Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3
General David Allen Russell Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 00642
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of correspondence, sketches, and other material mostly related to Union General David Allen Russell during the Civil War. Included in the papers are letters from the battlefield, hand-drawn sketches of the battlefield in Yorktown, Virginia and near Petersburg on the Appomattox River, issues of the Baltimore Clipper and the Philadelphia Inquirer newspapers regarding Fort Monroe and the Battle of...
Dates:
1858-1868 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Booth Taliaferro Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates:
1811-1954
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Virginia Counties Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents
Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.
Dates:
1600-2000; Majority of material found in 1730-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center