Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 26 - 39 of 39

Rufus S. Read Civil War Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00735
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1861-1864 of Rufus S. Read (b. 1840) a Union soldier of Pennsylvania. He mustered into Company "K", Pennsylvania 31st Infantry on 5/27/1861 as a musician, and into 2nd Company, U.S. Light Artillery in 1862. For a preliminary description, provided by the seller, see finding aid link below.

Dates: 1861-1864

Ritchie-Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R51
Scope and Contents Papers, 1807-1938, but mainly 1830-1870, of the Ritchie and Harrison families. Includes letters, documents and a diary of members of the family of Thomas Ritchie, his wife Isabella (Foushee) Ritchie and ten of their twelve children of Richmond, Va., "Brandon," Prince George County, Va. and Washington, D.C. There are letters, 1847-1848, of Dr. Robert Ruffin Ritchie in Mexico and letters, 1849-1860, of George Ritchie while serving in the United States Navy. Many prominent...
Dates: 1807-1938; Majority of material found in 1830-1870

Robert C. Towles Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D28
Scope and Contents Collection consists of a typescript of the diary of Sgt. Robert C. Towles, Company A, 4th Virginia Cavalry, Confederate Army, from August 5, 1863-June 20, 1864. It was kept while Towles was a prisoner of the Union Army in Warrenton, Virginia and Washington, D.C. The diary also details his escape from Carroll Prision, an annex to the Old Capitol Prison, in Washington D.C.The collection also includes a typed copy of his furlough, dated November 14, 1863, which was signed by...
Dates: 1863-1864

S. Agnes Kummer Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00938
Scope and Contents Diary of S. Agnes Kummer of Baltimore, Maryland. In addition to her life in Baltimore where S. Agnes Kummer taught school, she documents her travels within the United States, as well as to England and France. Entries are written in English for the most part with some expressions and sentences in French.The diary begins in France on an overseas trip in March 1863 and concludes with her description of a 1866 summer trip through the American Northeast into Canada.She...
Dates: 1863-1866

Scrapbook (Harpers Ferry, West Virginia)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00656
Scope and Contents Diary, 1860, of an unidentified person from what was then Harpers Ferry, Virginia, and is now Harpers Ferry, West Virginia. Includes a handwritten timeline of the life of Stephen A. Douglas, newsclippings dealing with slavery, the Kansas Territory, and the separation of Virginia and West Virginia, articles with handwritten comments about Charleston, South Carolina, and clippings with handwritten comments about the election of Abraham Lincoln and how his election will affect the United...
Dates: 1860

Robert Skipwith Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Sk4
Scope and Contents Diaries, 1834-1898, of Robert Skipwith kept in Goochland County, Va., Richmond, Va. and Powhatan County, Va. Much of Skipwith's life is documented by these 14 diaries and topics include weather, personal affairs (the loss of his wife, and his aging), farming, social life in his neighborhood, the Civil War, Reconstruction, and Virginia politics. He often included genealogical information on individuals when he recorded their deaths. Skipwith's 1862-1865 diary has been digitized...
Dates: 1834-1898

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates: 1811-1954

Tucker-Coleman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 40 T79
Scope and Contents Papers, primarily 1770-1907, of the Tucker and Coleman families of Williamsburg, Winchester, Lexington, Staunton and Richmond, including papers of: St. George Tucker (1752-1827), Nathaniel Beverley Tucker (1784-1851), Henry St. George Tucker (1780-1848), Ann Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter (1779-1813), John Coalter (1769-1838), and John Randolph of Roanoke (commonplace book is in box 64B), as well as other family members. Members of the family were involved in law, politics,...
Dates: 1664-1945; Majority of material found in 1770-1907

Tyler Family Papers, Group A

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group A
Scope and Contents Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...
Dates: 1716-1946

Tyler Family Papers, Group G

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group G
Scope and Contents Papers, 1645-1917, of the Gardiner family, the Gilmer family, the family of St. George Tucker (1828-1863) and miscellaneous other people unrelated to the Tylers, Tuckers, Gilmers, or Gardiners. Boxes I-III contain papers (many are typescript copies) of the Gardiner family of New York. Include letters of Juliana McLachlan Gardiner, her sons David Lyon Gardiner, Alexander Gardiner and daughter Margaret Gardiner Beeckman. Boxes IV-V contain papers, 1814-1842, of the...
Dates: 1645-1917

