Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3
Beard Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 B38
Scope and Contents
Papers (including correspondence) of Eva V. Beard, Nannie S. Beard, and John Link Beard of Augusta County, Virginia. Includes letter, 1843, of J. E. Carnes describing a trip by land and river boat from Augusta County, Virginiaa. to Licking County, Ohio (describing Virginia, West Virginia, and Ohio, particularly Cincinnati); a portion of John L. Beard's account book, 1834-1865, listing coffins made; and an order for exchange of Civil War prisoners at Richmond.
Dates:
1834-1906
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Letcher Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 01066
Scope and Contents
Papers; 1860-1875; of John Letcher, governor of Virginia, 1860-1864. Includes appointment, 1860, of justices of the peace for Augusta County, Virginia signed by Letcher; and letters, November 3, 1864-September 3, 1865, of Letcher, Lexington Virginia to Joseph A. Hierholzer, Richmond, Virginia. Three of the letters are negative photocopies.Three Democratic tickets for the Virginia gubernatorial election held on Thursday, May 26, 1959. The tickets list John Letcher for Governor,...
Dates:
1860-1875
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Virginia Counties Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents
Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.
Dates:
1600-2000; Majority of material found in 1730-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center