Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
Leonard Born Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.048
Scope and Contents
The collection includes papers written by Born during the course of his attendance at William & Mary, mainly for English classes. There is also correspondence from 1985 and loose pages from a photo album believed to have been assembled by Born, while a student at William & Mary. The contents are primarily photographs of campus and Williamsburg area from the 1926-1927. Additional photographs relate to life in rural, early twentieth century Virginia, the Newport News Shipyard,...
Dates:
1924-1927, 1985
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Charles Edward Gary, Jr. Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00017
Scope and Contents
These papers contain correspondence, photographs, business papers, artifacts, certificates, and other materials related to Charles Edward Gary, Jr. Mr. Gary was a prominent African American business owner in Williamsburg, operating for decades the West End Valet Shop off Prince George Street. The collection comprises business ledgers and other West End Valet Shop records over several years, as well as legal documents pertaining to the Valet Shop and Gary family estates such as leases and...
Dates:
circa 1870s-2000s; Majority of material found in 1940-1980
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Henry Denison Cole Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents
Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F....
Dates:
1786-1939
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
George Oscar Ferguson Photographs
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 99 F37
Scope and Contents
Photographs taken by George Oscar Ferguson. Subjects include a parade in Williamsburg, Va., African-American schools in Virginia, Camp Lee, Virginia, rural scenes in western Virginia, and Ferguson.
Dates:
1915; Majority of material found in 1915
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center