Showing Collections: 1 - 11 of 11
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV As1
Scope and Contents
Ledger, 1857-1858, of the Albemarle Female Institute of Charlottesville, Va.
Note: The 1858/59 and 1892/93 printed catalogs of the Albemarle Female Institute are in the Rare Book Collection.
Dates:
1857-1858
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B16
Scope and Contents
Collection includes papers, 1656-1848, concerning Essex County, Va. including land records and wills, many of which relate to the Rowzee family. Many of the records date from the seventeenth century. The collection also includes correspondence, 1830-1920, of members of the Baird family including letters, 1859-1911, of Edward R. Baird while attending the University of Virginia, serving in Pickett's Division and as superintendent of schools in Essex County. There are...
Dates:
1656-1922; Majority of material found in 1656-1848
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B84
Scope and Contents
Letters, accounts, and legal papers of Dr. Charles Brown. Collection includes letters, 1813-1818, concerning patients (including slaves). Includes land signed by Henry Lee and John Tyler, items relating to "Actonplace" [Acton] English estate of William Jennings and plats of land in Albemarle County, Virginia; as well as letters of members of the Brown family. Charles Brown Papers 1792-1888, Albemarle County Virginia is available on microfilm in Swem Library’s...
Dates:
1792-1888
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.41
Scope and Contents
The Campbell Family Papers is a collection of business records, personal documents and photographs belonging to the Campbell and Sampson families of Albemarle County, Virginia dating from 1795 to 1945. The great majority of the documents are the business records of Joseph Watson Campbell (1795-1875). These include tax bills and receipts, accounts between Campbell and various merchants, receipts for goods and services received and rendered, promissory notes and papers relating to other family...
Dates:
1795-1945
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Adi2
Scope and Contents
Ledger, 1799-1812, of an unidentified distiller, of Albemarle County, Virginia. Includes ledger, 1779-1786, of an unidentified merchant who had an account with Thomas Jefferson.
The two individuals who kept the volume each numbered the pages (127 p. and 224 p.)
Dates:
1779-1812
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 Ea6
Scope and Contents
Includes correspondence (112 pieces), 1890-1915, of Oscar N. Early, farmer of Albemarle and Prince William counties, Va. Includes letters from his wife Mary Brown Early and his brother, Everett E. Early. Also includes printed circular letters, sheets and cards as well as accounts. Includes letter, 25 February 1914, concerning the estate of William Jennings of Acton, England.
Dates:
1888-1915
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Lev3
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 G19
Scope and Contents
This inventory contains personal and buisness correspondence, financial documents, loans, promissory notes, legal documents, tax information, and land records belonging to the Jesse Garth family of Charlottesville, Albemarle County, Virginia, The majority of the inventory documents correspondence chiefly from 1800-1854 between family members, mostly the adult children of Jesse and Elizabeth Garth, fl. 1798-1854, especially Lucy E. B. Garth, fl. 1820-1849; Sarah Garth Goodman, fl. 1820-1842;...
Dates:
1798-1872
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Lev2
Scope and Contents
Receipt book, 1887-1909, of L. C. Watts, sheriff of Albemarle County, Virginia.
Dates:
1887-1909
Collection
Identifier: MS 00179
Scope and Contents
Letters, journals, and other material relating to Lelia W. Burnett, who was at Miller School in Charlottesville, Virginia. Letters primarily date from the 1880s and 1890s while the journals are from G.H. Farrar and date from the 1920s and 1930s. Also included are woven strands of hair from unknown persons.
Dates:
circa 1880s-1930s
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Am21
Scope and Contents
Account book of unknown physician who lived in area of Albemarle County and Charlottesville, Virginia. Many of his patients were faculty or students at the University of Virginia.
Dates:
1848-1878
