Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3
Barker-Cooke Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B24
Scope and Contents
Letters and business papers, chiefly 1848-1866, of James E. Cooke of Powhatan, Virginia and the Barker family of Fluvanna County, Virginia. Includes letters relating to the hiring out of slaves, plantation operations and the Civil War. Civil War letters are between John H. Barker and Henry J. Dobbs of the 18th Virginia Regiment of the Confederate army concerning the Battle of First Bull Run/Manassas.
Dates:
1809-1889; Majority of material found in 1848-1866
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Richard Blow Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B625
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1772-1872
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Carter Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C24
Scope and Contents
The collection includes: correspondence and land records of Robert "King" Carter; correspondence and land records of his sons Robert Carter (1704-1731) and Landon Carter (1710-1778); correspondence, accounts, land records and the appointment to the Virginia Council of Robert Carter (1728-1804), son of Robert Carter (1704-1731); correspondence, diaries, land records and accounts of Robert Wormeley Carter (1734-1804), son of Landon Carter of Sabine Hall; and correspondence and land records and...
Dates:
1667-1862; Majority of material found in 1792-1861
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center