Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 15 of 15

Ann Kimberly Gifford Cunningham European Travel Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01346
Content Description

79 page diary detailing a trip to England and France in 1912- 1913. Ann was the wife of Brigadier General James Hutchings Cunningham and her diary includes some of her time living at West Point, New York.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

E.R. McElligott Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00126
Scope and Contents This collection consists of 102 letters and several postcards written primarily by E.R. McElligott, a draftsman in the 152nd Aero Squadron of the United States Army.  The letters are written to various family members, particulary McElligott's sisters and parents, and describe his life in the military from enlistment to discharge.  McElligott describes his travels from New York to San Antonio and finally to Illinois, England, and France.  His letters give insight into the daily details,...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Genevieve Kerdell Scrapbook

 Collection — Oversize_Box: Small Collections Oversized Box 13
Identifier: SC 01747
Content Description

A 77 page scrapbook containing 50 postcards, 3 dried flowers, 7 photos, and 254 pages of letters written by Genevieve Kerdell. Kerdell sent the letters and postcards to her parents over the course of her travels through Europe in 1928. The countries visited include Italy, France, Germany, and England.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Goodwin Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G63
Scope and Contents Letters, memoirs, journals, sermons, monographs, genealogical material concerning the Goodwin, Archer, Silvester, Ballard and Smith families.The bulk of the collection is comprised of the papers of Frederick Deane Goodwin, an Episcopal minister.  Bishop William Meade is a correspondent.  Correspondence between Frederick Deane Goodwin's immediate family is included and papers of his son, Edward Lewis Goodwin, an Episcopal minister and his granddaughter, Mary Frances Goodwin, a...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Julia Seldon Grandy Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 G76
Scope and Contents

Includes manuscripts of poetry written by Julia Selden Grandy who lived in Norfolk, Va. and Baltimore, Md. as well as short stories by Grandy; translations by Grandy of French poetry written by Stephen Mallarme (1842-1898); diaries kept while in school in New York and on trips to Paris and London; published books by Grandy; and scrapbooks.  Includes a biography, poem and her obituary.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Elizabeth Hayes Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.279
Scope and Contents Papers of Elizabeth Hayes (Goddard) who was the secretary to Rev. Dr. W.A.R. Goodwin when he began the effort to restore Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes letters written to Elizabeth Hayes by Rev. Dr. W.A.R. Goodwin during his trip to Great Britain and France in 1929 where he did research and made contacts for the restoration of Williamsburg. Typed carbon copy of "The Turn of Another Century, Personal Memories" by Rev. Dr. W.A. R. Goodwin dated October 1938....
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Maguire Family Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1995.49
Scope and Contents Fragment of scrapbook of trips to Europe, Bermuda made by members of the F. H. Maguire family of Richmond, Va. in 1911, 1917-1919 and 1926. Contains postcards, exhibit catalogs and tourist literature. The postcards, 1917-1919, of France were collected by [F.H. Maguire ?] who served as a captain in the U. S. Air Service. The collection includes passenger lists from the S.S. Coronia, May 23, 1911 (Liverpool to New York), R.M.S.P. Orea, June 19, 1926 (New York to Cherbourg and Southampton), and...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Muriel McCormick Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.779
Scope and Contents

Diaries and photographs, 1937-1949, of Muriel McCormick.  McCormick was a staff member at the United States embassy in Paris, France, from 1945-1946, and much of the collection chronicles her travels through Europe.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Betty Movern Diary, 1947-1948

 Collection
Identifier: Mss 2007.89
Scope and Contents Diary (1947-1948) of Betty Movern detailing her extended tour of post-war Europe. She describes the trips she made with her husband and adult son with hopes of selling the manuscript for eventual publication. She records visiting Germany, Italy, Switzerland, the Netherlands, France, Luxembourg, and England. She describes a visit to Hitler's country home and meeting a German man who swam from Russian occupied East Germany to West Germany in order to obtain food for his family. Movern included...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

J. G. Northrup Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01030
Scope and Contents This collection consists of a small bound diary and ten photographs.  The diary was kept by Private J. G. Northrup, mainly while he was deployed in France in Company B, 303rd Engineers, 78th Division, American Expeditionary Forces, from June 1918 through May 1919.  Company B supported troops during major engagements in the Saint-Mihiel and Meuse-Argonne offensives.  Diary entries are brief, mentioning routine duties and events, as well as...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Rosalie D. J. McLeod Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01264
Scope and Contents Typescript of diary, 1937, of Rosalie Durrette Jones McLeod of a trip aboard a steamer with her father in the summer of 1937 before she entered the College of William and Mary as a student. Among the places visited were; Berlin, Warsaw, Moscow, Kiev, Odessa, Istanbul, Athens, Cairo, Jerusalem, Naples, Rome, Florence, Venice, Vienna, Salzburg, Innsbruck, Lucerne, Geneva, Paris, Brussels, Cologne, Amsterdam, and London. Collection also contains a photograph of Rosalie D. J. McLeod and her...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Harry and Anna Saxer Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.136
Scope and Contents In 1949 Harry Saxer, a Pennsylvania steel executive, and his wife Anna Saxer traveled to Germany to assist U. S. military officials with the restoration of Germany's steel industry after World War II.  The Saxers were in Germany for much of 1949.  Harry Saxer was a civilian employee of  the U. S. Army, and worked with the Combined Steel Group in Germany.They assembled two scrapbooks (Acc. 2009.136) to document their stay in Germany. Some of the predominant formats included are...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Victoria Brown Travel Diary of Europe

