Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
Leven Powell papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 P87
Scope and Contents
This collection is largely comprised of the correspondence of Leven Powell, who served in American Revolutionary War as well as the Virginia House of Delegates, and the U. S. House of Representatives.The letters reflect military and civilian events in Virginia during the Revolutionary war, United States and Virginia politics, and foreign relations in the early national period. The collection also includes financial records concerning the Revolutionary War and Loudoun County,...
Dates:
1774-1806
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
McGavock Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 M17
Scope and Contents
Papers (including correspondence, legal documents, and accounts) of James McGavock (1728-1812), his son James McGavock (1764-1838) and his grandsons James McGavock (1804-1839) and Stephen McGavock (1807-1880). Many of the papers concern lead mines at Fort Chiswell, Va, slavery, agriculture, aspects of the Revolutionary War, and other. Included are a list of parish levies before 1776; receipts for supplies issued at Fort Chiswell, Wythe County, Va. and at Fort Patrick Henry, Tenn. for an...
Dates:
1760-1888
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Preston Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 P91
Scope and Contents
This inventory, chiefly 1786-1815, represents three generations of the Preston family, and likewise can be divided into the following: Items relating to William Preston (ca. 1729-1783), 1755-1782, primarily photostats of appointments to various county offices (coroner, sheriff and surveyor) and to positions in the Virginia militia; but also including original appointments, 1763 and 1776; a surveyor's entry; 1774; and letters, 1773-1782, to Preston concerning land, the Cherokee...
Dates:
1755-1836; Majority of material found in 1786-1815
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Virginia Counties Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents
Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.
Dates:
1600-2000; Majority of material found in 1730-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center