Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
Lawrence I'Anson Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 85 Ia6
Scope and Contents
Papers, circa 1938-1983, of Lawrence I'Anson, lawyer and justice of the Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals. Includes correspondence, invitations, programs, speeches, judicial opinions, certificates, newspaper clippings, magazine articles, photographs and scrapbooks.
Dates:
1938-1983
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Carter Lowance Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 94 L95
Scope and Contents
The personal and professional papers of Carter Lowance, executive assistant to six governors of Virginia: William M. Tuck, John S. Battle, Thomas B. Stanley, J. Lindsay Almond, Albertis S. Harrison and Mills Edwin Godwin. Papers also concern Harry F. Byrd, Sr. and Harry F. Byrd, Jr., and John N. Dalton. There are speeches, papers relating to Lowance's military career (including correspondence with his wife, Elizabeth Austin Lowance), awards received by Lowance, photographs, and papers...
Dates:
1860-1993; Majority of material found in 1942-1988
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Garland Pollard Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 70 P76
Scope and Contents
Letters, clippings, manuscript volumes, business papers, pamphlets, genealogical material, family papers, reports, memos, campaign literature, photographs of John G. Pollard (1871-1937), lawyer, educator, statesman, humanitarian, and governor of Virginia, 1930-1934. Prominent correspondents include Henry Watkins Anderson, Lady Astor, Frederic W. Boatwright, David K. E. Bruce, John Stewart Bryan, William Jennings Bryan, Harry F. Byrd, James Cannon, J. A. C. Chandler, Calvin Coolidge,...
Dates:
1683-1968; Majority of material found in 1856-1937
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Booth Taliaferro Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates:
1811-1954
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center