Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 276 - 300 of 623

John D. Hobson Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ami G8
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1852-1853, of John D. Hobson, Howard's, Goochland [Co., Va.] which contains grist mill accounts and accounts of sawing lumber.

Dates: 1852-1853

John H. McElfresh Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. MsV Ab1 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1831-1840, of John H. McElfresh, banker, probably of Frederick County, Md.

Dates: 1831-1840

John Littlefield Memorandum Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Me3
Scope and Contents

Photocopy, 1761-1782, of a memorandum book used by John Littlefield, of Wells, Maine which mentions The Stamp Act, Boston Tea Party, resolves of the Wells, Maine Committee; and notations concerning soldiers. It was later used, 1790-1823 and 1845, for recipes for various medicines, legal forms, and Littlefield family records.

Dates: 1761-1845; Majority of material found in 1761-1782

John M. Martin Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Al7
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1802-1850, of John M. Martin, lawyer and merchants, of [Albemarle County ?] Va. which includes an account with the University of Virginia.  Includes an index.

Dates: 1802-1850

John Morton Jordan & Co. Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame F1
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1769-1774, of Virginia account of John Morton Jordan & Co., London [Eng.] and of Perkins, Buchanan & Brown, London [Eng.], 1771-1774, including the certification, 26 July 1774, which bears seal, of these accounts before the Lord Mayor of London.  An entry for Thomas Jefferson is on page 13.

Dates: 1769-1774

John Peyton Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap29
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1758-1773, of John Peyton, and of the firm of Peyton and Adcock, probably a Virginia firm. Includes record, 1810, of birth of first child of John Peyton.

Dates: 1758-1773

John Rufus Smith Journal

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame115 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Journal, 1856-1857, of John Rufus Smith, merchant, of Mill Creek, Berkeley County, Va. [W. Va.] which also includes a list, 1862, of losses sustained to farmlands and timber due to damage by the Confederate Army; and the journal, 1865-1878, of Daniel Wright which contains accounts with the Confederate States and a record of wheat threshed by the Confederate Army.

Dates: 1856-1878; Majority of material found in 1856-1857

John S. Gallaher Journal

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ane1
Scope and Contents

Journal, 1833-1836, of John S. Gallaher, newspaper publisher, of Charles Town, Jefferson County, Va. [W.Va.].  Includes accounts for advertising in the newspaper.  Topics range from lost horses to chancery notices.

Dates: 1833-1836

John W. Hunt Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame65
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1840-1876, of John W. Hunt, merchant, lumberman, and farmer.

Dates: 1840-1876

Johnson and Nutt Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame98
Scope and Contents Account book belonging to merchants, Johnson and Nutt.  Notation in front of book says that all all assets belonging to William Nutt were transferred to Amos Johnson in 1823.  A few accounts for the estate of Amos Johnson in 1853 are near the end of the ledger.  Another note near front of book, paraphrased:  Grandmother Johnson was named Furman before marriage.  First married Hucherson, then Garret Johnson.  Sarah M? was her daughter by first husband and half sister to my mother.  Timothy...
Dates: 1821-1846

Joseph E. Johnston Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 J63
Scope and Contents Papers of Joseph E. Johnston, C.S.A. General during the American Civil War, including correspondence which reflect his long military career and interest in his nephews, John Warfield Johnston and John Preston Johnston. The papers include a diary, 1857, of Johnston's survey of the southern boundary of Kansas and eighteen volumes of Civil War dispatches and telegrams. The collection also includes a diary, 1 May-31 July 1864, of Thomas B. Mackall; letters received by...
Dates: 1825-1891

Jonah H. Lupton Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af25 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1816-1875, of Jonah H. Lupton, merchant and farmer. Included in the volume are notes on livestock, home remedies, and the birth of children. Also included are Civil War notes, 1861-1862, concerning feeding the troops, the Union occupation of Winchester on 12 March 1862, and Jackson and his men.

Dates: 1816-1875

Jonathan Cook Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame16
Scope and Contents

Ledger of Jonathan Cook of Grayson County, Virginia.  He sold items such as glass buttons, chamber pots, forks and knives and food items.

Dates: 1837-1860

Catesby Jones Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af6
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1767-1845, of Catesby Jones, of "Marlfield," Gloucester County, Va. Includes information on Robert Yates, a student at the College of William and Mary in 1827.

Dates: 1767-1845

Eliza Jones Memorandum Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af7
Scope and Contents

Kept by Eliza Jones of "Concord," Gloucester Co., Va. containing household and farm accounts, 1831-1843. Includes names of slaves and clothing purchased for them. 93 p. : bound volume ; 16 cm.

