Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 19 of 19

Alexander Donaldson Letter to John Carter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00748
Scope and Contents

Letter, 10 December 1784, from merchant Alexander Donaldson of London, England, to merchant John Carter of Williamsburg, Virginia, regarding the payment of a late bill.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

B. Davenport & Co. Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame20
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1841-1861, of B. Davenport & Co., merchants, of Williamsburg, Va. which includes accounts, 1860, with the College of William and Mary and which was used as a scrapbook, 1892-1905, for newspaper clippings of poems and articles; Christmas cards; valentines; advertisements; cigarette cards; and seed catalog covers.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Benjamin Waller Letter to Walter King

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00590
Scope and Contents Letter from Benjamin Waller, Williamsburgh [Virginia] to Walter King, Merchant in Bristol, about a legal case Waller is handling for King. Mentions that the courts can't meet "because the Governor was not in the Countrey" but "since I am under so many Seals certified by the Governor to be Clerk of the General Court...if you give them copies...will not put you and themselves to the great expence of new records..." Mentions King's judgement against Hunter, creditors of James Bray obtained a...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Bozarth and Warburton Journal

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Alu5
Scope and Contents

Journal of Bozarth and Warburton, merchants and lumbermen, Williamsburg, Va., 1907-1910, including the accounts of Bozarth and Savage, 1909.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Bozarth and Warburton Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Alu4 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1898-1908, of Bozarth and Warburton, merchants and lumbermen of Williamsburg, Va. which includes the accounts of a potato brokerage (a business of William A. Bozarth and [?] Savage); and a lumber account, 1901, with the College of William and Mary).

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Bozarth Brothers Account Book, 1905-1908

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Alu2
Scope and Contents

Invoice book, 1905-1908, of Bozarth Brothers, hardware merchants and lumbermen, Williamsburg, Va. including inventories of stock and orders for lumber.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Bozarth Brothers Journal

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame7
Scope and Contents

Journal, 1912-1913, of Bozarth Brothers, merchants, of Williamsburg, Va.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Bozarth Brothers Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame8
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1913-1916, of Bozarth Brothers, merchants, of Williamsburg, Va., including accounts with the College of William and Mary and with Eastern State Hospital.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John N. Bozarth Account Books

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1989.45-
Scope and Contents

Nine account books of John Bozarth, 1925-1932.

December 5, 1930 to November 11, 1931:  Includes Hartford Fire Insurance policy for Mary C. Taylor and Lois S. Nixon, Indemnity Insurance policy for John N. Bozarth and banking information.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Richard Manning Bucktrout Daybook and Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1997.15
Scope and Contents The following description is from the preface to the digital version of the book and was written by Terry Meyers. Daybook; 1850-1866; of Richard M. Bucktrout, merchant and mortician at Williamsburg, Va. Richard Manning Bucktrout's meticulous entries in his Daybook and Ledger form a diary, a detailed account of daily life and death in a small, but historically important, Virginia town for sixteen years before, during, and briefly after the Civil War....
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Cabaniss Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C11
Scope and Contents Correspondence and financial papers of George Cabaniss, Dr. John Cabaniss, and James Cabaniss. They were the children of George and Sarah Jennings Cabaniss of Amelia County, Virginia. James Cabaniss lived in Williamsburg, Virginia and was the Clerk of Court for James City County, Virginia in 1831. He also was a merchant in Richmond until 1831. Dr. John Cabaniss was a medical doctor who practiced in Dinwiddie County, Virginia. George Cabaniss lived in Rutherford County, North Carolina. Many...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Carter Braxton Letter to Wadsworth & Carter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00477
Scope and Contents

