Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 4863

4-H Club (Chesterfield County, Va.) Minute Books

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00230
Scope and Contents

Minute book, 1933-1934, 1936-1941 for the Chesterfield County, Virginia 4-H Club. Listed are club officers, club roll, attendance and minutes of monthly meetings. There is also a summary page and a listing of 'general club activities' at the end of the volumes.

Dates: 1933-1941

6th Battery of Binghamton, N.Y. Veterans Minute Book

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00190
Scope and Contents Minute book, 1871-1911 of the 28th Brigade, Battery A, (Binghamton, N.Y.), which later became the 6th Battery (3rd and 4th Division).Entries are for regular monthly as well as special meetings and detail resolutions, motions made, changes to bylaws and reports of the finance, entertainment and library committees. Activities included, among others, concerts, annual dances and receptions, and 4th of July celebrations.Recorded are names of members, officers, and the...
Dates: 1871-1911

17th and 18th century British periodicals

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00359
Content Description

Thirty-three publications from a variety of British newspapers and periodicals ranging from the 17th to the 18th century. Also included is a thirty-one page information packet compiled by William E. Rivers to accompany the collection.

Dates: Circa 1600 - 1800

50th Anniversary of African American Students in Residence Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 37
Scope and Contents

This collection contains material produced during the 2017-2018 academic year, which celebrated and commemorated 50 years of African American students in residence at William & Mary. Included are printed material and artifacts, the event's website, as well as email correspondence between committee members and digital files sent as email attachments. Digital material requires at least 72 hours advanced notice for access.

Dates: 2017-2018

275th Anniversary Celebration Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 60
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of 2 boxes of materials relating to the college's 275th anniversary celebration. These include budget materials, schedules, programs, invitations, executive committee minutes, publications, and thank you letters. Inventory available in the Special Collections Research Center.

Dates: 1967-1969; Majority of material found in 1967-1969

369th African American Infantry Regiment Photographs

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00085
Scope and Contents Over 170 photographs of African American men in military uniform that lacks any distinguishing insignia but some uniforms feature a coiled rattlesnake, the patch adopted by the 369th Infantry Regiment which was stationed in Hawaii during World War II.  The men of this regiment called themselves the Black Rattlers, Harlem Hell-fighters, and the Men of Bronze.  The 369th Regiment was formerly known as the 15th New York National Guard Regiment, the first African American to serve with the...
Dates: 1942- 1944

398th United States Army Air Force Bombardment Squadron Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00799
Scope and Contents Contains a handwritten diary, roster, booklets, and newsletters that were collected by a member of the 398th Bombardment Squadron, 504th Bombardment Group of the Twentieth United States Army Air Force that was stationed on Tinian Island during Word War II. Included in the collection is a diary written by an unknown soldier that follows his voyage from Seattle, Washington in November 1944 up through the end of the War in September 1945. The unknown soldier was an enlisted soldier and worked...
Dates: 1944-1945

442nd Regimental Combat Team Photograph Album

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01573
Scope and Contents 18 black and white photographs spanning 8 pages which feature soldiers from a Japanese American segregated regiment. Most of the photographs are of the soldiers posing, working, and relaxing at camp, most likely Camp Shelby in Mississippi. Three photos are accompanied by captions. The regiment was made up mostly of second generation Japanese citizens who fought mostly in Europe. Their motto was "Go for Broke" and they are the most decorated unit in the history of American war fighting. ...
Dates: 1942-1944

A. L. Monk Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01308
Content Description

Two page letter written on USO stationary to a former commander, Lieutenant Colonel Louis Weiss. Because of censorship and the secrecy of his work, Monk cannot discuss locations, topics of jobs, or even names of others he interacts with. He does, however, comment at length regarding the weather.

Dates: 1944 January 8

A New and Accurate Map of the Islands of Cuba; Hispaniola or Santo Domingo, and Porto Rico

 Collection — Box: Small Collections Oversize Box 4, Folder: 1
Identifier: SC 01668
Scope and Contents

Two copper engraved maps on one sheet, hand-colored. The maps' cartouches state they are "drawn from the most approved Maps & Charts and Regulated by Astron[mical] Observations." Includes Bahama Islands, the Windward Passage, the Virgin Islands, island place names, map scale, and compass rose. Bodies of water noted: Gulf of Mexico, North Sea, and Atlantic Ocean.

Dates: 1747

A Portrait of Her photographs

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01863
Content Description

A series of 32 black and white self-portraits and nature photography by Prasanna Patel taken in 2023 to create a portrait of the artist's great-grandmother.

Dates: 2023 September 20

A. R. Meenan Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00390
Content Description

One page letter from Meenan in Lynchburg, Virginia to an unknown recipient dated March 2, 1853. He writes in the hope that he may secure a position from President-Elect Franklin Pierce within his new administration as Pierce was sworn in as President just a few days later. In the letter, Meenan also requests that should he receive a political appointment, that it come early in Pierce's Administration.