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00002
Scope and Contents Handwritten travel diary by Victoria Brown (1921-2005), daughter of architect Arthur Brown, Jr. (1874-1957). The diary documents a trip to Europe taken when Victoria was a teenager from August to November 1935. The Brown family travelled across the United States from California to New York, then stayed in Paris before visiting Rome and several other cities in fascist Italy. The diary features a description of a fascist rally in Rome and dozens of sketches, some in color, of flags, uniforms,...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Warner Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.251
Scope and Contents Diaries, accounts and address book of Anna P. (Anne) Warner (b. 1876) of Washington D.C.  and Rebecca P. (Bess) Warner, sisters of Washington, D.C.  The sisters came from a well-off family and traveled extensively in Europe. They remained single and shared an apartment.  It has not been determined if one of the two 1899 diaries and the address book were kept by one of the sisters or by another family member. Most of the diaries contain detailed entries on their travels abroad,...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

George Withers World War II Posters

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2013.272
Scope and Contents

Posters featuring works illustrated by George Withers while an artist at the European Theater of Operations in Paris, France during World War II. Includes the first page of a letter home to his wife Virginia, Victory in Europe (V-E) Day in Paris, liberated Paris in the summer of 1945, and the Cirque de Paris. There are also two commercial illustrations by George Withers which include a movie poster and a drawing of Walt Whitman's birthplace on Long Island.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: France--Description and travel--20th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Diaries 6
England--Description and travel--20th century 5
Photographs 5
Europe--Description and travel--20th century 4
Italy--Description and travel--20th century 4
∨ more
Postcards 4
Women--Travel 4
Correspondence 3
Germany--Description and travel--20th Century 3
Postcards--Europe 3
Scrapbooks 3
Women--Diaries 3
American diaries--Women authors 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 2
Great Britain--Description and travel--20th century 2
Women travelers--Diaries 2
World War, 1939-1945--European Front 2
Youth--Travel--Europe 2
Address books 1
Airplanes 1
American literature--20th century 1
American poetry--20th century 1
Americans--Italy 1
Baltimore (Md.)--History--20th century 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--19th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 1
Europe -- Description and travel 1
Europe -- Description and travel -- 1919-1944 1
Europe, Northern -- Description and travel 1
Europe--Description and travel--19th century 1
Genealogy 1
Germany--Description and travel--19th century 1
Germany--Economic conditions--1945-1955 1
Germany--History--1945-1955--Pictorial works 1
Germany--History--Allied occupation, 1945- 1
Iron and steel industry--Germany--1945-1955 1
Italy--Description and travel--19th century 1
Luxembourg--Description and Travel--20th century 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Maps 1
Menus 1
Netherlands--Description and travel--20th century 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Obituaries 1
Ocean travel--History 1
Personal narratives 1
Philippines--History--Philippine American War, 1899-1902 1
Poems 1
Poets, American--20th century 1
Posters 1
Printed ephemera 1
Publications 1
Single women--United States--Conduct of life 1
Speeches 1
Steel industry--Germany--Duesseldorf--1940-1950 1
Switzerland--Description and travel--20th century 1
United States--Description and travel--20th century 1
United States--Slavery 1
United States-Military History 1
United States. Air Force. Aero Squadron, 152nd 1
United States. Army. Corps of Engineers 1
V-E Day, 1945--France 1
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Virginia--Religious history 1
Visting cards 1
Washington (D.C.)--Social life and customs--20th century 1
Women--History--Virginia 1
World War, 1914-1918--England--Personal narratives 1
World War, 1914-1918--France 1
World War, 1914-1918--France--Paris 1
World War, 1914-1918--France--Personal narratives 1
World War, 1914-1918--War work--Young Men's Christian Association 1
World War, 1914-1918--War work--Young Women's Christian Associations 1
World War, 1939-1945--Diplomatic history--Sources 1
World War, 1939-1945--Pictoral works 1
Wytheville (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Young women--Diaries 1
Youth--Travel--United States 1
∧ less
 
Language
German 1
 
Names
Ballard family 1
Ballard, James William, 1875-1920 1
Brown, Victoria, 1921- 1
Cunningham, Ann Kimberly Gifford 1
E.R. McElligott 1
∨ more
Goodwin family 1
Goodwin, Benjamin Lewis, 1819-1852 1
Goodwin, Daniel LeBaron, 1800-1867 1
Goodwin, Edward Bryam, 1810 - 1
Goodwin, Hannah LeBaron, 1814-1852 1
Goodwin, Henry Bradford, 1802-1859 1
Goodwin, James Briggs, 1806-1886 1
Goodwin, Mary De Wolf, 1812-1841 1
Goodwin, Mary Frances (Archer), 1817-1900 1
Goodwin, William Archer Rutherfoord, 1869-1939 1
Grandy, Julia Selden, 1903-1962 1
Hayes, Elizabeth 1
Kerdell, Genevieve 1
Maguire family 1
McCormick, Muriel 1
McLeod, Rosalie D. J. 1
Northrup, J. G. 1
Ribble, Fanny Archer Goodwin, 1838- 1
Smith family 1
United States Military Academy 1
United States. Army. American Expeditionary Forces 1
Withers, George, 1911-1959 1
∧ less