Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 51 - 75 of 113

Jeff to Louis Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01507
Scope and Contents

Letter about hoping for a quick discharge from the Navy as well as a visit to Tokyo.

Dates: 1945 November 30

Jesse Figula Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01399
Content Description

Series of letters addressed to Jesse Figula A private in the Army who was stationed at the Panama Canal Zone, from various individuals dated 1933-1945. Two of the authors are his brothers, Bill and George, who also join the armed forces during World War, II. Louie, another brother who is serving in the US Navy, also writes to Jesse. In one letter dated 1937, Bill describes a Union strike at the steel mill in their town.

Dates: 1933-1945

Joanna Ross Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01381
Content Description

Four page letter from Joanna Ross written on leaterhead from the Virginia Institution for the education of the deaf, dumb, and the blind, Staunton, Virginia. She describes reading to a blind girl and of learning sign language. She also comments on the mild weather in Staunton, her sister's health, people she has met, and books she has recently enjoyed reading.

Dates: 1883 December 6

John Cigarros Box

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01655
Scope and Contents

Perforated but unfolded box that was meant to hold 10 Cuban cigarettes. The brand is "John" and features a well dressed dark skinned Cuban striking a match to light a cigarette held in his mouth.

Dates: circa 1900

John Marshall Engraving Print

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01397
Content Description

Print copy of the bust of John Marshall, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court in 1801.

Dates: unknown

Josie Brock Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01391
Content Description

Three page letter begging her friend, Sue, to go on a trip as it would please her very much. She comments that the war should not deter her as there is no risk of danger in travelling.

Dates: 1861 February 4

Junior to Parents Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01505
Scope and Contents

Letter from son to parents about life in the army in Germany. Mentions looting and keeping German pistols and swords.

Dates: 1945 April 15

Kate Tuck Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01375
Content Description

Eight letters addressed to Kate Tuck from various individuals regarding family news and personal events. News is of events and people of their town, Scottsburg in Halifax County, Virginia. In one letter, a friend describes two townspeople who had gone insane, Captain Whit, and a dear friend, Mrs. Arnold. Both were taken to the Asylum in Staunton, Virginia. News in the letters also covers other personal matters of townspeople, economic events, and personal matters.

Dates: 1870-1879

Lee Johansen Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01365
Dates: 1970-1971

Leslie Stout Letter to Goldie Stout

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01404
Content Description

Three page letter written on Y.M.C.A. stationary with the heading, "On Active Service" on each page. The letter is addressed to his sister and Stout inquires about his father's health and the status of their brother being called to active duty. He also asks about friends of his sister's and closes indicating that he will soon be in France.

Dates: 1918 August 24

Letters to Craig

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01496
Scope and Contents

Letters from friends Joe, Margie, Jean, and Sue asking about life in the army. Mentions life in high school, work experiences, and asks when Craig is coming home.

Dates: 1943 April - June

Letters to Max Linder

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01646
Scope and Contents

Two letters addressed to Max Linder from his friends, Carl Hoger, and Carl Hoesel. Both discuss the duties they have as Army soldiers stationed in France during World War I. One work in the mess hall and the other reports of his schooling for machine guns. Both despise the cloudy and rainy weather of France and indicate that their health and spirits are high despite one having recently recovered from the flu.

Dates: 1919 January 9 and February 1

Levin to Mattie Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01500
Scope and Contents

Letter about how Mattie's card and gift arrived for Levin in France well in time for Christmas.

Dates: 1944 November 19

H. L. Lindsey Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01503
Scope and Contents

Letter to Harry L. Gandy about a mutual friend, Louis Knakal, and his recovery from an operation.

Dates: 1945 February 27

A. E. Loenbach Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01361
Content Description

Four page letter addressed to "Cousin" from A. E. Loenbach in Harrisonburg, Virginia dated 17 September 1888. Loenbach describes the illness that consumed most of her family over the past few weeks, blaming Typhoid fever as the cause. She also reports that a grandson was born to the family and is healthy at two months of age.