Dates: 1831-1843

George Jones Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af8
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1829-1830, of a plantation in the vicinity of Buckingham County, Va. under the superintendence of George Jones and George Eubank which contains inventories of livestock, tools, and crops.

Dates: 1829-1830

William Jordan Account Books

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ab15-18
Scope and Contents

4 Account books, 1842-1888, of William Jordan, a blacksmith, merchant, carpenter, and farmer who lived in the vicinity of Rockbridge County, Va.

Dates: 1842-1888

Anna Lou Jose Papers, 1905-1936, 1964

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.298
Scope and Contents Papers, 1905-1936, of Anna Lou Jose on her trips through Europe. Includes details about the sea journey to Europe as well as details of her daily activities and places visited. Also includes information about the first three days of the 1936 Summer Olympics, held in Berlin. There is also ephemera that was tucked into one of Jose's diaries from her travels. Also includes an expense book from 1905 to 1906 as well as an undated address book. Finally, there is a diary of an unknown person, dated...
Dates: 1905-1936, 1964

Joseph A. Logan & Co. Inventory and Day Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame81
Scope and Contents

Volume used as inventory book and day book, 1870-1872, by Joseph A. Logan & Co., merchants, at Fishersville, Augusta County, Va.

Dates: 1870-1872

Joseph C. Farrar Medical Ledgers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00035
Scope and Contents This collection consists of two ledgers belonging to Joseph C. Farrar, a doctor in Mecklenburg County, Virginia. The first ledger includes accounts from 1848-1849 while the second ledger includes accounts from 1856-1861. The ledgers contain lists of patients, treatments and prices, and expenditures, as well as entries for both enslaved persons and "free persons of color" who were treated. The 1856-1861 ledger was partially used by an unknown prior owner in 1852-1853, most likely...
Dates: 1848-1861

Joseph Edie Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Am8
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1823-1851, of Joseph Edie, physician, of Christiansburg, Montgomery County, Virginia.

Dates: 1823-1851

Joseph T. Miller Day Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame94
Scope and Contents

Day book, 1854-1861, of Joseph T. Miller, merchant, and of his estate, 1862-1863. Some pages were used as a scrapbook for newspaper clippings.  Many entries for people living in Rockingham County, Virginia.

Dates: 1854-1863; Majority of material found in 1854-1861

Joseph Wilson Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Am16
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1845-1871, of Joseph Wilson, physician, of Churchville, Augusta County, Va.

Dates: 1845-1871

Josiah G. Low Journals

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame82-84
Scope and Contents

Journals, 1857-1861, of Josiah G. Low, merchants, at Gainesville Depot, Prince William County, Va.

Dates: 1857-1861

Judith Magrino Bowers Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00364
Content Description

Red bound scrapbook created by Judith Bowers when she was a girl about World War II. Her father, Daniel Magrino was a soldier in the army during this war. Her scrapbook details the effect of the war on the Homefront, especially in regard to rations of gas and food.

