Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 16 of 16

17th and 18th century British periodicals

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00359
Content Description

Thirty-three publications from a variety of British newspapers and periodicals ranging from the 17th to the 18th century. Also included is a thirty-one page information packet compiled by William E. Rivers to accompany the collection.

Dates: Circa 1600 - 1800

Bond between William Angell and Francis Angell

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00928
Scope and Contents

Bond between William Angell and Francis Angell for the performance of covenants. Names mentioned in the bond are William Montague, the elder and Richard Mar(?) of Suffolk. Witnesses are Nich. [illegible], Ben: Nedham and Jo. Floyd. June 21, 1687.

Dates: 1687 June 21

Charles II Entry Book of Warrants

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Lee1
Scope and Contents A copy, possibly written 1675-1686, of an Entry Book of Warrants relating to Virginia, Carolina, Ireland, etc. in the time of Charles II. An April 9, 1677 entry appoints someone to protect the people in Virginia from the Indians. Bacon's Rebellion was in 1676.Typed label on inside cover states "from the collection of Sir W. Betham, Ulster King at Arms, half russia." Sir William Betham (1779–1853) was an English herald and antiquarian who held the office of Ulster King of Arms...
Dates: 1675-1686

Coronation Medal of William III and Mary II

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01878
Dates: 1689

Discourse on Anglo-Saxon Ascendency

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01202
Scope and Contents A handwritten discourse on the moral causes of the ascendency of the Anglo Saxon race delivered at Alexandria, Virginia, Lyceum, Dec. 15, 1846, and Jan. 5, 1847. First page: "Ladies and Gentlemen, I shall venture to throw on your indulgence, this evening, some observations on the moral causes o the ascendency of the Anglo-Saxon race.  As most of us here present belong to that branch of the great human family, our interst may be supposed to be peculiar in...
Dates: 1846-1847

Elizabeth I, Queen of England Document

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01561
Scope and Contents

Handwritten document written in Latin, dated November 6, 1574.  First line begins with a hand drawn picture of Queen Elizabeth.  Top border is decorated with drawings of lions, flowers and dragons.  Broken seal is attached to the bottom.

Dates: 1574 November 6

Glorious Revolution Tercentenary Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 309
Scope and Contents The collection includes materials relating to the celebration of the 300th anniversary of the Glorious Revolution in England including playing cards, invitations to President Verkuil to attend various functions celebrating the Glorious Revolution, the booklet "William and Mary: The Revolution that Shaped Our World," and brochures about exhibits and other events held to celebrate the tercentenary. The collection also includes: a copy of a booklet about Het Loo, a Dutch Palace of King William...
Dates: 1988-1989

George Hastings Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01322
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of a letter written by Lord George Hastings (later the Earl of Huntingdon) addressed to an unnamed Lord, offering congratulations on the honor with which the King had awarded his service, and asking for a recommendation to the King. The letter was written in Vienna, Austria. Also included are two pages of research from the donor, including evidence that the recipient of the letter was Arnold van Keppel, Earl of Albemarle.

Dates: 1701 May 6

John Kennedy Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nla2
Scope and Contents

Notes, circaa. 1840-1850, concerning law made by [John Kennedy, a British student ?]  On page 598, law regarding negroes and slaves.

Dates: 1840-1850

Richard G. Joynt Collection of British Manuscripts

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00032
Scope and Contents

Richard G. Joynt's collection of British manuscripts, from the 15th to the 20th century, of 88 letters and documents, 41 cut signatures, and many book engravings.  The authors and signatures include kings, queens, prime ministers, nobles, military officers, authors, and other dignitaries. Personal matters, military orders and letters, religion, treaties, politics, intrique, and much more are covered in these letters, often interwoven with current events.

Dates: 1593-2015 and undated

King William III and Queen Mary II Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 75s W67
Scope and Contents This collection contains items relating to King William III of England (1650-1702) and his wife Queen Mary II (1662-1694) spanning 1689 to 1710. There is also research material, dated 1986-1988, relating to King William III and Queen Mary II. The collection consists of three letters of appointment to office, a commission (written in Latin), a warrant for payment of services, and a manuscript volume of public revenues and expenditures during the reigns of William III, Mary II, and Queen Anne...
Dates: 1689-1710

King William III to James Douglas, Duke of Queensberry, Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00272
Content Description

Personal letter from King William III to the 2nd Duke of Queensberry relating to his role as the King’s Commissioner to the Scottish Parliament. William notes that he has just sent a long official letter, but wants to add one in his own hand to tell Queensberry how pleased he is with the work the latter had been doing on his behalf and that he will find an opportunity to reward him.