Dates: 1888-09-17

Lois M. Ross Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01352
Content Description Four page letter to Lois Ross from Raymond Ross dated November 8, 1918. He tells her that he is somewhere in Belgium and that this is his fourth front line assignment. He reports that he likes Belgium much better than France. Additionally, he mentions that he participated in the Battle of Argonne Forest and inquires if she had heard about it.26 page letter from James Crawford to his classmate, Lois Ross from Clarksville High School in Clarksville, Ohio dated April 24, 1919. ...
Dates: 1918 November 08; 1919 April 24

Ellis D. Lovern Letters

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: MS 00226
Content Description Letters include one photograph, two ration books, seven V-Mail cards, two War Department postcards, a Roanoke, Virginia newspaper, a greeting card, and several handwritten letters. Letters are primarily written by Ellis David Lovern, Jr to his wife Ruby and daughter Nancy. Lovern served with the U.S. Army during World War II. His letters are sent from “somewhere in” Tennessee, England, Germany, and Belgium. Lovern frequently signs his name as “Elmer.” He addresses his wife’s concern about...
Dates: 1941-1945

Mariagrazia Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01508
Scope and Contents

Letters to Jerry about their families, Mariagrazia's thyroid condition, her plans to go back to school for a Master's in psychology, and their plans for marriage and a family.

Dates: 1948 December - 1949 May

Mary Ellen Vaten Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01392
Content Description

Ten page letter from an unknown person to Mary Ellen Vaten. In it the writer describes an elegant dinner with a judge, colonel, and reverend, among others, and also Papa's new decorations paintings in their house in order to accommodate guests. She explains that the house is in "apple pie" order. There is also lengthy descriptions of wedding plans, and family happenings.

Dates: 1859 October 8

Mollie McWills Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01353
Content Description

Four page letter from Mollie McWills to her family in Stump, Virginia regarding the news of the death of brother Andy and friend Fronia about the same time.

Dates: 1891 September 15

M.E.G. Letter to Hugh Green

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01395
Dates: 1860 May 10

Mordecai Meyers letter to Matthew Maury

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01650
Scope and Contents

A two-page letter from Petersburg, VA informing Maury of the inability to pull into the Harbor ar Norfolk due to the high winds and the desire to protect the cargo for the owners. Additionally, he gives reports on behalf of Captian Bliss of the cargo on board other vessels, chiefly cotton, tobacco, flour, and wheat.

Dates: 1830 November 15

Michael Paro Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01410
Content Description

Ten letters written to Michael Paro, a private in the United States Army serving in Vietnam, mostly from his love interest, Barbara Jensen. In most of the letters, she discusses life after his time in Vietnam and plans for their future. A picture of Barbara is included with one of the letters.

Dates: 1970-1971

James Monroe Free Frank Envelope

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01356
Content Description

An envelope written by James Monroe from Oak Hill to Thomas W. Griffith in Baltimore, Maryland dated February 2, 1828.

Dates: 1828 February 2

Mother to Children Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01513
Scope and Contents

Letter to children expressing sadness about their illness.

Dates: 1870-1890

Filtered By

  • Names: Gary Alonzo Barranger X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
World War, 1939-1945 23
World War, 1914-1918 10
World War, 1914-1918--France 6
Illness 5
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 5
∨ more
African Americans 4
American Civil War, 1861-1865 4
Korean War, 1950-1953 4
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 4
Christmas Activities 3
World War I 3
Basic training (Military education) 2
Camp Lee (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Correspondence 2
Destroyers (Warships) 2
High school students--United States--Social life and customs--20th century 2
Illnesses 2
Love-letters 2
Norfolk (Va.) 2
Tobacco industry 2
World War, 1939-1945--Women 2
Abolitionists 1
Aeronautics, Military--United States--History--20th century 1
Affidavits 1
Africa, Southern -- Description and travel 1
Africa--Description and travel 1
African Americans--Virginia--Roanoke 1
Argonne Forest (France) 1
Arizona--Description and travel 1
Arts and racism 1
Asia--Description and travel 1
Australia--Description and travel 1
Authors, American--Women 1
Betrothal 1
Bills of lading 1
Bills of lading -- United States 1
Blind--Books and reading 1
Boy Scouts 1
Boy Scouts -- Handbooks, manuals, etc. 1
Business 1
Business records 1
Calendars 1
Charlottesville (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Children with disabilities--Education. 1
Children--United States--History--19th century 1
Citizen suits (Civil procedure) -- United States 1
Coins (money) 1
College life 1
College of William and Mary--History 1
Complaints (Civil procedure) 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 6th 1
Cotton trade--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Courtship 1
Cuba--Foreign relations 1
Deaf--Education--United States 1
Death 1
Debt 1
Dysentery 1
Education 1
Elections--United States--History 1
European currency unit 1
Farm life 1
Farming 1
Financial records 1
Fort Lee (Va.) 1
Fort McClellan, Ala. 1
Furloughs 1
Gardening -- Societies, etc. 1
Gearing Class (Destroyers) 1
Germany--Social conditions 1
Idaho--Description and travel 1
Influenza Epidemic, 1918-1919 1
Insurance, Life--United States 1
Kenton (Ohio) 1
Land grants 1
Legal documents 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Lynchburg (Va.) 1
Marriage 1
Marriage, Promise of 1
Massachusetts--History--19th century 1
Mental illness--United States 1
Merchants 1
Military bases -- United States 1
Military occupation--Social aspects--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Missionaries--United States--19th century 1
Music - Manuscripts 1
Nashville (Tenn.)--History--19th century 1
Naval operations 1
Navy-yards and naval stations -- United States 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History, Naval. 1
Panama Canal Zone 1
Pen pals 1
Photographs 1
Portraits, American 1
Portsmouth (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Postcards--Virginia 1
Practice of law 1
Presidents--United States--Election--1848 1
Public hospitals--Medical staff 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 110
Spanish; Castilian 2
Latin 1
 
