Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 126 - 150 of 338

Henry Mervine Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00438
Scope and Contents

A letter from Henry Mervine, Deep Bottom, Va., to Lizzie Mervine, discusses his participation in the Civil War as a Yankee soldier. He describes the fighting around Petersburg. It is quiet on the war front. He tells her the African American troops are relieving white Northern troops and there is friendliness at the picket lines.

Dates: 1864 August 27

Henry T. Douglas Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00355
Scope and Contents

A letter from Henry T. Douglas to Donald W. Davis, American Legion of Williamsburg, Virginia, describes his military experience in the Civil War as an engineer, particularly in Yorktown, Williamsburg, and other parts of Virginia.

Dates: 1938 November 2

Henry W. Smart Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00285
Scope and Contents Letter from Henry W. Smart, Richmond, Va., to "Sister," no place. He expresses fear at the approach of the oncoming "Yankees". He writes that Jefferson Davis is determined to defend Richmond to the "last extremity" and comments on the sinking of the Merrimac. He mentions Stonewall Jackson's victory at Winchester, Va., and his opinions of various generals, including "Old P.G.T. Beauregard, who is "too fond of retreating and not fighting". Smart feels that the military tactics used in...
Dates: 1862 May 26

M.L. Higgins Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00674
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1862, of M.L. Higgins of Connecticut. She was born on 11 March 1813 and her occupation seems to include teaching women how to make bouquets and wreathes out of hair. Entries relate to her daily activities, which primarily concern her daughter Alice and Alice's husband Frederick. Also includes stories about injured and dead soldiers coming back from the Civil War.

Dates: 1862

D. H. Hill Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01072
Scope and Contents

Letters written by D. H. Hill of the 46th North Carolina Infantry Regiment to an unidentified addressee and to Nancy C[aroline?] Nance expressing affection and describing the Battle of Bristoe Station.

Dates: 1863 September-October

Daniel Harvey Hill Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01064
Scope and Contents

Letters, 28 May 1861 and 15 April and 11 May 1862, written by Daniel Harvey Hill to his wife Isabella (Morrison) Hill, describing preparations for battle at Yorktown, Va. and building fortifications over Lord Cornwallis' earthworks; the Peninsular Campaign; morale of his soldiers; and his children. Includes a printed circular, 19 April 1865, to Hill, urging soldiers not to desert during truce negotiations.

Dates: 1861-1865

Hirshes & Webb Ledgers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame55-57
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1840-1864, of Hirshes & Webb, Mt. Solon, Augusta County, Virginia. One volume (MsV Ame56) contains accounts and a memoranda of James F. Clarke, physician, Mt. Solon, Virginia and a poem concerning the Civil War, "The Soldier's Dream."

Note: MsV Ame57 is filed in Oversize.

Dates: 1840-1864

Lewis Hobbs Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01053
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1864-1865, of Lewis Hobbs, a member of the 11th Maine Regiment during the Civil War, written to his sister, Sarah F. Hobbs. The letters are written when Hobbs' unit is near Richmond, Virginia, including during the Bermuda Hundred Campaign. Topics include battles and skirmishes, injuries to soliders, and Hobbs' opinion of African-Americans. December 29, 1864 letter written on printed and colored leaflet with song "The Army and Navy for ever."

Dates: 1864-1865

Hodgson-Estes Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 H66
Scope and Contents Papers, 1805-1874, of the Hodgson family of Columbia (Fluvanna County), Va.; Buckingham County, Va.; and Goochland County, Va. Includes correspondence, accounts and legal documents of Joseph Hodgson, William B. Hodgson, Jr. and Hodgson & Estes, Columbia, Va. There are nineteen manuscript volumes, mostly account books of Joseph Hodgson (trading as Hodgson & Ellis and Hodgson & Son), but also including a letterbook, 1850-1852 and 1860-1863, of Hodgson. Includes memorandum, 1856, of...
Dates: 1805-1874