Dates: 1942- 1945

Filtered By

  • Subject: Books X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Account books 511
Ledgers (Accounting) 142
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 97
Correspondence 82
Journals (accounts) 69
∨ more
Financial records 49
Receipts (financial records) 36
Minute books 35
Diaries 32
Legal documents 32
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 32
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 31
Scrapbooks 30
Photographs 29
Daybooks 24
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History--19th century 23
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 23
Merchants--United States--History--19th century 22
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 20
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 19
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 17
Commonplace books 16
Fauquier County (Va.)--History--19th century 16
Books 15
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 15
Merchants--Virginia--Rockingham County 15
Grain--Milling 14
Memoranda Books 14
Merchants--Virginia--Fauquier County 14
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 14
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 14
Fluvanna County (Va.)--History--19th century 13
Letter books 13
Merchants--Virginia--19th century 13
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 13
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 12
Lexington (Va.)--History--19th century 12
Merchants--Virginia--History--18th century 12
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 12
Invoices 11
Manuscripts (document genre) 11
Merchants--Virginia--History--20th century 11
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 10
Buckingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 10
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 10
Farms--United States 10
Louisa County (Va.)--History--19th century 10
Merchants--Virginia--Williamsburg 10
Notebooks 10
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 10
Clippings (information artifacts) 9
College of William and Mary--Students 9
Leather industry and trade--Virginia 9
Lumber trade--United States--History 9
Pamphlets 9
Programs 9
Accounts 8
Blacksmithing--Virginia 8
Certificates 8
Goochland County (Va.)--History--19th century 8
Inventories 8
Medicine--Formulae, receipts, prescriptions 8
Poems 8
Virginia--Genealogy 8
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 8
Agriculture--Virginia--History 7
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 7
Berkeley County (W.Va.)--History--19th century 7
Broadsides 7
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 7
Genealogy 7
Iron industry and trade--Virginia 7
Letters (correspondence) 7
Merchants--Virginia--Augusta County 7
Minutes 7
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 7
Virginia--Religious history 7
Albemarle County (Va.)--History--19th century 6
Business records 6
Carpentry--United States--History--19th century 6
Jefferson County (W.Va.)--History--19th century 6
Lawyers--Virginia--History 6
Meat industry and trade--United States 6
Medical practice--Virginia--History 6
Merchants--Virginia--Fluvanna County 6
Nelson County (Va.)--History--19th century 6
Publications 6
Speeches 6
Staunton (Va.)--History--19th century 6
Surveys (documents) 6
Taxation--Virginia 6
United States--History--War of 1812 6
Agriculture--United States--History--19th century 5
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 5
Berkeley County (W.Va.)--History 5
Church records 5
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 5
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 5
Executors and administrators--Virginia 5
Executors and administrators--Virginia--History--19th century 5
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 619
German 6
French 3
Latin 2
English, Old (ca.450-1100) 1
∨ more  
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 10
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 7
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 6
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 5
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 4
∨ more
Virginia House of Delegates 4
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 3
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 3
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 3
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 3
Pleasants, Robert 3
Tyler Family 3
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 2
Cocke, John Hartwell, fl. 1857-1880 2
Coleman family 2
College of William and Mary 2
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 2
Democratic Party (Va.) 2
Dew, Thomas R. (Thomas Roderick), 1802-1846 2
Galt, James, 1805-1876 2
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 2
Richmond Whig (Va.) 2
Sheldon, Jacob D. 2
Smith family 2
Tompkins, Sally Louisa, 1833-1916 2
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 2
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 2
Virginia Historical Society 2
Waller family 2
Williamsburg Businessmen's Association (Va.) 2
A.B. Smith General Store 1
Adair's Club (Brooklyn, New York) 1
Adams, Herbert Baxter, 1850-1901 1
Allan, John, 1780?-1834 1
American Chemical Society 1
American Historical Association 1
American Red Cross 1
Anderson Seminary 1
Angleberger, Tom 1
Anheuser-Bush, Inc. 1
Armistead Family 1
Arnold, Benedict, 1741-1801 1
Association of Scottish Games and Festivals 1
Austin family 1
Austin, Archibald, 1772-1837 1
Baird family 1
Baker, Newton Diehl, 1871-1937 1
Barlowe, Cynthia Beverly Tucker Kimbrough 1
Barraud, Philip, 1758-1830 1
Barron family 1
Bassett, Burwell, 1764-1841 1
Beauregard, Pierre Gustave Toutant, 1818-1893 1
Beeckman, Margaret Gardiner, d. 1857 1
Bell Hospital (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bell, Baxter I. (Dr.) 1
Bell, Cece 1
Bernard Family 1
Bethel, Morris 1
Bethel, Samuel 1
Blankenship family 1
Blanks, James M. and Company 1
Blayton, James Blaine, Sr., (Dr.) 1
Blow family 1
Bohannan, Gordon W. 1
Booton's Tan Yard 1
Booton, Lucy Mary Modesitt 1
Bowden, Lemuel Jackson. 1
Bowers, Judith A. Magrino 1
Bozarth family 1
Bragg, Braxton, 1817-1876 1
Braikenridge, George, 1737-1827 1
Bright, Robert Anderson, 1839-1904 1
Bright, Samuel Francis 1
Brown family 1
Brown, Alexander, 1843-1906 1
Browning, Henry R 1
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 1
Bryant, James Fenton, 1841-1909 1
Bryant, Margaret Gunter 1
Bushnell, David Ives, Jr., 1875-1941 1
Byers Family 1
Byers family 1
Byers, Howard 1
Byers, Joseph 1
Byers, Robert C. 1
Byers, Samuel C 1
Byers, Samuel C. 1
Cabaniss, Mat 1
Cabell family 1
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 1
Cabell, Mayo 1
Cabell, William, 1730-1798 1
Cabell, William, Dr., 1700-1774 1
Cabell, William, b. 1759 1
Cable family 1
Cameron, William Evelyn, 1842-1927 1
Campbell family 1
Campbell, Charles, 1807-1876 1
Campbell, Robert Samuel, 1842-1918 1
Carey family 1
+ ∧ less