Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 21 - 30 of 51

John W. Hopewell Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ac29
Scope and Contents Account book, 1874-1902, of John W. Hopewell, wagonmaker, of Mt. Solon, Virginia. Includes a plat of land for a sawmill by John George, North River (Augusta County, Virginia).

Hull Family Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame64
Scope and Contents Ledger of a unknown member of the Hull family of Rockbridge and Augusta Counties in Virginia.  Includes accounts of a merchant, family accounts and payroll accounts.

J. W. Crist & Company Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 C87
Scope and Contents Records (mostly accounts with Baltimore wholesale merchants) of J.W. Crist & Company, merchants of Sangersville, Augusta County, Va. Includes letters written to John W. Crist.

Jacob B. Smith Ledger, II

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ami G19 Oversize
Scope and Contents Ledger, 1857-1866, of Jacob B. Smith, of Middle Mills, Middlebrook, Augusta County, Va. which contains grist mill accounts.

James Crawford Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D18
Scope and Contents Diary of James Crawford of Augusta County, Virginia.  His first entry notes, "commenced this my journal which I wish to record the daily occurrences that happen in my family and neighborhood..."

James Turner Clarke Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad43 Oversize
Scope and Contents Includes accounts as a doctor in Augusta County, Virginiaa. with members of the Blakemore family and with Jedediah Hotchkiss (p. 33) and accounts of drawing up legal documents, surveying, and selling merchandise (including books, papers, and school supplies). Also contains register of births of slaves, free blacks, and whites (1857-1897).

John C. Hensell Memorandum Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ch4
Scope and Contents Memorandum book, 1835-1858, of Rev. John C. Hensell, Middlebrook, Augusta County, Va. which contains a list of baptisms, marriages, and texts of sermons preached at St. John's and St. Peter's churches, as well as a list of subscribers to The Weekly Messenger.

John C. Hensell's Book of Skeletons

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Se2
Scope and Contents Sermon notes of Reverend John C. Hensell, Middlebrook, Augusta County, Virginia entitled, "John C. Hensell's Book of Skeletons, March 17, 1843."

Joseph A. Logan & Co. Inventory and Day Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame81
Scope and Contents Volume used as inventory book and day book, 1870-1872, by Joseph A. Logan & Co., merchants, at Fishersville, Augusta County, Va.

Joseph Wilson Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Am16
Scope and Contents Ledger, 1845-1871, of Joseph Wilson, physician, of Churchville, Augusta County, Va.