Showing Collections: 51 - 55 of 55
Rosalie White Irwin Letters
Collection
Identifier: MS 00342
Content Description
A collection of two hundred and twenty-one letters sent to Rosalie White Irwin, a resident of Richmond, Virginia, dated from 1937 to 1950. Most of the letters included are from a variety of male admirers or boyfriends, including her future husband, Ted. The men are all serving in the army at the end of World War II and in the years following. Their letters provide descriptions of army and camp life both at home and abroad in India, the Philippines, Australia, Japan, and the South Pacific....
Dates:
1937 - 1950
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Sheet Music Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.07
Scope and Contents
The Sheet Music Collection includes sheet music collected by the Special Collections Research Center.
Dates:
1827-1974
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John J. Waller Service Record
Collection
Identifier: SC 00690
Scope and Contents
Service record book, 1943-1946, of John J. Waller, a member of the United States Army from Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Includes a list of his duty stations, ranks that he held, his citations and decorations, places he visited, and his discharge date. There are also photographs of Waller from various points in his service.
Dates:
1943-1946
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
H.T. Wilbur Diary
Collection
Identifier: SC 00839
Scope and Contents
Diary of a medical doctor who served in the U.S. Navy beginning July 5, 1942, when he reported for duty at the Navy Yard in Washington, D.C. The name given on the front of the diary is H.T. Wilbur which suggests him as the author. Wilbur was detached for duty to the U.S.M.C. recruiting station, also Washington, D.C. He writes extensively on medical issues and cases and events encountered during his tour of duty. At the start of his diary he also reflects on his career decision and discusses...
Dates:
1942-1943
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Women's Army Corps Album
Collection
Identifier: MS 00064
Scope and Contents
Photograph album containing 196 pictures of women in the Women's Army Corps (WAC). Some of the photographs are labeled, but most contain no means of identification of the persons photographed. One photograph, featuring women marching with gas masks, is a photograph that was widely distributed during and after World War II. Many of the photographs feature women in uniforms, marching in formation, and life in the women's barracks. There are also women enjoying liberty at beach locations, on...
Dates:
1943-1945
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center