James Barron Hope Papers (I)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 H77
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1847-1887, of James Barron Hope. Correspondence includes letters to his mother Jane A. Barron Hope while on a naval cruise to the Caribbean and letters to his wife, Annie Beverley Whiting Hope written during the Civil War. There are letters between Jane A. Barron Hope and her friend, Caroline Matilda Campbell. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Jubal A. Early, Benjamin S. Ewell, Hugh Blair Grigsby, Fitzhugh Lee, W. H. F. Lee, Thomas Nelson Page, John Tyler and...
Dates: 1790-1965; Majority of material found within 1847-1887

James Barron Hope Papers (II)

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 93 H77
Scope and Contents Correspondence and literary works, chiefly 1861-1874, of James Barron Hope (1829-1887), soldier, author (poet, orator, and novelist), and newspaper editor, of Norfolk and Williamsburg, Virginia. The papers deal mainly with his 1849 duel with Jonathan Pembroke Jones; his West Indies naval cruise (1851-1852); his Confederate military service (1861-1865); and the aborted 1874 William Mahone-Bradley Johnson duel, in which Hope was Mahone's second. The majority of correspondence with his family...
Dates: 1820-1923

Horatio S. Carnrite Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01714
Content Description

The civil war diary of Horatio S. Carnrite, who enlisted in the 184th New York Infantry regiment. This collection contains the 134 page diary along with a 56 page handwritten transcription. There are a few mentions of a Black cavalry regiment and also of a raid into Confederate territory by Union soldiers led by a Black woman.

Content warning: contains language that is derogatory towards enslaved people, as well as towards people of color.

Dates: 1864 August 29-1865 May 23

Houstater Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00246
Scope and Contents Papers of the Houstater Family, primarily of Henry Houstater (1837-1862) and Harriet (Hattie) Houstater (1842-1931) of New York State. The collection was held by Harriet Houstater. After her death, her sister Sarah Houstater owned it.The collection includes the papers of Henry F. Houstater, a Democrat who enlisted in the Union Army in 1861. It also contains the papers of several Houstater family members. Henry F. Houstater's papers (1840s-1862) include political speeches and...
Dates: 1842-1941

Ned Hoxie Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00531
Scope and Contents Letters 18 March and 17-30 May 1862, written by Ned Hoxie, Camp Brightwood, Washington, D.C. and Baltimore, [Va.] while serving in a Massachusetts Infantry Regiment during the American Civil War. The letters are to his parents, Mr. and Mrs. B. B. Hoxie, Northampton, Massachusetts and concern the fighting in Virginia, the occupation of a Tyler family home, and also mention picking up weapons from the Battle of Williamsburg. The letterhead is stamped with "The Shield of Liberty, 1776-1861" on...
Dates: 1862 March 18, May 17

Robert William Hughes Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 H87
Scope and Contents Papers, mainly 1865-1900, of Robert William Hughes (1821-1901), journalist, Republican politician, and United States District Judge, of Abingdon and Norfolk, Va. Included are family momentoes relating to Hughes' foster father, General Edward C. Carrington (1790-1855), and to Mrs. Hughes' father and brother, Charles C. (1795-1832) and John Preston Johnston (1821?-l847), articles written by Hughes on Virginia politics, newspapers, and horses, a few letters to Mrs. Hughes, and a scrapbook...
Dates: 1818-1900

John Dickinson Ingraham Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00708
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1849-1862, of John Dickinson Ingraham, a member of the United States Navy during the Civil War on the ship Narragansett. Includes information about Ingraham's experience on ships both before and during the Civil War. There are also drawings of animals in another hand at the end of the volume. There are also two letters, one written to Ingraham's father and one written to Ingraham's wife.

Dates: 1849-1862

J. F. Carson Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00317
Scope and Contents

Letter from J. F. Carson, Camp, 1st NC Cavalry, near Bellfield, Va. to [?]. He reports that he is well, tired of war, and that some "rowdy boys" tried to relieve the guard but Maj. McCloud came down and quieted them. He tells of the men's reaction to reports of peace. He hopes to hear soon that the Confederacy is "free and independent". Capt. White of Warren was the successful Knight at the "grand tournament".

