Collections | Special Collections Research Center

Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5

Hickory Neck Church Records

Collection

Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1994.57

Scope and Contents

Records of Hickory Neck Episcopal Church located in Toano, Virginia. Most of the material in this collection is from the Hickory Neck Church with a permanent loan or deposit agreement. Other material is from members of Hickory Neck Church or Williamsburg, Virginia area residents.

Collection includes additions.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Cotesworth P. Lewis Papers

Collection

Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1997.26

Scope and Contents Papers of the Reverend Cotesworth P. Lewis of Bruton Parish Church, Williamsburg, Va. More than one-half of the collection consists of letters written to Lewis relating to a sermon he gave 12 November 1967 with President Lyndon B. Johnson in the congregation. Lewis questioned United States policy in Vietnam. Most of the letters in the collection are favorable to Lewis' sermon. The rest of the collection consists of other sermons, 1938, 1947-1995 (1200 sermons), eulogies given by Lewis;...

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Rev. John J. Spooner Papers

Collection

Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Sp6

Scope and Contents

Papers, 1757-1792, of the Rev. John Jones Spooner including his election to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences; and his installation as minister to Martins Brandon Parish, Prince George County, Va. Also Includes certificate of ordination, 1792, signed by Bishop James Madison.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Virginia Counties Collection

Collection

Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co

Scope and Contents

Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Meade Papers

Collection

Identifier: Mss. 74 M46

Scope and Contents Correspondence, 1807-1861, of the Right Reverend William Meade who was a minister of the Protestant Episcopal Church and third Bishop of the Church in Virginia. The early correspondence pertains to his studies at Princeton and his decision to enter the ministry. Subsequent correspondence deals with religious controversy, particularly after his election as Assistant Bishop of Virginia in 1829. The discipline of clergy and laity and disagreement over doctrinal issues form an important part of...

Special Collections Research Center

Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5

Hickory Neck Church Records

Cotesworth P. Lewis Papers

Rev. John J. Spooner Papers

Virginia Counties Collection

William Meade Papers

Filtered By

Filter Results

Additional filters: