Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 11 - 20 of 31

Ephemera Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 1.02
Scope and Contents The Ephemera Collection contains material primarily acquired for teaching. It includes material in various formats, most of which have been previously published. The collection is currently being processed and new items will be added on an ongoing basis. For this reason, the indicated date range is approximate at this point.

Goochland and Henrico counties, Va. Execution Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Lev8
Scope and Contents Execution book, 1854, of an officer of the court [sheriff or justice of the peace ?]. The judgements concern people in Henrico and Goochland counties, Va. and involve money. The book was later used for poetry, 1889.

Maryann R. Goodwyn Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Sc10
Scope and Contents Scrapbook, ca. 1851-1870, of Maryann R. Goodwyn, Sappony, Va. which contains notes on geography and verse, newspaper clippings and a few cartoons relating to the American Civil War.

A. E. C. Hughes Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D31
Scope and Contents Diary, 1866 January 1-November 30, of [A. E. C. Hughes ?] of Richmond, Va. which describes visiting, weather, clothing, and a New Years Day Celebration. The volume also includes poetry, and other writings which were copied from other sources.

Isabella Stuart Waller Memorandum Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Co2
Scope and Contents Memorandum book, ca. 1850-1863, which may have been kept in Virginia by several different individuals including [Isabella Stuart Waller, George Mercer, and Mary Morris ?]. The volume contains some diary pages, resolutions for good housekeeeping, recipes, verse, and household inventories.

Lancaster, Pennsylvania Poetry Journals

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00643
Scope and Contents Two handwritten poetry journals.  One  kept by Sarah Wood and one by an unknown writer.  The unknown writer has a religious theme plus many of the poems are by other authors. Sarah Wood's poems are about her friends, family and historical and current events in her life.  One poem is written in memory of her father, and other poems in memory of friends.  Her subjects are varied, for example one poem is entitled, "The Superanuated Horse to His Master" and another one, "Alliteration." ...

Kattie W. Law Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Sc 14
Scope and Contents Scrapbook, ca. 1863-1875, of Kattie W. Law, Hillsboro, N. C. which contains newspaper clippings of poetry and prints pasted into Monteith's Comprehensive Geography.

Leatitia P. (Gregory) Ware Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00092
Scope and Contents Scrapbook comprising of mostly clipped newspaper articles. Some manuscript pages and some handwritten marginalia.  From the writings within the book, it appears that the scrapbook belonged to Leatitia P. Gregory who married Edmund Ware.  Edmund M.  Ware is mentioned along with a birth date of July 18, 1834.  There is also a Camilla Adelena Ware born August 16, 1839, and a Lucy Amanda Ware, no birth date given.  The scrapbook also contains many handwritten poems, love messages, and related...

Mary Silbee Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00787
Scope and Contents Diary, 1833, of Mary Silbee. Contains aphorisms, poems, and other entries that typically address topics such as religion, love, and relationships. The journal entries are undated and fill the entire volume.

John Page Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00923
Scope and Contents Letter, 14 September 1804, of John Page to [Bishop James?] Madison. Congratulates the recipient for the "happy state of affairs"under his administration.

What muse can dictate or what works express.  A handwritten poem  by John Page.  Undated.

Copy of letter written to "Gentlemen" which concerns military commissions for Thomas Tavener and John Badgley.

Filtered By

  • Subject: American poetry--19th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Names
Madison, James, 1749-1812 2
Taliaferro, Edwin, 1835-1867 2
Archer, William Segar, 1789-1855 1
Badgley, John 1
Belk, George Washington, III 1
∨ more
Bolling, Maurice Landon 1
Brown family 1
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 1
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 1
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 1
Bryan, Elizabeth Tucker Coalter, b. 1805 1
Bryan, John Randolph, 1806-1887 1
Buck, Susan Rebecca 1
Bull, Emma, b. 1812 1
Catron, Louis E. 1
Childress, Cecil Marcia 1
Coalter family 1
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 1
Coalter, Judith H. Tomlin, d. 1859 1
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 1
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 1
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty 1
College of William and Mary. 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Chemistry 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Government 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Home Economics 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
College of William and Mary. General Cooperative Committee 1
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 1
Coulter family 1
Croghan, John 1
Dew, Thomas R. (Thomas Roderick), 1802-1846 1
Dunn, Benny and Cliff 1
Ford, Henry, 1863-1947 1
Garrett, Robert M., 1807-1885 1
Griffin, James Lewis Corbin, 1814-1878 1
Hackley, William Randolph 1
Hoge, Moses Drury, 1818-1899 1
Hope, James Barron, 1829-1887 1
Jones, Warner Throckmorton 1
Key, Francis Scott, 1779-1843 1
Koontz, Amos Ralph, 1890-1965 1
Maddox, William Arthur 1
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 1
Mason, J. M. (James Murray), 1798-1871 1
Mercer, Hugh T.W. 1
Miller and Rhoads (Richmond, Va.) 1
Millington, John, 1779-1868 1
Munford, William, 1775-1825 1
Pendleton, William Nelson, 1809-1883 1
Pleasants, John Hampden, 1797-1846 1
Pollard, John Garland, 1871-1937 1
Preston, William 1
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 1
Randolph, Judith Randolph, fl. 1792-1813 1
Rives, William C. (William Cabell), 1793-1868 1
Rogers, William Barton, 1804-1882 1
Ryland, Archie Garnett 1
Saunders family 1
Scarburgh, George Parker 1
Scottish Widows' Fund and Life Assurance Society 1
Sears, Roebuck and Company 1
Sears, Roebuck and Company--Pictorial works 1
Short, William, 1759-1849 1
Silbee, Mary 1
Smith, John Augustine, 1782-1865 1
Snow, Walter P. 1
Society of the Alumni 1
Student Organizations--Dramatic Club 1
Student Publications--William and Mary Literary Magazine 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
Taliaferro, William R., Jr. 1
Taverner, John 1
Taylor, John Herbert 1
Taylor, Waller 1
Topping, Katheryn M. 1
Tucker family 1
Tucker, Beverley R. (Beverley Randolph), 1874-1945. 1
Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 1
Tucker, John Randolph, 1823-1897 1
Tucker, Lelia Skipwith Carter, 1767-post 1833 1
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 1
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1898 1
United States. President (2009- : Obama) 1
Virginia. State Lottery Dept. 1
Ware, Leatitia P. [Gregory], b. 1807 June 17 1
Warren, William H. 1
Whitehead and Hoag Company (Newark, N.J.) 1
William and Mary Quarterly 1
Wilson, Vernon Gertrude 1
Wise, George Douglas 1
Wright, Ernest L. 1
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 1
∧ less