Dates: 1853 March 2

"A Short History of H. W. Halleck" Booklet

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00439
Scope and Contents

Small booklet likely packed in Duke's Cigarettes on the history of General H. W. (Henry Wager) Halleck. Published by Knapp & Company in 1888.

Dates: 1888

Abby Edwards Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00992
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1911-1913, of Abby Edwards of Riverside California. Includes information about Edwards' trips to the beach, her depression and treatments for it, people that she visited, and events she attended, among others. There is also a letter, 1897, from Frank Edwards to Abby that was tucked inside the diary.

Dates: 1911-1913; 1897

Abner K. Pratt, II Student Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.222
Scope and Contents

Two papers written by Pratt for Professor Warner Moss' Government class. One is titled "The Influence of Ethnic Groups in Boston Politics" (Jan. 15, 1947), and the other one is titled "Republican-Democrats in a Boston Ward with a Consideration of the Effects of Improved Economic Status on the Political Preference of the Boston Irish" (May 19,1947).

Dates: 1947

Abolitionist Movement Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01101
Scope and Contents Letters, a speech, and a photograph relating to the abolitionist movement in the United States. Correspondents include: Theodore Dwight Weld (1803-1895) of Lane Seminary, Elizur Wright (1804-1885), Secretary of the American Anti-Slavery Society, Gerrit Smith (1797-1874), philanthropist and reformer, Henry Grew (1782-1862), Quaker abolitionist, William Lloyd Garrison (1805-1879), prominent abolitionist, and Parker Pillsbury (1809-1898), abolitionist author. Subjects include abolition tactics...
Dates: 1834-1888

Abraham Family photographs

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01862
Content Description A collection of 27 8x10 silver gelatin prints that includes photographs of Dana Abraham's family. Each photograph is black and white with white borders, and spans from Fall 2022 to Spring 2023. Most of the photographs are of young women and girls of the Abraham family, with some elderly members of the family also included. The photographs are representative of the Abraham family's bond. Statement from creator and donor Dana Abraham: "The bond my family shares is something truly...
Dates: 2022-2023

Abraham Lincoln Ephemera From England

 Collection — Box: Small Collections Box 110, Folder: 1-3
Identifier: SC 01672
Scope and Contents Newspaper articles, pamphlets, and other ephemera from England about Abraham Lincoln. Some items relate to the relationship between Manchester, England and Abraham Lincoln, and the Barnard Statue dedicated there in 1919. Manchester supported Lincoln during the American Civil War, and suffered greatly because much of their community depended on the cotton industry. Some clippings are about the Lincoln Collection of Osborn H. Oldroyd which was sold to the U.S. Government in 1925. Many...
Dates: 1909-1930, undated

Abraham Rudisill Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00759
Scope and Contents Diary, 1875-1886, of Abraham Rudisill, a member of the 43rd Pennsylvania Light Artillery during the Civil War. It is primarily contemplative in nature and contains many references and rememberances to his service during the Civil War, including at the battle of Gettsyburg, gambling during the Civil War, the battle of Bull Run, and other events and battles. Also includes information on Rudisill's personal and religious life as well as the death of his wife. The diary itself seems to be...
Dates: 1875-1886

Vice President for Academic Affairs

 Collection
Identifier: 00/02/01/UA 192
Scope and Contents Acc. 1983.040 contains correspondence regarding the Board of Visitors, primarily from the 1970s. Acc. 1999.045 contains correspondence and reports concerning EEO (1970-1973), the Employee Recognition Award (1973), faculty appointment refusals (1965-1966), case files for David R. Francis (1971) and William R. Langston (1961), and the Law School (1965-1966, 1974). Acc. 2008.114 contains correspondence and reports mostly to Dr. George Healey, Vice President for Academic...
Dates: circa 1961-1990

Account and History of the Tazewell Family

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad1
Scope and Contents

Autobiography, 1823, written by Littleton Waller Tazewell entitiled "An Account and History of the Tazewell Family," which concerns his life and his family.

Typescript available.

There is an edited version by Lynda Rea Heaton as "Littleton Waller Tazewell's Sketch of His Own Family." (M.A. Thesis, College of William and Mary, 1967).

Dates: 1823

Augusta County Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap44
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1804-1824, of an unidentified person of [Augusta County, Va. ?]

Dates: 1804-1824

Account Book, Richmond, Virginia

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap45
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1824-1836, of an unidentified person which includes records of stocks and an account with the Bank of the United States, Richmond, Va.  Includes stock entries for the James River Company, Moses M. Myers and others.

Dates: 1824-1836

Account Book of Unknown Merchant

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap46
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1858, of an unidentified person.

