Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
Collection
Identifier: SC 00619
Scope and Contents
Letter written by Henry E. Edmunds to Claiborne G. Barksdale, a member of the 14th Virginia Regiment, about the patriotic fervor of the early days of the American Civil War, shortly after Virginia ceded from the Union the month before. In the letter, Edmunds wrote of Barksdale joining the Virginia troops, how Edmunds would make a great soldier if he was younger, a local man named Townes gathering up troops to join the fight, and the great condition of the wheat crop.
Dates:
1861 May 22
Collection
Identifier: MS 00340
Scope and Contents
The McLeod-Tyler Family papers contains materials from members of the McLeod-Tyler family. Included in the collection are diaries and scrapbooks of Lieutenant John G. Tyler II during World War II, a typed transcript of a Civil War Memoir of Edward Keville Glennan; a commemorative collection of 20 battle pictures, entitled "Advance in the Pacific, New Guinea to the Philipines"; and two high school poetry anthologies, 1969-1970 to which J. Goodenow Tyler III contributed. Also included in the...
Dates:
1930-2007 and undated
Collection
Identifier: SC 00359
Scope and Contents
The collection contains the letters of Pvt. Adam Porter of Co. A, 194th Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment, stationed at Camp Carroll, Md. to his sister and brother-in-law in Williamsport, Pa. He describes camp life. Included is a pen and ink sketch of Porter and a carte-de-visite of him in uniform.
5 items.
Dates:
1864
Collection
Identifier: MS 00266
Scope and Contents
The collection contains letters written by Rufus Robbins, Jr. to family members during the Civil War. In his year and a half of service in the 7th Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry, Robbins freqently wrote to his parents and brothers Henry and Edwin in South Abington, Massachusetts. The letters contain information about camp life and the activities of Robbins' regiment. Of note, the letter dated May 11, 1862 gives Robbins' account of the Battle of Williamsburg, which took place...
Dates:
1861-1862; Majority of material found in 1861-1862
