Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 226 - 250 of 1186

Christopher Wren Singers Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.067
Scope and Contents

Contains letters, post cards, scrapbooks, audio CDs and other material related to the Christopher Wren Singers, an a capella student organization that specializes in singing madrigal music. Included in the accession are letters and postcards from alumni, scrapbooks of events from 1991-2001, and a 2012 book celebrating 25 years of the Cristopher Wren Singers.

Dates: 1989-2012; Majority of material found in 1993-2003

Cassimere Churchill Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00406
Scope and Contents This collection contains letters from Cassimere Churchill, a member of Company E, 9th Cavalry Regiment, New York, to his family while stationed in New York, Washington, D.C., and Virginia during the Civil War. He participated in the battles of Yorktown, Virginia, and Williamsburg, Virginia, as an artillery guard. He includes descriptions of Yorktown, Va., Manassas, Va., and Washington, D.C. He writes about camp life and the surrounding area, as well as his opinions of the war and the Union's...
Dates: 1861-1862

Clarence L. Williamson papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01894
Content Description

An envelope and letter sent by Clarence L. Williamson to Robert M. Kent Jr.

Dates: 1908 August 6

G. Glenwood Clark Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 77 C55
Scope and Contents Papers of G. Glenwood Clark, professor of English who taught American Literature at the College of William and Mary. The collection iIncludes correspondence, 1921-1965, with former students, faculty and administration of the College, personal acquaintances, publishing companies, clubs and organizations as well as newspaper clippings, typescripts of books, articles and talks, lecture notes, scrapbooks and materials relating to his two sabbaticals in Brazil including photographs, letters,...
Dates: 1916-1967

Lottie V. Clark Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C54
Scope and Contents Papers of members of the Clark family of Amelia County, Virginia, dated 1849, 1889-1899, 1915. The collection consists primarily of letters written to Lottie V. Clark of Namozine, Amelia County, Virginia, by Anthelia Holt and other friends in Chesterfield County, Virginia, which discuss social, religious, and family matters, and Anthelia's work in a cotton mill. In addition, there are letters, invitations, and poems, 1849, 1890, and n.d., addressed to Martha Susan Clark and Missouri A....
Dates: 1849-1915

James F. Clarke Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00486
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1856-1907, of James F. Clarke, physician, of Mt. Solon, Va. Includes letters and accounts.

Dates: 1856-1907

Class of 1925 Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: UA 123
Scope and Contents

The scrapbook consists of loose pages compiled by Jim Campbell about the 50th reunion of the William and Mary class of 1925, the class's participation at Commencement in 1975, and the awarding of Alumni Medallions to Jim and Dorothy Campbell.

Dates: 1975

Field A. Clay Bacon Order

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00227
Scope and Contents

Note from Field A. Clay, Ford's Depot (Virginia) to Studivant, Hurt & Co., Petersburg, Virginia with an order for bacon.  Includes response from Studivant, Hunt & Company where they write "wheat has improved prime 1.80."  September 8, 1850.

Dates: 1855 Sept. 8

President Grover Cleveland Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00229
Scope and Contents Collection of Grover Cleveland items given and collected by Flora A. Darling.  Includes a letter from Mrs. Frances F. Cleveland, Lakewood, New Jersey, to Mrs. Augustus Ramon Salas declining the Presidency of the United States Daughters [of 1812], May 11, 1892.  August 27, 1887 document with the Presidental Seal and signature of Glover Cleveland, President.  Typed black bordered announcement of the death of Hon. Glover Cleveland, "A Proclamation by the President of the United States [Theodore...
Dates: 1887, 1892, 1908

Cline Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 C61
Scope and Contents

Letters received by John Philip Cline, a Lutheran clergyman at New Market, Va and Smithburg, Washington County, Md. Includes fourteen letters, 1824-1832, written by John G. Morris concerning his education; the Henkel family; his pastorate; and [Samuel Simon] Schmucker.

Dates: 1824-1847

Glenn Close Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 93 C62 and Additions
Scope and Contents

Collection of papers concerning actress Glenn Close that document her career as a Broadway, television, and screen success. Includes recorded interviews, clippings, invitations, programs, playbills, videos, and other related materials.

Dates: 1966-2013; Majority of material found in 1980-1995

William Tell Cobb Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 98 C63
Scope and Contents Letters of William Tell Cobb (1840-1913), of Mauricetown, New Jersey, and his brother, Edwin Cobb (b. 1838), also of Mauricetown, New Jersey. William Cobb participated in the battles of Fair Oaks and 2nd Manassas while in the Army, and the battle of Fort Fisher while in the Navy; he describes these battles in his letters. Edwin Cobb provides an eyewitness account of the battle between the "Monitor" and the "Merrimac". Other topics dealt with in the letters are camp conditions and everyday...
Dates: 1802-1965

James Cocke to Richard Eppes Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01275
Scope and Contents

Letter from James Cocke, Tar Bay, Prince George County, Virginia to Richard Eppes, Philadelphia, [PA] about an indian skeleton found on his land in Prince Geroge County. October 2, 1846.