F. N. Walker Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D23
Scope and Contents

Diary of F. N. Walker, Captain in the 3rd South Carolina Volunteers, in which he discusses what he is reading, news he hears of battles, and marching from Manassas, Virginia, (including a visit to the battlefield of First Bull Run) to the vicinity of Yorktown and Williamsburg, Virginia (mentioning the statue of Lord Botetourt, College of William and Mary, and Eastern State Hospital).

Dates: 1862 January 21-June 8

Robert Page Waller Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad209-223
Scope and Contents Diaries, 1858-1872, of Dr. Robert Page Waller of Williamsburg, Va. Although Waller was a medical doctor, these diaries do not relate to the practice of medicine. During the period from October 1862 to July 1865, Waller lived in Lynchburg, Va. The diaries concern farming, his ill-health, family, the Civil War and Reconstruction. Note:  The diaries were numbered by Waller and some volumes are not present. Msv Ad209   Vol. 1:  August 16, 1858 to October 7, 1858...
Dates: 1858-1872

Whittle-Greene Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 W61
Scope and Contents

Papers of Cloe Tyler Whittle Greene. Mostly diaries, 1855-1924, before and after her marriage to John Newport Greene. Also includes printed cards, photographs, verse, newspapers, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, and prints of colonial and Civil War figures. Topics covered by the diaries include secession, Civil War, Reconstruction, travel, life in Norfolk, Virginia and marriage.

Dates: 1855-1995, undated

Asa John Wyatt Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D22
Scope and Contents

Civil War diary of a soldier of the Army of Northern Virginia, 21st Virginia Infantry Regiment, Company I. The content spans June 19, 1861 through July 29, 1862, the latter as part of Jackson's Valley Campaign. The diary includes information concerning the Battle of Kernstown, although Wyatt was not a participant. A typescript is included.

