Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5
Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B85
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1780-1929, of the Brown, Coalter, Tucker families including the papers of John Coalter (1769-1838), Judge of the Supreme Court of Appeals of Virginia, and John Thompson Brown (1802-1836), member of the Virginia House of Delegates.Among the correspondents are Maria (Rind) Coalter, St. George Tucker, William Munford, Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter, St. George Tucker Coalter, Frances Bland (Coalter) Brown, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge, and Henry Peronneau Brown.This...
Dates:
1790-1929
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (II)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B855
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1791-1920, of the Brown, Coalter and Tucker families. Includes correspondence, of Frances Bland (Coalter) Brown with Margaret W. Barnes, members of the Braxton family, Henry Peronneau Brown, Fanny T. Bryan, John Coalter, St. George Tucker Coalter and members of the Morton family.Also includes additional correspondences of members of the Brown, Coalter, Braxton, Tomlin and Bryan families including a letter, 29 April 1791, from Maria Rind to John Coalter as well as notes,...
Dates:
1791-1920
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Jerdone Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 J47
Scope and Contents
This collection contains papers of the Jerdone family, 1753- (1771-1845) -1890. It includes letters, letterbooks, and account books of immigrant Francis Jerdone (1721-1771), Scottish factor who lived in Hanover County, Yorktown and Louisa County, Virginia, and letters of his wife, Sarah (Macon) Jerdone. Most of the collection consists of letters, accounts, and diaries of the next two generations of members of the Jerdone family including Francis Jerdone (1756-1841), planter of...
Dates:
1753-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Booth Taliaferro Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates:
1811-1954
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Venable Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 V55
Scope and Contents
Chiefly letters, 1801-1809, received by Samuel Woodson Venable of Prince Edward County, Va. Correspondents in the collection incude his brothers, Abraham Bedford Venable, Richard N. Venable and William Lewis Venable. Subjects include tobacco prices, buying slaves and growing hemp.
Dates:
1801-1821
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center