Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3

Dora and Cara Armistead Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2004.24, 2006.54
Scope and Contents Papers from the household of Dora Travis Armistead (1890-1979) and Rowland Cara Armistead, sisters of Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes letters, personal, financial and business papers of Cary Peyton Armistead (1856-1901), father of Dora and Cara, Steward of Eastern Lunatic Asylum (now Eastern State Hospital), and prominent local Episcopal Church and school leader; Eudora Ester Armistead (d. 1940), mother; Cary Champion Armistead (d. 1944), brother, and lawyer for a time in Detroit, Michigan;...

Armistead Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00401
Content Description Letters, photographs, postcards, and business receipts of the Armistead family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Dates range from 1865- 1946 but the bulk of the collection is from 1927- 1929 including most of the letters. Letters were addressed to Dora, Cora, and Mother Armistead and from the same in addition to Cary "Champ" Armistead. The postcards and one letter are from friends of the family. The two photographs in this collection are of Dora Armistead and "mother" (Eudora) Armistead undated...

Seedsmans' Catalogs

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.218 and 2006.54
Scope and Contents Hundreds of catalogs from many gardening businesses in the United States.  These catalogs were known as Seedsmans' Catalogs and sold seeds, plants and gardening supplies.

Includes an alphabetical card index file for Mss. Acc. 2008.218.