Dates: 1861-1862

Filtered By

  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X
  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X
  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X
  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X
  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X
  • Subject: Diaries X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Diaries 32
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 28
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Diaries 17
Correspondence 14
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 12
∨ more
Financial records 9
Photographs 8
Legal documents 7
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 7
Receipts (financial records) 6
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 5
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 5
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 5
Account books 4
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 4
Scrapbooks 4
Typescripts 4
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives 4
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 4
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 3
Fredericksburg (Va.), Battle of, 1862 3
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Maps 3
Poems 3
Richmond (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Transcripts 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--African Americans 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Prisoners and prisons 3
United States--History--War of 1812 3
United States. Navy--History--Civil War 3
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 3
Virginia--Politics and Government 3
Agendas (administrative records) 2
American diaries--Women authors 2
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Genealogy 2
Georgia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Letter books 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
North Carolina--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Orders (military records) 2
Reports 2
Slavery--Virginia--History 2
Soldiers--United States--Diaries. 2
Speeches 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Maps 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Songs and music 2
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 2
United States--Politics and Government 2
United States--Religious History--Christianity 2
United States--Slavery 2
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 2
Virginia--Maps 2
Watercolors (drawings) 2
Williamsburg, Battle of, Williamsburg, Va., 1862 2
Women--Diaries 2
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 2
Afghan War, 2001-2021 1
Afghanistan 1
African Americans--History--19th century 1
African Americans--Virginia--James City County 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History 1
American Civil War, 1861-1865 1
American Revolution--Veterans 1
American newspapers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
American poetry--19th century 1
Antietam, Battle of, Md., 1862 1
Architecture, Domestic--Virginia 1
Athletics--Field Hockey 1
Atlanta Campaign, 1864 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Blackwater, Battle of, 1863 1
Bounties, Military--United States 1
Buildings and Grounds--Sculptures--Statue of Lord Botetourt 1
Bull Run, 1st Battle of, Va., 1861 1
Bull Run, 2nd Battle of, Va.,1862 1
Camp Allen (Jamestown Island, Va.) 1
Campaigns 1
Canal Zone 1
Chancellorsville (Va.), Battle of, 1863 1
Charleston (S.C.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Chicago (Ill.)--Social life and customs 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 1
Columbia (Ga.)--History--19th century 1
Commonplace books 1
Compromise of 1850 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Engineer's Corps 1
Confederate States of America. Army. South Carolina Infantry Regiment, 30th 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Cavalry Regiment, 4th 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 13th 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 14th 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 21st--History 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 55th 1
Connecticut--History--19th century 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
French 1
German 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 4
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 3
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 2
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 2
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 2
∨ more
Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 2
Tyler Family 2
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 2
Archer, William Segar, 1789-1855 1
Aubin, Joshua Harris 1
Beauregard, Pierre Gustave Toutant, 1818-1893 1
Beeckman, Margaret Gardiner, d. 1857 1
Blankenship family 1
Booth family 1
Bragg, Braxton, 1817-1876 1
Brown family 1
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 1
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 1
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 1
Bryan, Elizabeth Tucker Coalter, b. 1805 1
Bryan, John Randolph, 1806-1887 1
Campbell family 1
Campbell, Susan, Mrs. 1
Campbell, William, 1755-1823 1
Casaday, Ella 1
Coalter family 1
Coalter, Judith H. Tomlin, d. 1859 1
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 1
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 1
Coleman family 1
Coleman, Emma Cornelia Parran 1
Coleman, Reuben Lindsay 1
Copland, Charles 1
Coulter family 1
Dimmock, Charles H. (Charles Henry), 1831-1873 1
Dimmock, Charles Henry, 1831-1873 1
Dimmock, Charles, d. 1863 1
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 1
Ellis, Pearl Tyler, 1860-1947 1
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 1
Galucia, Warren B., 1834-1902 1
Gantt, Thomas T. (Thomas Tasker), 1814-1889 1
Gardiner Family 1
Gardiner, Alexander, d. 1850 1
Gardiner, David Lyon 1
Gardiner, Juliana McLachlan, d. 1864 1
Gilmer Family 1
Gilmer, Anne Baker 1
Gilmer, Thomas Walker 1
Glennan, Edward Keville 1
Golden family 1
Gorgas, Josiah, 1818-1883 1
Graves family 1
Greene family 1
Greene, Cloe Tyler Whittle, 1843-1925 1
Greene, John Newport, 1842-1902 1
Haile, Robert Gaines, 1832-1862 1
Hampton, Wade, 1818-1902 1
Harrison family 1
Higgins, M.L. 1
Hill, A. P. (A. Powell) 1
Hill, D. H. (Daniel Harvey), 1821-1889 1
Hoge, Moses Drury, 1818-1899 1
Ingraham, John Dickinson 1
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 1
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 1
John, L. Little 1
Johnston, George Ben, 1853-1916 1
Johnston, Joseph Eggleston, 1807-1891 1
Kummer, S. Agnes 1
Lamb, Sarah Anne Chaffee, 1837-1892 1
Lamb, William, 1838-1909 1
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 1
Letcher, John, 1813-1884 1
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 1
Longstreet, James, 1821-1904 1
Longwood University 1
Magurk, M. E. 1
Mason, J. M. (James Murray), 1798-1871 1
Maury family 1
Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 1
McLeod-Tyler Family 1
Memphis Medical College, Memphis, Tenn 1
Millington family 1
Millington, John, 1779-1868 1
Munford, William, 1775-1825 1
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 1
Parran, William S., d. 1862 1
Pendleton, William Nelson, 1809-1883 1
Peticolas, C. L. Southern Cross 1
Pleasants, John Hampden, 1797-1846 1
Randolph, Judith Randolph, fl. 1792-1813 1
Ritchie family 1
Ritchie family. 1
Ritchie, Anna Cora Ogden Mowatt, 1819-1870 1
Ritchie, Thomas, 1778-1854 1
Rives, William C. (William Cabell), 1793-1868 1
Scandrett, Henry Alexander, 1843- 1883 1
Semple, James 1
Semple, Letitia Tyler, 1821-1907 1
+ ∧ less