Dates: 1865 February 4

J. Floyd King Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00291
Scope and Contents

Letter from J. Floyd King, Major and Chief of Artillery Corps. Army W. Va., to Capt. Myers, no place. He reports on the Artillery Corps in the battle of Fayetteville and on the march to and the battle at Charleston, W. Va.

Dates: 1862 September 18

J. Ross Medical Certificate for Detail

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00413
Scope and Contents

The certificate declares Private J. Ross [?], Co. R, 1st Eng. Corps Regiment, unfit for field service for three months and to report as a local guard in the Quartermaster Department instead. The form originates from General Hospital No. 11, Charlotte, N.C.

Dates: 1864 October 14

Jacob Bumgarner Disability Discharge Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00407
Scope and Contents

The discharge letter for Jacob Bumgarner excuses him from duty in Captain Bradley's company, 2nd Regiment of the 7th Brigade of V.M. The document is signed by Caspar C. Hurkel, Surgeon.

Dates: 1861 July 12

James A. Walker's Farewell Address

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00426
Scope and Contents

Brig. Gen. James A. Walker wrote this farewell address to the 13th Virginia Regiment of Infantry upon taking command of the old "Stonewall Brigade." His letter is written in the back of a notebook containing notes on law taken by an unknown person.

Dates: 1863 May 20

James Calhoun Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00338
Scope and Contents

A letter from James Calhoun, Williamsburg, to his wife and children describes the Battle of Williamsburg. Calhoun is a member of the 61st Pennsylvania Infantry. The text is written on "Confederate States of America" letterhead. A typescript is included.

Dates: 1862 May 8

James River and Kanawha Company Records

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00628
Scope and Contents

The collection relates to the James River Canal and Kanawha Company, which officially gained a charter in 1835. Included are a list of subscriptions sold to private individuals, a letter to the auditors office discussing current and previous subscriptions, a letter from a prospective surveyor and a list of tollage rates along the canal. Individuals mentioned are John Hartwell Cocke, and his son John Hartwell Cocke Jr.

Dates: 1834-1868

James Sanks Brisbin Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00323
Scope and Contents

Letter from General James (Jim) Sanks Brisbin while near Williamsburg to his wife. He describes camp life on the march from the Peninsula including the rivalry between the regulars and the volunteers, the building of a pontoon bridge across the Chickahominy River and the severe disciplining of his cook. He's in charge of the supply train which includes the baggage for Gen. George B. McClellan. Typescript included.

Dates: 1862 August 18

James Spencer vs. James Bobbitt Statement

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00419
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of the sworn statement from James Spencer concerning his whereabouts after the Battle of Cross Lanes.

Dates: 1862 July 16

Filtered By

  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X
  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X
  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 279
Correspondence 101
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 41
Financial records 35
Diaries 32
∨ more
Legal documents 28
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 27
Photographs 26
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 23
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives--Union. 21
Account books 19
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Diaries 17
Receipts (financial records) 16
Williamsburg, Battle of, Williamsburg, Va., 1862 16
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives 15
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 13
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 13
Letters (correspondence) 12
Typescripts 12
Poems 11
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 11
Richmond (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 11
Scrapbooks 11
United States-- History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Veterans 11
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives, Confederate. 10
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 10
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 9
Manuscripts (document genre) 9
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--African Americans 9
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Hospitals 9
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Prisoners and prisons 9
American Civil War, 1861-1865 8
Genealogy 8
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877)--Virginia 8
Reports 8
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 8
United States--History--War of 1812 8
United States--Politics and Government 8
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865. 8
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 8
Gettysburg, Battle of, Gettysburg, Pa., 1863 7
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 7
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 7
United States--Slavery 7
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 6
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 31st 6
Fredericksburg (Va.), Battle of, 1862 6
Maps 6
Military discharges--1860-1870. 6
North Carolina--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 6
Orders (military records) 6
Publications 6
Speeches 6
Transcripts 6
Virginia--Maps 6
West Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865. 6
Agendas (administrative records) 5
American poetry--19th century 5
Bull Run, 1st Battle of, Va., 1861 5
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 5
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 5
Notebooks 5
Siege of Petersburg, Va. (Richmond-Petersburg Campaign), 1864-1865 5
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 5
Virginia--History--19th century 5
Bull Run, 2nd Battle of, Va.,1862 4
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 14th 4
Courts-martial and courts of inquiry--United States 4
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Fort Monroe (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
Georgia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
Goochland County (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Military records 4
Newspapers 4
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Pamphlets 4
Photostats 4
Portsmouth (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Slavery--Southern States--History 4
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives. 4
United States. Navy--History--Civil War 4
Virginia--Genealogy 4
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 4
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 4
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 4
Wren Building (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 3
Agriculture--Virginia--History 3
Antietam, Battle of, Md., 1862 3
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Certificates 3
Chancellorsville (Va.), Battle of, 1863 3
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 3
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 13th 3
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 1st. 3
Cotton trade--Southern States--History--19th century 3
Daybooks 3
Diplomas 3
+ ∧ less
 
