Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4

Annie McNeil letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01850
Scope and Contents

Single, handwritten letter to Annie McNeil of Hillsboro, New Hampshire. Composition is approximated between 1870-1880. Letter is from an unidentified female acquaintance and discusses matters such as engagements and health.

Dates: Circa 1870-1880
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Beverly Simonton Kelly Letters

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.233
Scope and Contents This collection includes letters written by Beverly Simonton Kelly to her parents from her freshman year at William & Mary in 1949, until her graduation in 1953. Her letters mention and/or discuss a number of subjects, including (but not limited to) registration, purchasing her Duc cap for $1.00, her first curtsy to Lord Botetourt, freshman customs, the honor system, her class schedules, cost of books, social rules for women, the campus, social events and activities,...
Dates: 1949-1953, 1998
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Diary on Dating

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00791
Scope and Contents

Diary, circa 1920s, of an unknown woman, possibily with the last name Jackson, entitled "Dates." Contains the names of men with whom she went on dates as well as some of the activities in which they participated. There is also information about the time that she would arrive home from these dates, as well as her opinion of how each of them went.

Dates: circa 1920s
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Henry Clyde Ross Letters

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.147
Scope and Contents Letters, 1953-1955, of Henry Clyde Ross to his fiancée, Ella Brown, while the former was a private in the United States Army. Letters primarily detail Ross's life at basic training at Fort Lee, Virginia, his trip to Fort Lewis in Washington, and then his service in Korea after the war ended.In the last few letters, Ross writes that he is worried that something is wrong and that he has been hearing things from other people who write to him. In the penultimate letter, it seems as...
Dates: 1953-1955
Found in: Special Collections Research Center