Dates: 1858

Account Book Including Recipes and Home Remedies

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap47
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1858-1869, of an unidentified person which includes recipes and home remedies.

Dates: 1856-1869

Filtered By

  • Language: English X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 943
Account books 509
Photographs 395
College of William and Mary--Students 372
Diaries 332
∨ more
Financial records 281
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 279
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 278
Scrapbooks 256
Letters (correspondence) 219
Legal documents 213
Ledgers (Accounting) 203
Reports 172
Notebooks 163
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 154
World War, 1939-1945 152
Receipts (financial records) 151
Fliers (printed matter) 148
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 142
Minutes 133
Programs 124
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 123
Manuscripts (document genre) 113
Women--Diaries 112
Clippings (information artifacts) 101
Publications 86
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 80
Journals (accounts) 77
Pamphlets 77
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 75
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 71
Newsletters 65
Genealogy 64
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 62
Booklets 59
Typescripts 59
World War, 1914-1918 59
Certificates 54
Printed ephemera 54
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 54
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 52
Poems 51
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 48
Invitations 47
Postcards 47
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 47
Virginia--Genealogy 47
College of William and Mary--Students--Social life and customs 45
Newspapers 45
Women college students 45
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 45
Class materials 42
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 42
Agendas (administrative records) 41
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 41
Speeches 41
Daybooks 40
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History--19th century 40
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 40
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 40
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 39
Speeches, addresses, etc. 39
College of William and Mary--History--21st century 37
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 37
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 37
Invoices 36
Memorandums 36
New York (State)--Social life and customs 36
Photocopies 36
Women--Travel 36
Announcements 35
Autograph albums 35
United States--Politics and Government 35
American Civil War, 1861-1865 34
World War, 1939-1945--United States 34
Minute books 33
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 33
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 33
American poetry--19th century 32
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 32
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 32
Accounts 31
Maps 31
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 31
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 31
Athletics 29
Business records 29
Women--History--Virginia 27
Photostats 26
Recipes 26
United States--History--War of 1812 26
Virginia--History 26
Women--Societies and clubs 26
World War, 1914-1918--France 26
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 26
Virginia--Governors 25
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 25
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 24
Medicine--Formulae, receipts, prescriptions 24
Research notes 24
+ ∧ less
 
Language
French 33
German 31
Latin 22
Spanish; Castilian 12
Japanese 6
∨ more  
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 246
College of William and Mary. 124
Gary Alonzo Barranger 110
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 101
College of William and Mary 87
∨ more
College of William and Mary--Faculty 36
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 30
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 29
Office of the President 27
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 26
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 24
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 24
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 23
College of William and Mary. School of Education 22
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 21
Barranger & Company, Inc. 20
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 20
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 19
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 18
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 18
Madison, James, 1749-1812 18
United States. Army. 17
College of William and Mary--Sports 16
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 16
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 15
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 15
State Male Normal College of Virginia 15
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors. 14
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 14
Monroe, James, 1758-1831 14
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 14
United States Congress 14
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 13
University of Virginia 13
College of William and Mary. Department of Athletics. 12
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 12
College of William and Mary. School of Business Administration 12
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 12
Virginia House of Delegates 12
Washington, George, 1732-1799 12
William III, King of England, 1650-1702 12
Chandler, J. A. C. (Julian Alvin Carroll), 1872-1934 11
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 11
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 11
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 11
United States. Army 11
Wise, Henry A. (Henry Alexander), 1806-1876 11
Tucker 10
Tyler Family 10
United States Navy 10
Virginia Institute of Marine Science 10
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 9
Choir and Chorus 9
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Chemistry 9
Democratic Party (U.S.) 9
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 9
Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs. 9
Student Activities 9
Virginia State Senate 9
Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 9
Camp Peary (Va.) 8
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Anthropology 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Fine Arts 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Physics 8
Democratic Party (Va.) 8
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 8
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 8
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 8
Republican Party (U.S.) 8
Society of the Alumni 8
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia 8
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 7
Cabell, James Branch, 1879-1958 7
Clay, Henry, 1777-1852 7
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Biology 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Mathematics 7
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Sociology 7
College of William and Mary. University Archives. 7
Galt family 7
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 7
Madison, James, 1751-1836 7
Mary II, Queen of England, 1662-1694 7
Nichol, Gene R., 1951- 7
Student Life--1990's 7
Swem, E. G. (Earl Gregg), 1870-1965 7
Verkuil, Paul R 7
Washington family 7
Whig Party (U.S.) 7
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 7
American Red Cross 6
Buchanan, James, 1791-1868 6
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 6
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Government 6
Development Office--Endowment Association 6
Eastern Lunatic Asylum (Va.) 6
Gloucester County Board of Supervisors 6
Goodwin, William Archer Rutherfoord, 1869-1939 6
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 6
+ ∧ less