Letter, 1782 March 8, from Carter Braxton to Messrs. Wadsworth & Carter, Williamsburg, Va. Reports that he is sending corn.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Charles Edward Gary, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00017
Scope and Contents These papers contain correspondence, photographs, business papers, artifacts, certificates, and other materials related to Charles Edward Gary, Jr. Mr. Gary was a prominent African American business owner in Williamsburg, operating for decades the West End Valet Shop off Prince George Street. The collection comprises business ledgers and other West End Valet Shop records over several years, as well as legal documents pertaining to the Valet Shop and Gary family estates such as leases and...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Eastern Lunatic Asylum Ledgers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.244
Scope and Contents 12 Ledgers from the Eastern Lunatic Asylum in Williamsburg, Virginia recording purchases of food items, kitchen items, tools, clothing and other items for the hospital. Classified Receipts: August 31, 1892 to February 28, 1899. Ledger book listing 3 months of daily receipts on each page, 9 pages of items per quarter ranging from bacon to furniture sets. Consolidated Morning Report Book: March 1, 1876 to May 7, 1877. Daily record of the...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Henley Jones Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00187
Scope and Contents Contains ledgers, 1857-1901, of Henley T. Jones, Jr., of Williamsburg, Virginia. Henley Jones operated a drug store in Williamsburg, and the ledgers contain the records of his business, including the name of the patron, what the purchased, and the price, from 1873 to 1878. Includes records of Jones' business with Eastern State Hospital, then called Eastern Lunatic Asylum. There is also records of Jones' dealing with African American customers. Also includes the settlement of the estate,...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Sheldon Business Papers and Accounts

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Sh4
Scope and Contents Papers, 1826-1857, (including accounts and memorandum books) of various mercantile firms with which Jacob D. Sheldon was associated in Williamsburg, Virginia, such as Jacob Sheldon & Co.; Cole & Sheldon; Sheldon & Maupin; Peachy & Sheldon; Thomas G. Peachy & Co.; and W. W. Webb & Co. Also includes papers of Jacob C. Sheldon and of Roscow Cole. The collection includes accounts with professors and students and staff at William & Mary; with Eastern State Hospital;...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

T. F. Rogers Daily Charge Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame C1
Scope and Contents

Daily charge book, 1923-1925, of T. F. Rogers, clothing store merchant, of Williamsburg, Va.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Vest and Hansford Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame120 Oversize
Scope and Contents

A business ledger kept from 1859-1861 by William W. Vest and Richard Hansford, merchants operating in Williamsburg, Virginia. Entries show Vest and Hansford's business dealings with the College of William & Mary and the Public Hospital.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Williamsburg (Va.) Merchant's Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame20u Oversize
Scope and Contents

An account book of an unknown merchant in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Merchants--Virginia--Williamsburg X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Account books 10
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 7
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 6
Ledgers (Accounting) 5
Merchants--Virginia--History--20th century 5
∨ more
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 3
Lumber trade--United States--History 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 3
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 2
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 2
Correspondence 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Financial records 2
Journals (accounts) 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
Accounts 1
African Americans--Medical care--Virginia 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg--History 1
Artifacts 1
Business records 1
Certificates 1
Christmas cards 1
County clerks--Virginia 1
Daybooks 1
Index Cards 1
Invoices 1
Legal documents 1
Lumber trade--Virginia--History 1
Medicine--History--19th century 1
Medicine--Study and teaching--New York (State)--New York 1
Mental illness--Treatment--History 1
Mental illness--Treatment--United States 1
Mental illness--United States 1
Merchants--Great Britain 1
Merchants--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Morticians 1
Pharmacists--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Photographs 1
Practice of law--Virginia--History 1
Psychiatric hospitals--Virginia 1
Scrapbooks 1
Slavery--Law and legislation--United States--History 1
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 1
Slavery--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Transcripts 1
Virginia. High Court of Chancery. Richmond District 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 1
Williamsburg, Battle of, Williamsburg, Va., 1862 1
World War, 1939-1945 1
∧ less
 
Names
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Cabaniss family 1
Cabaniss, George 1
Cabaniss, James, 1793-1837 1
Cabaniss, John, circa 1787 - 1882 1
∨ more
Donaldson, Alexander 1
Eastern Lunatic Asylum (Va.) 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 1
Gary, Charles Edward Jr. , 1907-2001 1
Gary, Zelda DeBerry 1
Improved Benevolent Protective Order of Elks of the World 1
Sheldon, Jacob D. 1
Wadsworth & Carter (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
West End Valet Shop (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
∧ less