Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3
Fletcher Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00216
Scope and Contents
Three letterpress copy books of the Fletcher Family. The books are written by a woman, possibly from Georgia. The writer is an ancestor of the donor, Dr. John S. Fletcher. Partial signatures suggest Joan and Hownick. Msv. 1 has some water damage and much faded ink. Cover unattached. Includes a few pages of transcript from letters written from Richmond, Virginia from July 22-26, 1861. Carbon paper in back of book. July-September 1861. Describes traveling from...
Dates:
1861-1867
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Letcher Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 01066
Scope and Contents
Papers; 1860-1875; of John Letcher, governor of Virginia, 1860-1864. Includes appointment, 1860, of justices of the peace for Augusta County, Virginia signed by Letcher; and letters, November 3, 1864-September 3, 1865, of Letcher, Lexington Virginia to Joseph A. Hierholzer, Richmond, Virginia. Three of the letters are negative photocopies.Three Democratic tickets for the Virginia gubernatorial election held on Thursday, May 26, 1959. The tickets list John Letcher for Governor,...
Dates:
1860-1875
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Andrew J. Weeks Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 00239
Scope and Contents
37 letters, mostly during the Civil War era, written by Andrew J. Weeks, of Brooklyn, New York, to his sister, Hannah Weeks of Merrick, Long Island, New York. He was a 1st sergeant of Co. D., 10th Regiment of the New York infantry Volunteers. He wrote from Fort Monroe, Virginia, Gosport Navy Yard, Virginia, Richmond, Virginia, Point Lookout, Maryland, Beaufort, North Carolina and Riker's Island, New York. On March 9, 1861, Weeks states the Merrimac has sunk the Cumberland and the Ericcson...
Dates:
1861-1902; Majority of material found in 1862-1866
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center