Dates: 1846 October 2

Cocke Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 C64
Scope and Contents Papers include letter, 13 March 1838, from Charles Carter at University of Virginia to C[ary] Charles Cocke; letter, n.d., of Jesse Pound to W. E. Webb; letter, 24 June [18]46, of W. E. Webb, "Loch Lomond," Goochland Co., Va. to [John Hartwell] Cocke, Bremo, Fluvanna Co., Va.; letter, 27 June 1884, of W[illiam] R[uffin] C[oleman] Cocke, Philadelphia, to Charles [Hartwell Cocke ?]; account, 1885, of Cary Charles Cocke; and list, n.d., of slaves at "Bremo" and "Lower Bremo" Fluvanna Co.,...
Dates: 1838-1885

Henry Denison Cole Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F....
Dates: 1786-1939

Waverly M. Cole Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.176
Scope and Contents

This collection contains photographs, letters, and ephemera related to the life and career of Dr. Waverly M. Cole, an anesthesiologist from Richmond, Virginia. Included in the papers are awards and school diplomas, photographs of Cole while a student at the College of William and Mary and the Medical College of Virginia (MCV), and letters written to Human Rights organizations.

Dates: circa 1935-2007

Henry Coleman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.101
Scope and Contents This collection contains news clippings, correspondence, reports, and other material related to the "Dorm-In" protest by students in October 1969. The "Dorm-In" was to protest the current College regulations about how long women could stay in male dormitories after football games on Saturday. The students wanted to stay longer than the College regulations stated and 10 students were suspended for violating those rules. The bulk of the records come from the Ad Hoc Committee to Investigate the...
Dates: 1963-1970

Coleman-Wilson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 96 C67
Scope and Contents Letters, chiefly 1919-1964, written by Mary Haldane Begg Coleman (1875-1967) of Williamsburg, Virginia, to Julia Gardiner Tyler Wilson (1881-1965), of Charlottesville, Virginia. Diaries of Mary Haldane Begg Coleman and Isabella Haldane.Other correspondents include Janet Coleman Kimbrough, Mary H.B. Coleman's daughter and Alida Wilson Davidson, the daughter of Julia Gardiner Tyler Wilson.Scrapbooks containing information on John Tyler, Tyler descendants, and the Tucker...
Dates: 1775-1989; Majority of material found in 1883-1964

Ernest Hartley Coleridge Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00977
Scope and Contents

Letter, 20 March 1895, of Coleridge to [?] Keeling, asking for help in publicizing his book, "Letters of Samuel Taylor Coleridge" and a newspaper clipping, 23 February 1920, of the obituary of Coleridge.

Dates: 1895 and 1920

John B. Colin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 C70
Scope and Contents

Papers of John B. Colin, Richmond, Va., a printer. Correspondents include Elijah Fletcher (release of a deed of trust and trying to procure red ink), Richard H. Toler (difficult business conditions in Lynchburg, Va.), and Maria Shepherd (concern that her [son ?] Samuel will go to the California gold mines). Includes bill for typeface received by Shepherd & Colin.

Dates: 1816-1852

College Papers Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 14
Scope and Contents

This collection includes a variety of material formats and subjects from throughout the College's history.

Dates: circa 1880s-1990s

College Women's Club Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 19
Scope and Contents

This collection includes bylaws and constitution, minutes, financial records, clippings, correspondence, and other material related to the College Women's Club, a faculty organization at the College of William and Mary.

Dates: 1944-1992

Gertha Sykes Collins Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.487
Scope and Contents Primarily this is a collection of love letters written between 1942-1944 to Gertha Barbara Jean Sykes residing in St. Louis, Missouri and James NMI Dansby, an African-American soldier in the United States Army. There are also letters from two other Army soldiers, Jack Smith, stationed in the Pacific and Benjamin D. Collins, an aircompany soldier, whom Sykes married in 1949. The letters begin when Dansby joined the Army and started basic training in Camp Shelby, Hattiesburg,...
Dates: 1942-1951

William Collins Letter to Charles Collins

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00235
Scope and Contents

Letter from William Collins, Warren [Rhode Island] to Charles Collins, Newport, Rhode Island, requesting information about a chain for sale, noting he needs "one of 1 inch and about 50 fathoms" and an anchor "suitable for a chain of about 800 pounds."  March 23, 1831.