Language
French 4
German 2
Italian 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 10
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 7
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 5
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 5
McCausland, John 5
∨ more
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 4
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 4
Johnston, Joseph Eggleston, 1807-1891 4
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 4
Tyler Family 4
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 3
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 3
Coalter family 3
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 3
Coleman family 3
Davis, Jefferson, 1808-1889 3
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 3
Hill, D. H. (Daniel Harvey), 1821-1889 3
Hope, James Barron, 1829-1887 3
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 3
Jenkins, Albert Gallatin 3
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 3
Taliaferro family 3
Tucker 3
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 3
Washington family 3
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Wise, Henry A. (Henry Alexander), 1806-1876 3
Beauregard, Pierre Gustave Toutant, 1818-1893 2
Braxton family 2
Brown family 2
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 2
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 2
Confederate States of America. Army. 2
Democratic Party (U.S.) 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 2
Fitzhugh family 2
Fitzhugh, H. 2
Floyd, John Buchanan, 1806-1863 2
Gilmer, Thomas Walker 2
Harrison family 2
Hughes family 2
Hughes, Robert William 2
Humboldt, Alexander von, 1769-1859 2
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 2
Johnson, Bradley T., b. 1829 2
Lee family 2
Letcher, John, 1813-1884 2
Loring, William Wing 2
Mason, J. M. (James Murray), 1798-1871 2
Powell, Charles Leven (1804-1896) 2
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 2
Robertson Hospital (Richmond, Va.) 2
Robinson, John M. (John Moncure), 1835-1893 2
Rogers, Powell Burwell, 1909-1976 2
Taliaferro family. 2
Tompkins, Sally Louisa, 1833-1916 2
Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 2
Tucker, Nathaniel Beverley, 1820-1890 2
Tucker-Coleman Family 2
Tyler family 2
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 2
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 2
Tyler, Robert, 1816-1878 2
United States Senate 2
University of Virginia 2
Virginia House of Delegates 2
Whig Party (U.S.) 2
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 2
Adams, J. M. 1
Adee, Etta 1
Albree, John 1
Alfriend, Frank H., 1841-1887 1
Alfriend, Frank Heath 1
Allen, James H. 1
Allison White and Company 1
Allkind, John O. 1
Anderson Gallery 1
Anthony, Charles Lewis 1
Archer, William Segar, 1789-1855 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities--History. 1
Atlanta (Ironclad) 1
Aubin, Joshua Harris 1
Austin family 1
Austin, Archibald, 1772-1837 1
Ballantine, Elisha (Rev.) 1
Ballentine family 1
Barker Family 1
Barker family 1
Barker, John H 1
Barker, John H. 1
Barksdale, Claiborne G 1
Barron, James, 1769-1851 1
Battaile family 1
Baytop family 1
Baytop, Lucy Taliaferro Catlett 1
Bedford County (Va.). Sheriff 1
Beeckman, Margaret Gardiner, d. 1857 1
+ ∧ less