Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 14

Bond between William Angell and Francis Angell

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00928
Scope and Contents Bond between William Angell and Francis Angell for the performance of covenants. Names mentioned in the bond are William Montague, the elder and Richard Mar(?) of Suffolk. Witnesses are Nich. [illegible], Ben: Nedham and Jo. Floyd. June 21, 1687.

Charles II Entry Book of Warrants

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Lee1
Scope and Contents A copy, possibly written 1675-1686, of an Entry Book of Warrants relating to Virginia, Carolina, Ireland, etc. in the time of Charles II. An April 9, 1677 entry appoints someone to protect the people in Virginia from the Indians. Bacon's Rebellion was in 1676.Typed label on inside cover states "from the collection of Sir W. Betham, Ulster King at Arms, half russia." Sir William Betham (1779–1853) was an English herald and antiquarian who held the office of Ulster King of Arms from...

Discourse on Anglo-Saxon Ascendency

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01202
Scope and Contents A handwritten discourse on the moral causes of the ascendency of the Anglo Saxon race delivered at Alexandria, Virginia, Lyceum, Dec. 15, 1846, and Jan. 5, 1847. First page: "Ladies and Gentlemen, I shall venture to throw on your indulgence, this evening, some observations on the moral causes o the ascendency of the Anglo-Saxon race.  As most of us here present belong to that branch of the great human family, our interst may be supposed to be peculiar in...

Elizabeth I, Queen of England Document

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01561
Scope and Contents Handwritten document written in Latin, dated November 6, 1574.  First line begins with a hand drawn picture of Queen Elizabeth.  Top border is decorated with drawings of lions, flowers and dragons.  Broken seal is attached to the bottom.

Glorious Revolution Tercentenary Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 309
Scope and Contents The collection includes materials relating to the celebration of the 300th anniversary of the Glorious Revolution in England including playing cards, invitations to President Verkuil to attend various functions celebrating the Glorious Revolution, the booklet "William and Mary: The Revolution that Shaped Our World," and brochures about exhibits and other events held to celebrate the tercentenary. The collection also includes: a copy of a booklet about Het Loo, a Dutch Palace of King William III...

George Hastings Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01322
Scope and Contents This collection consists of a letter written by Lord George Hastings (later the Earl of Huntingdon) addressed to an unnamed Lord, offering congratulations on the honor with which the King had awarded his service, and asking for a recommendation to the King. The letter was written in Vienna, Austria. Also included are two pages of research from the donor, including evidence that the recipient of the letter was Arnold van Keppel, Earl of Albemarle.

John Kennedy Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nla2
Scope and Contents Notes, circaa. 1840-1850, concerning law made by [John Kennedy, a British student ?]  On page 598, law regarding negroes and slaves.

Richard G. Joynt Collection of British Manuscripts

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00032
Scope and Contents Richard G. Joynt's collection of British manuscripts, from the 15th to the 20th century, of 88 letters and documents, 41 cut signatures, and many book engravings.  The authors and signatures include kings, queens, prime ministers, nobles, military officers, authors, and other dignitaries. Personal matters, military orders and letters, religion, treaties, politics, intrique, and much more are covered in these letters, often interwoven with current events.

King William III and Queen Mary II Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 75s W67
Scope and Contents This collection contains items relating to King William III of England (1650-1702) and his wife Queen Mary II (1662-1694) spanning 1689 to 1710. There is also research material, dated 1986-1988, relating to King William III and Queen Mary II. The collection consists of three letters of appointment to office, a commission (written in Latin), a warrant for payment of services, and a manuscript volume of public revenues and expenditures during the reigns of William III, Mary II, and Queen Anne...

King William III to James Douglas, Duke of Queensberry, Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00272
Content Description Personal letter from King William III to the 2nd Duke of Queensberry relating to his role as the King’s Commissioner to the Scottish Parliament. William notes that he has just sent a long official letter, but wants to add one in his own hand to tell Queensberry how pleased he is with the work the latter had been doing on his behalf and that he will find an opportunity to reward him.