,letters of John Catlett Stubbs while...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Carter Stubbs Papers (II)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 St95
Scope and Contents Collection is chiefly handwritten notebooks containing genealogical notes and notes on the history of Gloucester County, Va.; and notes on various families (especially Booth, Cooke, and Catlett). Also includes copies of the Abingdon Parish Register and the Botetourt Lodge Masonic Book, 1800-1809; and pictures of buildings and houses, mostly in Gloucester County. Added to Box 4, Folder 4:  a paper, "Louisiana's Part in the Confederate War" by two female high school students of...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Tyree Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 73 T99
Scope and Contents Tyree collection of research notes of Virginia families compiled from Virginia county records. Notebooks containing genealogical information compiled by Young Tyree. Concerns mostly Virginia counties and families, but also includes notes from Kentucky, Missouri, North Carolina, Tennessee, West Virginia, Scotland and England. Tyree took notes on looseleaf paper of land patents and arranged the pages in binders by county and by patentee in alphabetical orders. Families he was particularly...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--Genealogy X
  • Subject: Notebooks X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 3
Research notes 3
Buckingham County (Va.)--History 2
Campbell County (Va.)--History 2
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
∨ more
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 2
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 2
Cumberland County (Va.) 2
Daybooks 2
Diaries 2
Genealogy 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 2
Prince Edward County (Va.)--History 2
Typescripts 2
Virginia--History 2
Account books 1
African Americans--Medical care--Virginia 1
Albemarle County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Cigars--History 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Pickett's Division 1
Education--Virginia--Essex County--History 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--17th century 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Financial records 1
Freemasonry--Virginia 1
Genealogical tables 1
Genealogies 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Indentures 1
Legal documents 1
Lynchburg (Va.)--History 1
Papermaking 1
Photographs 1
Physicians--Virginia--Charlottesville 1
Randolph family 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Registers of births, etc.--Virginia--Abingdon Parish 1
Scrapbooks 1
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 1
Surveys (documents) 1
Tobacco industry--Massachusetts 1
University of Virginia--History 1
Yellow fever--Virginia--Norfolk 1
∧ less
 
Names
Morton family 2
Morton, Estelle 2
Morton, Margaret H. 2
Morton, Richard Lee, 1889-1974 2
Baird family 1
∨ more
Barron family 1
Booth family 1
Carey family 1
Cary family 1
Cary, Wilson Miles, 1838-1914 1
Catlett family 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
College of William and Mary. Phoenix Literary Society 1
Cook family 1
Fairfax family 1
Garland family 1
Harrison family 1
Hunter family 1
Hunter, R. M. T. (Robert Mercer Taliaferro), 1809-1887 1
Jefferson family 1
Langhorne family 1
Macon family 1
Meredith family 1
Robertson family 1
Rowzee family 1
Stubbs family 1
Stubbs, Thomas Jefferson, 1841-1915 1
Waller family 1
∧ less