Showing Collections: 1 - 6 of 6
Florence Barber Diary
Collection
Identifier: SC 00834
Scope and Contents
This diary was formerly described as an unattributed diary and entitled: Diary (Portsmouth, Va.), 1901, but has now been attributed to Florence Barber of Norfolk, Virginia. In brief daily entries she talks about the weather, chores, and social life, trips to town, church, attending meetings, etc. In August she went to visit churches and schools in Georgia and Alabama, like Atlanta University and Spelman College, both historically black schools. She also mentions teaching music, attending...
Dates:
1902
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Nancy Edelen Diaries
Collection
Identifier: MS 00164
Scope and Contents
The diaries were kept in three separate appointment books. Each book had the year displayed on its cover, and the pages inside were set up to show the day’s appointments. Nancy made her entries in the 1951 appointment book and in the following two years, she made her entries in the books for 1952 and 1953. Because the space assigned for the days’ appointments in each book was fixed, she generally limited her daily entries to the space available, but she frequently wrote in the margin to note...
Dates:
1951-1953
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Farm Diaries (Virginia)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.265
Scope and Contents
Twenty-two diaries kept by unidentified farm owner or manager for the years 1923-1944 and 1954. Entries are mostly brief and note daily weather and chores performed on the farm, which employed 6-8 men year round and up to 60 on the orchard during picking season. Most entries give the full names of workers employed each day and broken down by task. The identity of the farm and location have not been positively established at this point: The seller notes that the farm was assumed...
Dates:
1923-1944, 1954
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Eleanor W. Perrin Diaries
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 96 P42
Scope and Contents
Diaries; 1922-1967, of Eleanor Wormley Perrin of "Goshen," Gloucester County, Va. These forty-five diaries span nearly a half century, from 1922 to 1967, and document life in 20th century Virginia. Perrin's diaries discuss local events, female social life, national events such as wars and politics, hurricanes, the death of family and friends, and other topics. Toward the end of Perrins's life her diary entries increase in length and intimateness, often expressing loneliness and reflecting...
Dates:
1922-1967
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Richard Rabenstein Diary
Collection
Identifier: SC 01060
Scope and Contents
Diary, 1942-1944, of Richard Rabenstein of Chester, West Virginia. Rabenstein was born on 5 December 1933, making him 8 years old when he started keeping this diary. Discusses events at school, at his church, scores of football and basketball games, the weather, and other issues.
Dates:
1942-1944
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Robert W. Campbell Diary
Collection
Identifier: SC 00902
Scope and Contents
Robert Campbell lives near Reliance, Virginia in Warren County, Virginia. He is likely a high school student since he usually notes whether he attended school, which he often does not. He begins writing in November 1906 with one or two line entries of his activities, which consist of school, work, events such as butchering or marriages, visits to area towns, visits to neighbors, playing, hunting, fishing, work in the garden and church. He also gives the weather for most entries....
Dates:
1906-1910
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center