Names
United States. Army. 4
College of William and Mary 3
Monroe, James, 1758-1831 3
United States Navy 3
United States. Army 2
∨ more
Aeschleman, Leonard R. 1
Allen, H. 1
Armstrong, Norm A. 1
Arnett, Frank P. 1
Beck, Frederick D. 1
Boy Scouts of America. 1
Brock, Josie 1
Cabana, Leonard R. 1
Cadwallader, Richard 1
Carlisle, Marjorie 1
Carpenter, Albina 1
Carpenter, Avery 1
Carpenter, Betty 1
Carpenter, Charlotte 1
Carpenter, James E. 1
Carpenter, James Saylor 1
Carpenter, Paul A. 1
Carpenter, Velma 1
Causler, Estelle 1
Chamerouzow, Louis Alexis 1
Clarence K. Bronson (Destroyer) 1
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington (1832-1908) 1
Collins, Clarkson A. 1
Comfort, Elsie 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Cavalry Regiment, 17th. Company F 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 17th 1
Crawford, James Arthur 1
Creager, Arrah 1
Davenport, Lawrence 1
Dowdy, Daniel David 1
Ferber, Edna, 1887-1968 1
Fountain, W. A. 1
Gelbach, Bill 1
Gibbons, Thomas Roy 1
Granke, Ray 1
Green, Anne Catharine, -1775 1
Griffin, C. 1
Hall, Berdean 1
Henderson, Dorothy Mae 1
Homard, Glenn Clarence 1
Inglewood, Vida 1
Johansen, Lee 1
Lindsay, John V. (John Vliet) 1
Lindsey, H. L. 1
Loenbach, A. E. 1
Lovern, Ellis D 1
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 1
Mary II, Queen of England, 1662-1694 1
McWills, Mollie 1
Mosby, Mary Randolph 1
Newton, Bill 1
Petelle, Edwin 1
Pratt, Arthur P. 1
Preston, William 1
Prier, C. 1
Roebuck, Basil E. 1
Rome, William M. 1
Roosevelt, Eleanor, 1884-1962 1
Ross, Joanna 1
Ross, Raymond 1
Sabenski, John A. 1
Sanderbeck, Edward C. 1
Sanders, Stephen 1
Sevain, Phillip O. 1
Shimmiok, Maurice 1
Taylor, Wyman 1
Taylor, Zachary, 1784-1850 1
Teague, Judson V. 1
Thompson, S. A. 1
Tinsley, Geirge W. 1
Tucker, Lucy A. Smith 1
United States. Army Reserve 1
United States. Army. Engineer Battalion, 34th 1
United States. Army. Women's Army Corps 1
United States. Naval Reserve. Women's Reserve 1
University of Virginia 1
Victoria, Queen of Great Britain, 1819-1901 1
Wilkinson, Oscar E. 1
William III, King of England, 1650-1702 1
William and Mary School of Law 1
Woods, Richard 1
Wysor, Henry C. 1
+ ∧ less