Dates: 1700 June 13

King William IV Coronation Ticket

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01157
Scope and Contents

Ticket to the coronation of King William IV at Westminster Abbey at the Poets Corner Door, No. 107, "The Coronation of Their Most Sacred Majesties."  Ticket holder's name is difficult to read, but possibly L. Thoecker, Esq. or L. Koelker, Esq.  Torn and fragile.

Dates: 1830

Thomas G. and Louise Rowe Pullen Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 P96
Scope and Contents Collection of documents, 1655-1791, most of which relate to King William III and Queen Mary II of England. Includes correspondence of and warrants signed by William III; letter of Mary II; documents signed by Sir Christopher Wren; documents written by Samuel Pepys; order signed by James II; letter of Leopold, Emperor of Germany; engravings of William III; and a printed announcement of the ascension of William and Mary to the throne of England. Some documents are in French and Latin but some...
Dates: 1655-1791

Charles Mills Sheldon Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 S3
Scope and Contents Correspondence, clippings, photographs, and papers of Charles Mills Sheldon (1866-1928), British illustrator and war correspondent. Letters were written primarily to his wife, Grace, of London, and often contain detailed descriptions of his experiences abroad. Some of the topics discussed in his correspondence include the Sudan (1896), Cuba (1898), the Spanish-American War, Egypt during the opening of the Aswan Dam (1902), the Durbar in India (1903), and Spain (1906) during the royal wedding...
Dates: 1862, 1895-1928; Majority of material found in 1895-1928

Sir Francis Head Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap21
Scope and Contents

Record, 1696-1730, of rents received and due from tenants of Sir Francis Head, Whindhill Manor, [Kent Co. ? Eng.] including home remedies and recipes. Includes an inventory.

Dates: 1696-1730

Filtered By

  • Subject: Great Britain--History X
  • Subject: Great Britain--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Great Britain--History 5
Correspondence 4
Great Britain--History--1660-1714 4
Legal documents 3
Account books 2
∨ more
England -- Social life and customs -- 17th century 2
Great Britain--History--18th century 2
Great Britain--History--Revolution of 1688 2
Indentures 2
Letters (correspondence) 2
Admission tickets 1
Alexandria (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Anglo-Saxon race. 1
Assouan Dam (Egypt) 1
Booklets 1
Cabinet photographs 1
Carte de visite photographs 1
Certificates 1
College of William and Mary--History--17th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
Coronations -- Collectibles 1
Cuba--History--20th century 1
Education--Great Britain--History 1
Engravings (Prints) 1
Finances 1
Financial records 1
Great Britain 1
Great Britain -- History -- William and Mary, 1689-1702 1
Great Britain--History, Naval 1
Great Britain--History--1689-1714 1
Great Britain--History--Elizabeth, 1558-1603 1
Great Britain--History--James II, 1685-1688 1
Great Britain--History--Stuarts, 1603-1714 1
Great Britain--History--William IV, 1830-1837 1
History of the College 1
India--History--20th century 1
Indians of North America--Virginia 1
Invitations 1
Ireland--History--1649-1775. 1
Journalists 1
Law--Study and teaching 1
Lectures 1
Medicine--Formulae, receipts, prescriptions 1
Newspaper columns 1
Notebooks 1
Orders (military records) 1
Pamphlets 1
Photographs 1
Portraits 1
Publications 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Slavery--Great Britain. 1
Spanish-American War, 1898 1
Sudan (Africa)--History--20th century 1
United States--History 1
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 1
Warrants (Law) > Great Britain. 1
Warrants (Law)--Great Britain--Early works to 1800 1
signatures (names) 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 14
Latin 6
French 3
Dutch; Flemish 1
 
Names
William III, King of England, 1650-1702 6
Mary II, Queen of England, 1662-1694 4
Alexandria Lyceum (Va.) 1
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 1
Betham, William, Sir, 1779-1853 1