Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3
Board of Visitors records
Collection
Identifier: UA 1
Scope and Contents
The records of the Board of Visitors of the College of William and Mary includes meeting minutes, financial reports, photographs, agendas, matriculation books, correspondence, material from Board of Visitors Rectors Oscar L. Shewmake and Roy Harvey Chappell, Jr., publications, and audio recordings of meetings from 1961-1999. An index to Board of Visitors meetings for the period 1947-1984 is available in the Special Collections Research Center. Researchers are also encouraged to...
Dates:
1757-2023
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Chapman Johnson Letter
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.038
Scope and Contents
The letter dated May 18, 1800, from Chapman Johnson to College of William and Mary alumnus David Watson provides a detailed account of an "unfortunate disturbance," a student revolt at the College the previous winter. Chapman reported on a student's rude treatment of the postmaster, its witnessing by Professor Bracken, the expulsion of the student, the resulting student meetings and protests, faculty-student negotiations, consultation with Bishop Madison and St. George Tucker,...
Dates:
1800 May 18
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Francis Thornton Turner Letter
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.039
Scope and Contents
A letter from an unidentified student of the College of William and Mary to Francis Thornton Turner of Fredericksburg, Virginia, dated September 1, 1783. The student's signature is illegible. The letter includes a reference to the fact that only five students remained at the College in this period after the American Revolution.
Dates:
1783 September 1
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center