Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
Beatrice Livingstone Travel Diary
Collection
Identifier: SC 01312
Content Description
Travel diary along with itinerary, charted courses, pictures, and mementos kept by Beatrice Livingstone, wife of Lieutenant John Livingstone. Contains records of the travels of Beatrice L. Livingstone on Navy ships and cruise liners from 1926-1929. Ships include the USS Chaumont, SS President Madison, SS President Jackson, and SS Malolo. Ephemera includes newspapers, tickets, maps, telegrams, cablegrams, and pamphlets from the Panama Canal Zone, the Pacific coast of the United States,...
Dates:
1926- 1929; Majority of material found in 1926
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Frances Evarts Clark Travel Diary
Collection
Identifier: SC 00866
Scope and Contents
Travel diary of Frances Evarts Clark of Washington, D.C. on a trip to Asia and Europe. Her first entry is from Honolulu, Hawaii in November, 1926. The Captain of the U.S.S. Charmont, John H. Blackburn, signed her diary along with a few fellow travelers. Near the front of the diary, she has drawn a pencil picture of a ship with flying birds and has written, "Outward Bound" and "5 December 1926, A.W.R." In December, Clark is in Guam where they quarantined because there is measles...
Dates:
1926-1927
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Margetta Hirsch Doyle Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.005
Scope and Contents
This collection contains diaries, photographs, and other material related to Margetta Doris (Hirsch) Doyle. The bulk of the collection consists of material related to Margetta Doyle's days as a student at Mary from 1941-1945. The collection also includes a diary, photographs, and financial information concerning a trip to China, Japan, and Hong Kong in the fall of 1984 by Margetta Hirsch Doyle, her husband, and two friends. The diaries contain summary notes compiled by Margetta Doyle.
Dates:
1941-1984; Majority of material found in 1942-1984
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Lane Carlson papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00004
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1937-1972, of Colonel Bonnie "Lane" Carlson, originally from Scotts Bluff, Nebraska. Colonel Lane Carlson was one of the first five female colonels in the United States Army. Primarily includes letters written to and from her parents throughout her life, beginning with her time at Sullins College in Bristol, Virginia, various military bases, postwar Japan and West Germany. Some of the topics discussed in the letters include base life during the war, the experience of a commissioned...
Dates:
1937-1972 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center