Showing Collections: 1 - 11 of 11
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame31u Oversize
Scope and Contents
Account book, 1858-1860, used as a journal, 1858, and ledger, 1859-1860, by an unidentified merchant at Parnassus, Augusta County, Va. which was also used for a scrapbook into which were pasted Campbell's Soup advertisements (partially torn out).
Dates:
1858-1860
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame63u
Scope and Contents
Journal, 1819, of an unidentified merchant at Krings Mills [Augusta County, Va.] which was used as a scrapbook for newspaper clippings of poetry. Per 1810 census, many names are from Rockingham County, Va. Some newspaper clippings are from the 1860's.
Dates:
1819
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame20
Scope and Contents
Ledger, 1841-1861, of B. Davenport & Co., merchants, of Williamsburg, Va. which includes accounts, 1860, with the College of William and Mary and which was used as a scrapbook, 1892-1905, for newspaper clippings of poems and articles; Christmas cards; valentines; advertisements; cigarette cards; and seed catalog covers.
Dates:
1841-1861
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C17
Scope and Contents
The Charles Campbell papers consist of papers received or collected by Charles Campbell (1807-1876), Virginia historian. The papers fall into four general headings: historical papers collected by Charles Campbell, correspondence, manuscript volumes, and miscellaneous. These include personal and professional correspondence as well as eighteenth century documents collected by Charles Campbell, newspaper clippings, diaries, scrapbooks, and notebooks, covering then period 1743-1896. The papers...
Dates:
1743-1896
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H25
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1736-1945, of and collected by Fairfax Harrison. Papers collected include colonial era documents, deeds, surveys, the diary of Sally Fairfax (1771-1772), legal papers, a copy of the Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) vestry book which contains minutes, indentures, and other (1745-1802), and photostat copy of the letterbook (1801) of Col. John Tayloe of Mount Airy, Va. Fairfax Harrison's papers include his correspondence with individuals and institutions concerning his...
Dates:
1736-1945
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 P42
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1770-1931, of the Perrin family of Gloucester County, Va. Chiefly the diaries and writings of John Tayloe Perrin. Includes farm books, scrapbooks, accounts, wills, and articles by Perrin.
Dates:
1770-1931
Collection
Identifier: MS 00005
Scope and Contents
The papers of Rev. Thomas E. Pugh, who was the minister of the Williamsburg Baptist Church in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1952-1981. Collection includes both personal and ministerial related material. Early photograph albums show Pugh's childhood but his correspondence and papers begin with his student days at the University of Richmond in 1940. He attended Crozer Theological Seminary and Harvard University Chaplain School before becoming an Army Chaplain in 1944. His first...
Dates:
1914-2001; Majority of material found in 1941-1998
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R54
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1800-1901, of and relating to John Hipkins and John Hipkins Bernard (mostly accounts); of and relating to members of the Hipkins, Bernard and Robb families; and relating to the Hipkins-Bernard-Robb home "Rose Hill," Caroline County, Va. (later renamed "Gay Mont") and to Bernard's lands in Alabama, Texas and Arkansas. Includes diaries, correspondence, poems, accounts and account books of women (Elizabeth Hipkins, Jane Gay Robertson Bernard, and Helen Struan Bernard Robb); and legal...
Dates:
1665-2001; Majority of material found in 1850-1950
Collection
Identifier: Mss.MsV Sc30
Scope and Contents
Scrapbook, ca. 1860-1863, of an unidentified person pasted into the journal (account book), 1825-1829, of an unidentified merchant of Battletown [later Berryville, Clarke County, Va.] There are also loose papers, 1838-1893.
Dates:
1825-1893
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Sc29 Oversize
Scope and Contents
Scrapbook, circa 1860-1880, of an unidentified person containing newspaper clipping pasted into a journal (account book), 1858-1859, of an unidentified merchants at Fifesville, Goochland County, Virginia.
Dates:
circa 1860-1880
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Sc27
Scope and Contents
Scrapbook, 1854-1887, of an unidentified person containing newspaper clippings. The volume includes a handwritten note about the evacuation of Portsmouth, Virginiaa. and Norfolk, Virginia in 1862. The clippings were pasted over a journal (account book), of Cocke and Brothers, merchants, Portsmouth, Virginia.
Dates:
1838-1887