Dates: 1831 March 23

Colonial Hotel Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2006.68 and 2007.76
Scope and Contents This collection contains reservation and information requests and carbon copy or rough draft replies about accommodations and meals at the Colonial Hotel in Williamsburg, Virginia. It also includes business and financial correspondence concerning the Colonial Hotel. Most replies unsigned, but Mrs. Mary A. Johnston was the manager during 1929 and 1930.  There are miscellaneous cards, envelopes, brochures and notepaper.  It includes a brochure from the New York Hippodrome for the...
Dates: 1913-1930

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Correspondence X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 950
Photographs 234
Letters (correspondence) 229
Financial records 223
Legal documents 142
∨ more
Reports 104
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 102
Receipts (financial records) 95
Diaries 81
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 80
Scrapbooks 80
Manuscripts (document genre) 73
Account books 68
Minutes 67
College of William and Mary--Students 64
Programs 62
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 58
Clippings (information artifacts) 52
Publications 52
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 51
Notebooks 51
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 48
Genealogy 46
World War, 1939-1945 46
Fliers (printed matter) 43
Certificates 41
Typescripts 40
Pamphlets 36
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 36
Agendas (administrative records) 35
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 35
Speeches 35
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 34
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 31
United States--Politics and Government 30
Printed ephemera 28
Virginia--Genealogy 26
Newsletters 25
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 25
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 25
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 23
Postcards 23
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 23
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 22
Poems 22
Speeches, addresses, etc. 22
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 21
Invitations 21
Invoices 21
Photocopies 21
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 21
Newspapers 19
World War, 1914-1918 19
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 18
Photostats 17
Virginia--Governors 17
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 17
Class materials 16
Memorandums 16
United States--History--War of 1812 16
Virginia--Religious history 16
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 16
Lawyers--Virginia--Correspondence 15
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 15
Virginia--History 15
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 15
Ledgers (Accounting) 14
United States--Religious History--Christianity 14
Virginia--Politics and Government 14
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 14
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 14
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 14
Women--History--Virginia 14
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 13
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 13
Transcripts 13
United States--Economic history 13
Video recordings 13
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 13
Booklets 12
Deeds 12
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 12
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 12
Practice of law--Virginia--History 12
United States--Slavery 12
Virginia--History--20th century 12
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 11
Maps 11
Petitions 11
Research notes 11
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 11
Slavery--Virginia--18th century 11
Soldiers--United States--Correspondence 11
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 11
United States--Revolutionary War--1775-1783 11
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 11
World War, 1939-1945--European Front 11
Charter Day 10
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 10
Engravings (Prints) 10
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 1174
French 24
German 17
Latin 8
Spanish; Castilian 6
∨ more  
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 69
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 37
College of William and Mary. 27
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 21
Office of the President 19
∨ more
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 19
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 18
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 17
College of William and Mary 15
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 15
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 14
University of Virginia 13
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 12
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 12
Virginia House of Delegates 12
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 11
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 11
Madison, James, 1749-1812 11
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 10
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 10
Tyler Family 10
Chandler, J. A. C. (Julian Alvin Carroll), 1872-1934 9
College of William and Mary. School of Education 9
Monroe, James, 1758-1831 9
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 9
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 8
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 8
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 8
United States Congress 8
Virginia State Senate 8
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 7
Democratic Party (U.S.) 7
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 7
Galt family 7
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 7
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 7
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 7
Virginia Institute of Marine Science 7
Washington, George, 1732-1799 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 6
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Sociology 6
College of William and Mary. School of Business Administration 6
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 6
Development Office--Endowment Association 6
Mahone, William, 1826-1895 6
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia 6
Whig Party (U.S.) 6
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 5
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Chemistry 5
Democratic Party (Va.) 5
Landrum, Grace Warren, 1876-1951 5
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 5
Republican Party (U.S.) 5
Tucker 5
Tyler family 5
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 5
Tyler, Sue Ruffin, 1889-1953 5
United States. Army. 5
Verkuil, Paul R 5
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 5
American Red Cross 4
Associated and Branch Campuses--Virginia Associated Research Campus 4
Braxton family 4
Brown family 4
Cabell, James Branch, 1879-1958 4
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 4
Chandler, Alvin Duke, 1902-1987 4
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 4
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Anthropology 4
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 4
College of William and Mary. Project Plus 4
Daingerfield family 4
Dept. of History 4
Gary Alonzo Barranger 4
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 4
Greenia, George D. 4
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 4
Hope, James Barron, 1829-1887 4
Jackson, Andrew, 1767-1845 4
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 4
Johnston, Joseph Eggleston, 1807-1891 4
Jones, W. Melville, 1901-1992 4
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 4
Madison, James, 1751-1836 4
Madison, James, Jr., 1751-1836 4
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 4
Order of the White Jacket 4
Robinson Family 4
Self Study 4
Short, William (1759-1849) 4
Smith family 4
Student Life--1990's 4
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
William III, King of England, 1650-1702 4
Wise, Henry A. (Henry Alexander), 1806-1876 4
Adams, John Quincy, 1767-1848 3
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 3
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities 3
+ ∧ less