Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 6 of 6

Charles Campbell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C17
Scope and Contents The Charles Campbell papers consist of papers received or collected by Charles Campbell (1807-1876), Virginia historian. The papers fall into four general headings: historical papers collected by Charles Campbell, correspondence, manuscript volumes, and miscellaneous. These include personal and professional correspondence as well as eighteenth century documents collected by Charles Campbell, newspaper clippings, diaries, scrapbooks, and notebooks, covering then period 1743-1896. The papers...

Julia Seldon Grandy Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 G76
Scope and Contents

Includes manuscripts of poetry written by Julia Selden Grandy who lived in Norfolk, Va. and Baltimore, Md. as well as short stories by Grandy; translations by Grandy of French poetry written by Stephen Mallarme (1842-1898); diaries kept while in school in New York and on trips to Paris and London; published books by Grandy; and scrapbooks.  Includes a biography, poem and her obituary.

Lee Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01 and Mss. Acc. 1995.27
Scope and Contents Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01, Series 1 - 4: Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Lee graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children.  An album has photos of a May Pole in front of the Williamsburg Court House on Duke of Gloucester St. The papers include material for some of his children, particulary Elizabeth Mallory Lee (Mrs. John Walston Henderson), Peticolas Lee (Mrs. Robert Edward Lee), Mary King Lee, and Edward M. Lee. ...

McLeod-Tyler Family Papers, 1930-1970 and undated

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.120, Acc. 2013.070
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1930-1970 and undated, from members of the McLeod-Tyler family. Included in the collection are diaries and scrapbooks of Lieutenant John G. Tyler II during World War II, a typed transcript of a Civil War Memoir of Edward Keville Glennan; a commemorative collection of 20 battle pictures, entitled "Advance in the Pacific, New Guinea to the Philipines"; and two high school poetry anthologies, 1969-1970 to which J. Goodenow Tyler III contributed.

C. W. Murdaugh Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.387
Scope and Contents

Papers, ca. 1853-1878 of Portsmouth, Virginia attorney, judge and politician C.W. Murdaugh, consisting of 3 volumes of law notes, notes on politics and history, transcribed stories, poemd and anecdotes, etc. and clippings from papers and magazines, some of which are annotated.

The volumes had at some point been numbered 8, 19 and 83 which indicates that they were once part of a larger collection.

Robb-Bernard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R54
Scope and Contents Papers, 1800-1901, of and relating to John Hipkins and John Hipkins Bernard (mostly accounts); of and relating to members of the Hipkins, Bernard and Robb families; and relating to the Hipkins-Bernard-Robb home "Rose Hill," Caroline County, Va. (later renamed "Gay Mont") and to Bernard's lands in Alabama, Texas and Arkansas. Includes diaries, correspondence, poems, accounts and account books of women (Elizabeth Hipkins, Jane Gay Robertson Bernard, and Helen Struan Bernard Robb); and legal...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Poems X
  • Subject: Scrapbooks X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Diaries 4
Correspondence 3
Account books 2
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
∨ more
Photographs 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 2
Women--History--Virginia 2
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 2
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Alabama--History--19th century 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
American diaries--Women authors 1
American literature--20th century 1
American poetry--20th century 1
Baltimore (Md.)--History--20th century 1
Battleships--United States--History 1
Broadsides 1
Canada--Description and travel 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Catalogs 1
Certificates 1
Chandler Court (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Chemical warfare--United States--History--20th century. 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
College of William and Mary--History 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
Diplomas 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Education--Study and teaching 1
Education--Virginia--History 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 1
England--Description and travel--20th century 1
Financial records 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
France--Description and travel--20th century 1
Genealogy 1
Germany--History--Allied occupation, 1945- 1
Lawyers--Virginia--19th century 1
Lawyers--Virginia--Portsmouth 1
Legal documents 1
Maine--Description and travel 1
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Mental illness--Treatment--History 1
Mental illness--Treatment--United States 1
Mental illness--United States 1
Mentally ill--Care 1
Newspapers 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Notebooks 1
Pamphlets 1
Pen drawing--19th century. 1
Petersburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Philippines--History 1
Poets, American--20th century 1
Portsmouth (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Publications 1
Railroads--Virginia--History 1
Reports 1
Research notes 1
Slaves--Virginia--Correspondence 1
Slaves--Virginia--Social conditions 1
Textbooks 1
Typescripts 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives 1
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 1
United States--Slavery 1
United States--Women--History 1
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 1
Virginia--Maps 1
Virginia--Politics and Government 1
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 1
Women college students 1
Women--Education--Virginia 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
World War, 1939-1945 1
World War, 1939-1945--European Front 1
World War, 1939-1945--Japan 1
World War, 1939-1945--Japan--Pictorial works 1
World War, 1939-1945--United States--Personal narratives 1
Yearbooks 1
∧ less
 
Language
Dutch; Flemish 1
French 1
 
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
American Chemical Society 1
American Red Cross 1
Anderson Seminary 1
Bernard Family 1