Showing Collections: 1 - 8 of 8
Collection
Identifier: SC 00866
Scope and Contents
Travel diary of Frances Evarts Clark of Washington, D.C. on a trip to Asia and Europe. Her first entry is from Honolulu, Hawaii in November, 1926. The Captain of the U.S.S. Charmont, John H. Blackburn, signed her diary along with a few fellow travelers. Near the front of the diary, she has drawn a pencil picture of a ship with flying birds and has written, "Outward Bound" and "5 December 1926, A.W.R." In December, Clark is in Guam where they quarantined because there is measles...
Dates:
1926-1927
Collection
Identifier: SC 00851
Scope and Contents
Travel diary of John G. and Verna O. Francis, 1931, describing their sea voyage from New York City to the Philippine Islands, via the Panama Canal, San Fransisco and Hawaii on board of the transport ship US Grant.
Dates:
1931
Collection
Identifier: SC 00848
Scope and Contents
Two letters written by H. M. Lewis, a missionary in Sendai, Japan to Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Creasy in Roanoke, Virginia in 1932 and 1934 respectively.One letter includes a description of "child life in Japan" that the author suggests might be useful for a Bible class.The second letter consists of a 15 page description titled "The Log" (circulation 120) and describes in detail travels to different places in Asia. Sections are titled: 'Manila', 'Along the China Sea - Hong...
Dates:
1932-1934
Collection
Identifier: 0SC 00097
Scope and Contents
Photograph album comprising 15 pages and 61 black and white photographs of various sizes. The photographs are adhered to the stiff heavy paper sheets. Photograph album was created by John Carling, Major and Assistant Surgeon of the 35th United States Volunteer Infantry. It consists of photographs documenting world travels while on board the United States Army Transport Ship, Thomas, around 1901. Descriptions of the photographs and location accompany each...
Dates:
1901
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2010.055
Scope and Contents
This collection contains the papers and biographic material, 1899-1946, of the Reed family of Floyd County, Virgina and Warren, Ohio. Included are personal letters and photographs, as well as records relating to service of family members in WWI and WWII. The correspondence series consists largely of personal letters written by Asa Daniel Reed to his future wife, Clarence Elizabeth Mangus (later Clarence Elizabeth Reed), during Reed's service in the U.S. Army. Reed's assignments included...
Dates:
1899-1946; Majority of material found in 1910-1946
Collection
Identifier: MS 00024
Scope and Contents
The collection consists of letters, ephemera, and original art work created by S. Cole Bradley while stationed in the Philippines as a staff sergeant in the United States Air Force during World War II. The bulk of the letters are addressed to Eudora Lampman, whom he would later marry. The sketches are done in pencil as well as pen and ink with watercolors. The drawings depict everyday military life in the Philippines including ships, landscapes, and servicemen at work and leisure.
Dates:
circa 1941-1945, 1991-1994
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Tr7
Scope and Contents
Diary, 1899, of Bert Ward, an enlisted soldier in the Spanish- American War which concerns his trip from Plattsburg, New York to San Francisco, California and the Philippines. The volume describes skirmishes and the "civilization" of the Filipino people.
Dates:
1899
Collection
Identifier: SC 01690
Scope and Contents
Assorted but unrelated materials from before, during and immediately after World War I, including a photograph of a young man in military uniform, labeled "Richard Flack"; an envelope addressed to Carlotta Howard; an invoice for stamps bought at the United States Military Academy; and a "Food Conservation Notes" newspaper.There is also a two-page typed letter sent from John J. Miland, Company "E" 13th Infantry, Manila, Philippines to Captain Charles N. Murphy. Captain Murphy was...
Dates:
1913-1923
